We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Lord Berri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lord Berri
Ranked #119 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very Clean rooms. Semi updated. The BED was AWESOME. Very thick padding undrer carpet for extra comfort. Maid service was great. Free wifi. They did seem to nickel and dime you on phone calls (1.20 a call CAD) if you care to use the computer in the lobby it is 2.00 for 15 minutes. Very helpful staff. Close to Berri Metro and close to several BIXI stations as well. Didn't eat at the resturant seemed kinda pricey for "hotel" food. They need a fitness center!!! They will help you with Taxi service back to the airport if you need them to. However, the 747 airport bus is 8.00 CAD each way and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StJohn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hotel is situated near to the Berri Urquam Metro about 500yards away so is easy to get to.(This stands for University of Quebec and Montreal) The rooms were tidy and clean but a little tired and in need of an update. The staff were very pleasant and the location is ok with a 15 minute walk south to the Lake Side. We were there for three nights and was booked through a travel agent as a package although nothing wrong withthe place we would have liked a bit smarter accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyWhizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Some review I read beforehand were complaining about street noice and the internet: We had no problems with this.

Wireless internet was working well (even for watching streaming TV). The hotel is on a busy street, but the double windows block practically all of the noice.

Upon check-in our room was a bit smelly, but it was ok after letting some fresh air in.

Receptionists were friendly and helpfull: We got a free city map and several brochures with tourist information. From the hotel you can walk to the main areas of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WBarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Hotel is exzellent located. Metro station Rue berrie / uquam just Next to the Hotel and it is an 15 minutes Walk to Vieux Montreal and Habour! Staff speak english ( but prefer French)
Room was ok, but needed some fresh Air. Air conditon Needs Cleaning ;)
All in all due to the location worth its money.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I booked this hotel for 3 nights online through hotel website. Total, I was given including taxes was $385.57( at $109/night).

I called them few days before ny trip to confirm hotel room and checking internet etc, they told me there was a flaw in their system and my total will be $455

I can't believe, hotel can run like this, especially when i have email confirmation from them for the total amount including taxes to be $385.57

These guys run a business,book at cheaper price and if rate goes up, don't honor low price reservations.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank banshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My company chose and booked this hotel for us. The desk staff was generally friendly and helpful, switching to English to accommodate my non-existent French. The room was adequate and seemed clean (I didn't inspect it in detail). There was a small refrigerator, but no microwave.

The best thing about it is the central location. Slightly north of Old Montreal, it was an easy walk to anywhere near the Port, also only a couple of blocks from Starbucks and a 24-hour Tim Hortons. I found the general atmosphere good but not extraordinary.

The internet is wireless, and was ok when it worked, but several times it dropped out on me. I would have to go through the log-in procedure again. It was not up to the task of Skype with video.

There is a desk with electrical outlets and enough room for all your stuff. However, the flat panel TV is mounted on a stalk right above the desk. So you can't watch TV and work at the same time without breaking your neck. Very bizarre, really.

The air conditioning/heat is a standard motel window type. The fan is loud, so if you need a quiet room to sleep, you're out of luck. I actually found the sound soothing, but had to turn the TV volume up and down as it cycled on and off. The room I was in - 715 - was at the end of the hall so it was a bit odd-shaped. You couldn't open the closet door and bathroom door at the same time. There is no fitness center.

You really shouldn't take your car to this hotel, though. Parking is underground and only holds 12 small cars in an L-shaped area. You pay $17 a day for this. Or you park above ground in one of the lots nearby. Several people on our staff had some unpleasant experiences with the lot owners.

Overall it was ok, but not fantastic. The restaurant next door was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks Rue Berri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndapolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Booked 2 rooms through travelocity, 8 months prior. Received multiple confirmations, including morning of the stay. The hotel manager then claims there is no reservation in system and that "the price we had been reserved for was outrageous", which I interpreted as "we sold your rooms to someone else for more". Even though they had 1 executive suite remaining, they would not accomodate us, even after travelocity called them directly to complain because "they could sell that room easily for $500 per night".

A bunch of money grubbing crooks. They hotel looked run down and dirty anyways. I can't believe this hotel is even listed - travelocity was nice enough to step up and find another place, although it was very far away and paid for our entire stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
545 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
870 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lelux Hotel
Lelux Hotel
#117 of 165 in Montreal
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
698 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#102 of 165 in Montreal
1,220 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Berri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £68 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing