We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable place to stay in Montreal”
Review of Lord Berri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lord Berri
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay in Montreal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When we go to Montreal we usually stay at the Hotel Lord Berri, right beside the University of Quebec. Ask for one of the renovated rooms on the upper floors and you will do well for the money. There is an excellent, really excellent Italian restaurant that serves wonderful dinners on the main floor. Call the hotel and arrange for parking before you come so you don't get stressed out about it. Not a fancy place, but good solid quality for the price. Close to UQUAM, Rue St. Denis, Old Montreal, Place des Arts, the bus station, and China Town. Once, we had to fly to Vancouver on short notice and the Lord Berri let us park in the basement for nearly 2 weeks for $200, in the dead of winter. It was a godsend. We never will forget the kindness shown to us at that time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    118
    156
    75
    60
See reviews for
77
143
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The place was okay. I just think they were understaffed especially at night. I needed help with the A/C in one of our rooms (I booked two) but the front desk said he was the only staff available for the evening shift. No one else was there. Also they tried renovating the place coz it does look nice in photos. But once you're there you'd see that its a really old building and they just basically made it a little bit more modern. I only booked this hotel for it's location and the price coz it was fairly cheap. Parking was also very tight. They basically tried to squeeze in about 7 cars in there when in reality it should only fit 5. Its first come first serve too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carleeeeetos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First - Check Bookings.com and other hotel sites for best prices. The hotel is located in the Old Montreal side of the city. Easy walking distance to many very good restaurants and the Old Port area. Room was clean and very quiet. I recommend the higher floors. If you like a hard mattress you'll be happy. Parking on site for $22/night - not bad. We booked this hotel due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor and the location as we planned on walking to many of the local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet floor - we did when we booked. No regrets as we stopped on a lower floor while on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Bullitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the best thing about this hotel is its location. walking distance to old Montreal. price was ok considering the time of year . it was summer and a long weekend. only problem is the parking . we were lucky to get parking beside the hotel for 15$ per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akash75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A delight to walk all day with a few blocks of the room. We enjoyed heritage experiences, boutiques and restaurants/clubs nearby, public places near the river, we could have stayed for weeks, inviting culture, crafts, and warm people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymileski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Got this room off Hotwire for $71 a night and absolutely loved this hotel for its location and value. It's a 5 minute walk from the Berri-UQAM station which acts as a hub for many train lines. Just around the corner on St. Catherine tons of food options. Also close to Rue Saint-Dennis, which also has a multitude of places to eat. There is a restaurant downstairs in the lobby; we didn't eat there but heard great things about it.

The room itself looked a bit old, but otherwise was very clean. The furniture is in good condition. We were provided with a HD TV, and to my excitement, a decent sized mini-fridge which is great for holding juice, breakfast items, etc. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was also very, very clean. It had a nice large counter and mirror. Bathtub, sinks, toilet all worked well.

Upon check-in, they gave us a wi-fi password which was a decent speed and pretty reliable.

The only slightly negative thing I could say was that the A/C unit pointed directly at the bed, which was next to the window. It was a little noisy, and got a little chilly. Otherwise, this is a great hotel and totally worth your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roombanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is in an incredibly great location. It's just down the street a ways (6 minutes max) from the central bus station, minutes away from Old Montreal, shopping on St. Catherine's street, as well as many other hotspots. The staff were very friendly and helpful, it's affordable, so that on top of it's wonderful location would prompt me to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifermh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#77 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Berri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Property: Lord Berri
Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing