We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We arrived on the day that the water pipes broke near hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #75 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We arrived on the day that the water pipes broke near hotel!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

43 persons arrived from Philadelphia on Aug 26 after an 9 hr bus drive to no water. After checking in and learning that the break was being worked on we went to dinner. Returning to the hotel there was no water for the night and the front desk gave each guest 2 bottles of water. They did offer to relocate us but our trip was arranged by a tour company. As the group leader I was placed on the renovated 4th floor .....very nice room and bedding. Some of our traveler's needed bedding changes due to unclean bedding...they were accommodated. The mattresses in the older rooms were not comfortable and the buffet breakfast was fair. It is a good location with good parking. Overall a fair place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    175
    142
    50
    28
See reviews for
174
134
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there to go to the Botanical Garden to see the "Mosaiculures". It was very good that we could walk to the site and avoided another parking charge. Breakfast buffet is inexpensive , but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and the staff was kind and friendly. However, I had a horrible experience with Expedia.ca and I feel that they may give this hotel a bad name. My advice? Phone the hotel directly to book a room!

Room Tip: Don`t use Expedia.ca!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Universel in Montreal is located across from the Olympic Stadium and is in close proximity to downtown Montreal, an ideal location to stay. There are many restaurantssurrounding the hotel including my favourite Beni Hana. The room my family received itself was a good price and had been newly renovated so it was clean but the decor was nothing spectacular and the shower head was low pressure, so washing up took longer. The carpets in the lobby were dirty and I don't recommend purchasing breakfast there... It not only looks unappetizing but it also tastes horrible. I reccomend the toast. Other than that the hotel was average and the indoor pool was closed...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamenGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The indoor pool was closed, the wireless connection didn't work, the room was dated, grimy and smelled musky. The towels were so worn they had holes. Our room was across from the ice machine, so we heard people filling ice buckets all night.
We had originally booked for two nights and reduced to one night. The staff did not even ask why. Upon check out we were not even asked how our stay was. Obviously no customer service at all.
Parking is included and it's close to the stadium, but we were not even informed of the free shuttle. The lack of customer service was extremely off putting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having stayed at many Montreal 3 to 4 star hotels over 20 years, I would put this one near the top. Great if you are driving for its near downtown access going straight west on Sherbrooke Street. It is 1 block from Olympic Stadium-Tower, the Biodome, Insectarium, and Botanical Gardens. About 6 blocks to Viau Station Metro (subway) stop. You walk about 4 blocks south and 2 blocks west for the Metro Stop. Once you are at the hotel with the car, the Metro may be your best bet to go downtown. We were a family in room 329. We requested and got this quiet room on the south side of the hotel. Being nonsmokers, we did detect some stale smoke smell when we would first walk into the room. This may have once been a smoking room. Free WiFi. The breakfast add-on at around $15. each we did without buying milk the night before to eat with our cereal in the room. Room has fridge. Staff were always helpful and the room was kept clean by the friendly housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: We usually want a good night's sleep and seek a room away from elevators, stairs, and ice/pop ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHChicagoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Location, location, location. That's it in hotels as well as premium real estate. With the absolutely incredible every-three-year International Mosaicultures at the Montreal Botanical Gardens (even non-gardeners will love it) and Olympic Park within walking distance, the Universel offers great location and good value. The hotel is clean, the staff efficient and friendly, the restaurant acceptable, the pool inviting, and the rooms large and comfortable, What's not to like. Well, the single, sluggish elevator that services all 233 rooms falls into that category and there's no bell-hop. otherwise, ces la vie.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor so as to by-pass the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxypanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#95 of 164 in Montreal
197 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#58 of 164 in Montreal
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Chabrol Hotel & Suites
#104 of 164 in Montreal
36 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#66 of 164 in Montreal
881 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Property: Hotel Universel Montreal
Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing