We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, good location but look a bit old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel looks a bit old and could use a renovation, compared to other hotels,the bathrooms especially, or get a flat screen TV instead of the old cathodic ones.
Other than that, the beds are new and very comfortable, the rooms have an average size, and the hotel is well located, close to Berri-UQAM, the main subway hub downtown.
Breakfast is not included though, and you can get continental breakfast for 10$. The full english breakfast is 15$ approx.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel has mixed qualities. I stayed for 3 nights on the 22nd floor. POSITIVES: The view is great (mountain, downtown, AND river from my window). The beds are excellent: comfortable mattress, nice duvet and good pillows. Very quiet heat/ac. Best sleep I've had in weeks. The public areas are also very nice (lobby, 4th floor, business center). And the meals which the hotel served were truly excellent. I was there for a conference which included hotel breakfasts and a banquet lunch, and everyone exclaimed about the delicious food. Much better than standard hotel fare. Also the hotel is convenient in terms of transit access to bus and metro, and walking distance to both downtown and the Vieux Port area (about a 10-15 minute walk to either area).
NEGATIVES: The hotel is in real need of renovations and it shows here and there. Behind the desk's electrical outlet in our room was a gaping hole with crumbling plaster, and (thankfully, I guess) the socket did not work. Happily there was another outlet within nearish reach of the desk that did. Also as another reviewer noted, the elevators are slow and small, and when the hotel is full, the elevators can take a very long time to respond: there aren't enough and they are too small to handle all the rooms. Lastly, the neighborhood is sketchy. We saw a drug deal take place right on the corner next to the hotel's front door in broad daylight!

Room Tip: Pay the tiny surcharge for a high room with a view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here for four nights, got a nice room on the 21st floor.
The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed is excellent and I slept very well.
Elevators are a slight problem, with longish waits, but nothing major.
The wifi is free but EXTREMELY iffy, it is slow in general, and sometimes works and sometimes it doesn't (at least in my room).
Bathroom needs updating, but everything works well.
The location is excellent and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view, but the elevators are sometimes slow to arrive.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwistax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel was chosen for us as part of a vacation package we received. This was our first visit to Quebec and our limited knowledge of French was obvious. Luckily, the front desk was very accommodating and even thanked me for at least trying to talk to her in French. The ability to access the subway and the mall right from the hotel was a huge perk. There was a concert in the square right across from the hotel which lasted into the night, but our room was in view of it so we had a nice show for free. Like others said, I wish we had a refrigerator, but other than that I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good location. Great wiew over the city from 19th floor. Well functioning room. Great bathroom. Interial design so and so. Free wi-fi and newspaper but in french. Spa and indoor pool. Close to the Metro.

Room Tip: Take a business room high up for the wiew. It is fantastic. The continental breakfast was poor. Take...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I got a queen-size bedroom on 10th floor. Got a good deal off of Hotwire.

The room is just clean enough not to go ballistic. But, it could be alot better. The ammenities, such as bath, toilet, sink are somewhat old, but funtion good enough.

On a normal purchase, this room shouldn't be rented out for more than 100$.

But, hotel is ideally located in the eastern part of downtown and has a subway station integrated to it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I like the inside the room. It's cozy and warm. One thing they should offer is refrigerator. It's not very convenient for me not having a refrigerator in my room. They have six elevators but only two are operating. Therefore, it takes time when going up and down not to mention there are many people waiting the same elevator with you at the same time. I live on the 20th floor which provides me a great view. I can see the building across the street still lighting up after 12:00am. Pretty good experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
841 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#118 of 165 in Montreal
475 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#51 of 165 in Montreal
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
687 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#80 of 165 in Montreal
534 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing