We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
Ranked #129 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed at places with a few poor ratings by Tripadvisor contributors and thought that the were not too bad and maybe the expectations of the contributors were too high. Not with this one. First the good points - Partially location - it is 'down town' and so close to All the events and the Metro, but a bit too close with bars and loud music right outside the window!
The man on reception was helpful, directing me to safe and reasonable parking NOT the car park adjacent too the hotel.
So the rest - asked for a non smoking room but the room stank of smoke and there was a sign on the window to say it was alarmed and do not open. There were two queen sized beds that just fitted in at different angles, no wardrobe just hangers on the wall. There was a shower room, complete with silverfish and a separate toilet with the hand basin in the bedroom. It reminded me of a 1980s bedsit.
The room was not made up when we got there but when we got back the beds had been made with clean sheets and pillow cases but the same stained (blood?) blanket and cover. The sticky carpet had not been vacuumed and the toilet roll had run out but not been replaced. The hair dryer didn't work and the replacement burnt out!!
The wood panelling that a previous reviewer praised appeared to just be there to cover the damp as the varnish was peeling and it was discoloured around the edges.
Because it was so late we had to stay that night and found breakfast - microwaved croissants, polystyrene cups to be taken to the room or ate outside in the traffic fumes. When I said we were not staying the second night the (different) receptionist 'couldn't' understand english and so could not discuss refunds!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M0usetrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    34
    27
    15
    31
See reviews for
6
53
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is definitely a hotel as what the name says, I think people had mistaken this with Hotel St. Denis, which is at the same street and both in the Latin Quarter. I have no idea how two similar establishments have similar names and in the same area. The taxi driver had dropped us off at the Hotel St. Denis, only to find out that this is not the one I have booked for, and we had to haul our luggage to go upwards the hill to the Manoir for 10 minutes! I was totally disappointed as I had read reviews here about how great the Hotel is, I guess people have mistakenly reviewed this place and had probably thought it's the same one. Maybe that's why I paid for so low, I thought I had a really good deal.

The rooms are very small and old, walls are covered with wood, seems you are in a cottage. There was a somewhat different smell in the building. The curtains are the same as the bedspreads, you can wonder if they interchange them. There were trash under the beds. The washrooms are very small, the shower head was missing, and the water temperature is very hard to adjust, it's only hot AND cold! The breakfast was only a croissant or a muffin, and a small cup of coffee in a styrofoam cup that you get from the desk and eat at your room. We only stayed as I had already paid for it online, and there was a 55 dollar charge if you want to get out, same price as the room.

You get what you pay for, and don't expect too much if you are thinking that you are getting a hotel. The location was good, close to the subway station, bixi bikes and the bus terminal.. I think this place is for you if you just want to party at the Latin Quarter, and needed a place to pass out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Bruxelles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was in Montreal 2 days and I stayed in Hotel du Manoir St Denis. The location is excellent, just in the middle of the Quartier Latin, a vibrant area full of cafés and restaurants. The public transports are very easy to reach, the subway is at 3mins walking. The room is very nice, all in wood with fridge and TV inside, the bathroom is small but good as well. The breakfast was quite limited (a sweet snack and a drink) but good. Overall the relation quality-price is fine, since the service is good and the cost not too high for the city. The staff was very kind and friendly, it was a pleasure to talk to them and ask for some advices. Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is probably the best value you can get. The rooms are clean, cozy and quiet. There's free WiFi and the hotel is perfectly located, close to everything, including the bus terminal and the Metro (subway).

I've been to this hotel 3 times and enjoyed it every time.

Room Tip: I've always chosen the cheapest room and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReluctantNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I had a 3 - night stay at Du Manoir. The hotel has a great location, lots of restaurants and bars around and the subway station is close too. The price is is low, the rooms are small and not a sound proof at all. If you are a traveler on a budget then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikhilmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel St-Denis is in a great location, in the heart of the Latin Quarter and close to the subway; many restaurants, bars, and shopping; and a short walk to Old Montreal. With that said, the busy area is not conducive to a peaceful night's sleep. My room faced Rue St Denis, and on a Saturday night, after all the bars and clubs close, there was an overflow of loud, drunk people who spilled into the street and caused a ruckus until about 4am. Maybe it would be quieter on a weeknight, but can't say for sure since I only stayed the weekend. The room itself was fine--basic but clean, and the hotel staff was very nice. And if you have a car, the hotel also has a paid parking garage good for 24 hours. If you can get a room that doesn't face the main street, I imagine your stay would be a bit quieter...otherwise, I'd recommend going somewhere else for a more peaceful overnight stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel that doesnt face Rue St-Denis so that you can get a quiet night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiggero5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

For $65 a night we loved this hotel. The room and bathroom were clean. They allowed us to take our (clean) bikes into the room. The bathroom even had a hairdryer. We were in the busy Quartier Latin during frosh week but managed to sleep just fine. No noise from the hotel itself. Management was very pleasant and helpful. Croissants and jam and orange juice in the mornings was a nice touch. Yes, of course there are better breakfasts but we enjoyed our croissant on the hotel's porch watching the never ending stream of people, it was just fascinating. The hotel is right in the middle of the student area, lots of bars, music and restaurants. We enjoyed it !

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor (because of the bikes + only 1 room left !, room 15...) It was the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#113 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#50 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#102 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#40 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis

Property: Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
Address: 2006 Rue Saint-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Saint Denis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing