We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but slightly below average room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Berri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lord Berri
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, but slightly below average room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked this hotel through Expedia iphone app and received an extra $25 off the charge as the booking was over $100. So we ended up paying around $86 including tax.

Good location. Walking distance from Vieux-Montreal and Vieux-port. Also accessible to Saint Denis pub/bar district.

Parking. Underground, $20 for one night with in and out privileges. But a little pricey for such a run down parking lot.

Room, decent standard room size, with fridge, ironing board and tv, the basics you would expect. However the free wifi was painfully slow and took a while to connect. Bathroom smelled of mildew, but it appeared to be clean.

The service staff were decently friendly, didn't leave too much of an impression on us.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, mostly due to the good location, but only if you can get it at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    114
    149
    74
    59
See reviews for
76
138
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My Fiancee and I found this hotel on trip advisor while planning our stay in Montreal. The room was all decked out in new furniture, and decorations, but the room itself was a little dated. But the service, and the location of the hotel were amazing. The receptionists, where very helpful in anything we needed, or even letting us know some good places to check out Downtown Montreal. And being right down from St. Catherine street was a bonus as you could walk almost anywhere you wanted or walk 5 min to the subway station to catch the subway. Awesome place would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

At the edge of the Village - adequate and service friendly but could use an update for the price. The bathroom had evidence of black mould on the grout and the AC unit was hit and miss. When we watched a pay for view movie they tried to bill us for two but reversed this with no hassle. Few amenities and the 2 elevators were slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in Montreal for the Osheaga music festival, and with this hotel a 2 minute walk from the Beri-Uqam metro station, it was a fantastic location to get to the parc every day. We arrived early on Friday but there was already no parking left in the lot so had to park in the lot next door. I wouldn't recommend if you can find other parking, as they had to keep my keys all weekend to keep moving my vehicle, and the attendant gave me a hard time when I told him I had pre-paid til Sunday night, and I had to argue with him for 5 minutes.
I ate breakast at the hotel restaurant on Sunday morning. The toast was dry (not buttered) and the sausages were not good at all, so I wouldn't recommend the food.
The staff was friendly, but there was a funky smell in our room from the fridge, and the air conditioning wasn't the best.
So the location was great, but the rest of the hotel was only so-so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, NB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's not the most fancy but since we were only looking for a good location, clean and comfortable to use as a home base, the Lord Berri certainly was all that. Situated near a Metro station and transit, getting anywhere only takes minutes. We never used our vehicle once in three days! Walking to The Village, Old Montreal, Chinatown and strolling down Saint Catherine is not a problem. Much to see and do. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Air conditioner filter needed to be changed though. Underground secure parking is limited so book ahead.

Room Tip: Very quiet with a room on back of hotel (but no view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WardDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Hotel Lord Berri is a so-so place. We checked in and had our room switched to another even before we could get back from the parking lot next door to the hotel. While the room was relatively clean, it was also a bit musty.

DO NOT PARK IN THE PARKING LOT NEXT TO THE HOTEL! The hotel parking was full and we foolishly parked at the lot next to the building. Even though there was a full-time attendant, when we came down the next morning we found the right rear window of our car smashed to bits. Nothing was taken by the vandal. This, and the effort required to have the window replaced in an unfamiliar city, pretty much spoiled our visit to Montreal.

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Chinatown
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#92 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#108 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Berri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Property: Lord Berri
Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing