We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decor and rooms a little dated, but clean, comfortable, and agreeable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #101 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed here for four nights in August, 2010.

The staff were generally excellent, and understanding after 30 hours of travel. Facilities were good, the business center is pretty good. The room furnishings were a little dated, but the rooms themselves were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErstazMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

Dear ErstazMatt,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Thanks you.

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is probably the best hotel location for a tourist in the whole Montreal. The subway station is next block (actually there is entrance from the downstairs food court; three of the four subway lines of the city pass through this station); there is a very nice shopping area across from the lobby area (supermarket, clothing stores and many restaurants, etc) and; it is next to the pedestrian shopping block, and so on. We stayed here for four nights, and did not have to drive at all. If you are a tourist, you would fall in love of the location.
The receptionist staff was super friendly, the room was clean and spacious; and the bed was very conformable.

Additional details:
(1) Pick the even numbered rooms as they have a much better view.
(2) Subway ticket is about $3 each way, $7 for all you can ride for 24 hours, and the best deal is the $14 for all you can ride for three days.
(3) Chinatown is only two stations away on the orange line.
(4) Wifi signal in the room is pretty good if you have your own computer. Using the computer at the Business Center will cost you a bundle.

Notes to the hotel administration:
(a) Although the room was very clean, you may want to remind the staff to wash the nice bay window better and more frequent. I enjoyed the beautiful city and park views, but the finger print marks on the inside and some dirt and spider web on the outside distracted from it.
(b) The room furniture is well made, but you may want to start thinking of renovation as some people may think it starts to get outdated. Changing the TV to flat screen on the wall and free up some table top space will be helpful. Adding a safe in the room can be a bonus, and increasing the fan strength of the bathroom will help.

Overall, this is a great hotel at an excellent location. I would stay here again next time I visit Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

Dear stevew918,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our central location near all downtown core activities is one of our best features. We are also happy that the rest of your stay was meeting your expectations. We hope to see you soon at our hotel !

Warm wishes,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in Montreal over the years but always come back to the Gouverneur Place Dupuis. It is my favorite hotel in Montreal because of its price, value, overall quality and location.

The various levels of rooms are always clean and quiet with full amenities (i.e. wireless, room service, refrigerators in many, excellent breakfasts, underground parking) and very comfortable beds and bathrooms. The location is second to none - adjacent to the Berri Uqam metro and the Village. There is an enormous IGA grocery store in the same complex as the hotel as well as a drugstore across from the IGA (both very handy, especially in winter!). The hallways of the hotel are carpeted which help minimize the noise levels and the doors open and close quietly. There are six speedy, clean and quiet elevators.

The staff is very accommodating and will do everything they can to honor your specific request(s) to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Their online reservation form is very easy to navigate (gouverneur.com) and they also have a toll-free number (888-910-1111) with friendly folks waiting to help you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear clundell,

Thank you fore sharing your experience with trip advisor member, you pointed out many of our features and are satisfied to see that you spent a good time in Montreal and especialy by staying with us. Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

after staying at b&b's in the gay village and finding them going out of business periodically i had used the hotel gouverneur place dupuis a number of times for the last three years.
it is conven iently located on the metro -- only 4 stops from the via rail station and across the street from the inter-city bus depot.
staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
place dupuis has an IGA supermarket on premise so snack/food/drink purchases more than convenient and the foot court with a wide selection of fast food outlets is open every day!
going back at halloween!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muscletongue3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear muscletongue3000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return soon!

Warm wishes,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The hotel is located basically in the center of the village with good access to the subway, bus station, restaurants and nightlife. The view from the room was nice and it was quiet (surprising considering the street nightlife). The hotel overall is a bit old and dated, but clean. The gym doesn't even really qualify as a gym - the treadmills were out of order and there's one old multi-use workout station. The pool is indoors, but looks ok. The room again was dated, with small areas of moldy grout in the shower, but otherwise clean. There was free wireless internet, though it was a bit slow. Service was just okay - nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickAgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear NickAgo,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon !

Regards,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located for bus, metro and walking. Within blocks of tons of great restaurants/bars; however, is a little too close to the seedier gay section. We walked all over the area and felt safe. We upgraded to the 2nd level room and it wasn't worth the extra money. The rooms were the same size as the standard and the extra amenities weren't worth the extra $20/night charge. Restaurant staff was great. They need another bellman/concierge if they want to be taken seriously as a nice hotel. Whenever we needed anything we had to wait about 20 minutes for the concierge to come to the desk. Amelie at the front desk did a better job of recommending restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear dlockhart,

Thank you for submitting a review about our hotel.

We are happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Enjoyed staying there. Great service. Attended a conference at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Math2112, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear PeddaLAH,

Thank you for those short but kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Conchi Fombuena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#118 of 165 in Montreal
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
876 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lelux Hotel
Lelux Hotel
#117 of 165 in Montreal
139 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing