We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Du Voyageur
Ranked #147 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 15 May 2013

On the plus side - cheap, clean, convenient, short walk from everything interesting.

On the downside - not very modern, and street parking (when they had advertised free parking) isn't as convenient. (Though if you find the parking, you can stay there after you check out, which is convenient.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions to attend concerts at the Bell Centre. The hotel was close to the metro which made it easy to get to the concerts. The staff were friendly on the most part. The room is not fancy but it suits a need of having a place to rest your head at night. The room was clean but the shower was terrible. Only a slight spray of water came out of the shower head. It also advertises that breakfast is included which consists of cookies and coffee/tea and really sweet orange juice. Also, as we found out during this last stay - local phone calls are not included. They charged us 85 cents to make one local phone call to a local restaurant for delivery. The price overall is pretty good... and of course in the same return, you get a basic hotel room. Also, for heating in the winter, they provide a space heater. It can take awhile for your room to heat up and the hallways are quite cold.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Ive travelled a fair amount and this has to be one of the worst. You open the door to your room to find a wall with scratched graffiti. Then the carpet had an iron burn, bed sheets had holes in them...need I go on?
I lost my deposit, but I didn't care I had to get out and find something else! Maybe, I should have realised that for the price you can only expect something basic...I asked for an up grade, to which I was told this was one of the better rooms!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dkitson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This dirty, stinking place has only 1 star because there was a roof and floor: the floor was so warped it was similar to a cruise ship in motion. The two pillows were small & lumpy. The a/c had a filter clogged with hair, dust and dirt - air quality was poor and stunk. No windows to open. Breakfast was burned 'tiny' croissants, diluted O/J, undrinkable coffee that was full of sediment and 'no-name' tea bags. The receptionist did not know how to 'forward messages' to the rooms - which means you do not get your messages. Also, the staff knew absolutely nothing about the city or the immedate community. We met a mailman on the street who told us of a breakfast nook about 1/2 block from the hotel. We had booked 4 nights for the 2012 Jazz Festival and it was very difficult to change reservations. But we recommend a trip to the Montreal Jazz festival.

Room Tip: Do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I went to this hotel for a weekend in Montreal.
Room space is OK and you have free wifi that works fine.
It’s near central bus station and also near to one metro station.
Problem is that you can hear the sounds coming from the room next yours and the room above you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VelidhuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed for over a week and found this little place to meet with my needs and standards (remember this is a budget hotel).

1. It was clean; the carpet was old but very well vacuumed. The covers were very fresh. Towels were in place and the room was pretty well dusted.

2. The price was very convenient; since I stayed over a week they offered me a weekly rate that allowed me to save some money. I was very pleased and since it is winter they come up with very low prices.

3. It is very well situated; in downtown Montreal, Quebec. Just a few minutes from the Old Port, a couple of streets bellow St. Catherine (the downtown street), close to St. Denis and Saint Laurent st. (boutiques and restaurants).

4. Staff very professional and friendly; some people are just obnoxious and this is not the case. They responded very quickly to all of my demands and even though they don't have room service nor maids (after 2PM) the receptionist did do all their best to keep me happy.

Overall staying in this hotels was worth my money and while. I will definitively be coming back here and recomend it to anyone who would be passing by this city.
Important points that have to be made is that (as I was explained by the staff) "this is a budget hotel". The breakfast is very basic, the room itself had an old design, parking was very difficult (they did help with this a lot, they even moved my car for me).

In all I don't recomend this place for a date or an important executive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73DavidU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is on Sherbrooke Street in downtown Montreal. It is just three blocks from a subway station, and the 24 bus runs on Sherbrooke. The hotel is clean, and though the room was cold when I arrived, there was a heater there that worked well. The bathroom was small, but the water pressure was good, and there were several clean towels. There was an older model tv, but it worked just fine. This is very much a budget hotel. I would not suggest it for a romantic weekend away, or a place to suggest to an important corporate client. But if you just need a quiet place to rest your head at night, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#110 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel de L'Elysee
Hotel de L'Elysee
#149 of 165 in Montreal
48 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#125 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#109 of 165 in Montreal
317 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#96 of 165 in Montreal
153 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#121 of 165 in Montreal
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Du Voyageur

Address: 847 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £33 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Residence Du Voyageur 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Residence Du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Du Voyageur Hotel Montreal
La Residence Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing