We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reasonable place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Berri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lord Berri
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A reasonable place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

At the edge of the Village - adequate and service friendly but could use an update for the price. The bathroom had evidence of black mould on the grout and the AC unit was hit and miss. When we watched a pay for view movie they tried to bill us for two but reversed this with no hassle. Few amenities and the 2 elevators were slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    114
    149
    74
    59
See reviews for
76
138
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in Montreal for the Osheaga music festival, and with this hotel a 2 minute walk from the Beri-Uqam metro station, it was a fantastic location to get to the parc every day. We arrived early on Friday but there was already no parking left in the lot so had to park in the lot next door. I wouldn't recommend if you can find other parking, as they had to keep my keys all weekend to keep moving my vehicle, and the attendant gave me a hard time when I told him I had pre-paid til Sunday night, and I had to argue with him for 5 minutes.
I ate breakast at the hotel restaurant on Sunday morning. The toast was dry (not buttered) and the sausages were not good at all, so I wouldn't recommend the food.
The staff was friendly, but there was a funky smell in our room from the fridge, and the air conditioning wasn't the best.
So the location was great, but the rest of the hotel was only so-so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, NB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's not the most fancy but since we were only looking for a good location, clean and comfortable to use as a home base, the Lord Berri certainly was all that. Situated near a Metro station and transit, getting anywhere only takes minutes. We never used our vehicle once in three days! Walking to The Village, Old Montreal, Chinatown and strolling down Saint Catherine is not a problem. Much to see and do. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Air conditioner filter needed to be changed though. Underground secure parking is limited so book ahead.

Room Tip: Very quiet with a room on back of hotel (but no view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WardDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Hotel Lord Berri is a so-so place. We checked in and had our room switched to another even before we could get back from the parking lot next door to the hotel. While the room was relatively clean, it was also a bit musty.

DO NOT PARK IN THE PARKING LOT NEXT TO THE HOTEL! The hotel parking was full and we foolishly parked at the lot next to the building. Even though there was a full-time attendant, when we came down the next morning we found the right rear window of our car smashed to bits. Nothing was taken by the vandal. This, and the effort required to have the window replaced in an unfamiliar city, pretty much spoiled our visit to Montreal.

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I've stayed at this hotel at least a 1/2 dozen times over the years and never had any issues. The parking is limited so I just park at Place Dupuis which is right around the corner. The rooms are "institutional" but everything works fine and the bar / restaurant in the lobby is a gem. It's a great place for breakfast and also for a night cap at the end of the day. It's popular with hotel guests and locals so it was nice to chat and mingle etc.

It's pretty much my "go to" hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here during the Montreal grand prix with a group of 40 other people, and even though the hotel was full nothing seemed like to much trouble. There was never a long wait for service at the reception desk or at breakfast.
You would have thought that the prices would have been increased for that weekend, but we thought they were very reasonable.
Location is also brilliant if you don't have a car, if you do there is parking but there is a parking car. The metro is down the road and runs pretty late, but a lot of places are in walking distance anyway.

The staff were all fluent in French and English and were happy to talk to you in either language. The reception desk were very helpful when asked for advice on places to go for dinner or directs to attractions.

The room was a good size, and clean. Sounds strange, but the housekeeping were brilliant as they cleaned our room without disturbing any of our various bits we had laid out around the room.

Breakfast was also very good, for the grand prix weekend the hotel offered an 'American style breakfast'. I don't eat meat and the kitchen were happy to put together something for me, and then remembered so I didn't need to ask for a vegetarian option every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel looks to be a very good choice for who is traveling by bus, since it's one block away from the main Montreal bus terminal in Rue Berri.

My room was quite big and has everything I could need: refrigerator, coffee machine, tv (of couse) and a quite big bedroom.

Staff was quite helpful too, helping me and finding me a room since I booked mine with wrong dates.

Was a good stay, even if for only one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Chinatown
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#92 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#108 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Berri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Property: Lord Berri
Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing