We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is doing some refurbishing with some totally renovated rooms, and the standard rooms have been given a face lift. I asked for a quiet room away from elevator and ice machine, but as I checked in early, I was away from elevator, but the ice machine was outside the door. Despite that, the room was quiet except for the occasional sound through the door. Walls are solid so no transfer of noise between rooms or much outdoor noise. Usually I use earplugs but didn't need them and had a sound sleep. Bed was firm but comfortable. Chair seat was already looking saggy, but furniture was all looking new but without much character. Not boutique image at all. Bathtub was old, but the tiling was all very shiny and clean and must have been redone sometime recently. Carpet was industrial dark and could have had a better choice. Room was clean and surfaces shiny though could have spent a bit more attention on the carpeting near the door and in the sink area. Towels could be upgraded but adequate. Ample hot water. Needs more than one pack of coffee per room as it is also a small coffee maker.
Hotel has a shiny new foyer, but elevator is archaic, small and slow. Stairs are not well marked and some service only the banquet back areas. Seems they do a booming event and banquet business as well as hotel. The daytime was much busier than overnight.
Hotwire secret price was appropriate, especially for the free wifi, free parking and free shuttle in the area. Mario the shuttle driver was professional and calm and a help with a car battery boost.
Overall, a very good 3 star choice particularly if one is attending activities in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiltingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    162
    141
    49
    27
See reviews for
164
127
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Montreal is a very difficult city in which to find hotels that are both good and affordable. I've stayed at a number of affordable hotels that were so quirky and bad that i could never recommend them. In addition, since i drive to Montreal, i need a hotel that has free parking rather than one that charges $20-30/night for parking or that forces you to find questionable street parking on your own. This generally means staying in the outskirts of the city. In the US, you can always find great values in the outskirts for $75. The same thing in Montreal runs you $100-120. This is the Hotel Universel in the eastern part of the city, about a 20-minute drive from downtown (but with a metro station a 15-minute walk away). This is an excellent hotel that i would relate to the style and quality of a chain like Comfort Inn or Quality Hotel. The rooms look like something from the 90's but are perfectly fine, with firm mattresses and a fridge in the room. I requested a quiet room and got one. Some reviewers have commented on the thin walls here, but i seemed not to have had neighbors close by and so i didn't notice neighbor noise. I should add the clientele here is "mature" (40+), and so you don't find lots of noisy 20-somethings here. The hotel staff is extremely friendly, which is not something you can ever count on in Montreal. Parking is free, and there is a huge parking lot. WiFi is free and was generally good, although there were definite slow-downs during peak hours, which i found quite frustrating. On top of the hotel being far from downtown, it is not close to any stores or restaurants. Hence, you are pretty much stuck eating the $10 "buffet" breakfast, which offers an extremely narrow selection of scrambled eggs and toast. Don't expect the continental breakfast of other hotels; it's eggs and toast and that's it. Overall, this is a really fine hotel and a relatively affordable ($100) alternative to the high prices and expensive parking of downtown hotels. I really enjoyed my stay here. Of all the Montreal hotels that i've stayed at in the price category, this one is clearly the best in terms of room quality and service. So long as you can put up with the extra driving to and from the city and the lack of nearby stores, this hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtsTravelerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The new decor is okay, not my preference. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You can walk to the botanical gardens and the biodome. There is free parking at the hotel too which is very helpful. I thought the price for breakfast to be a bit much and walked elsewhere for breakfast. There is a fridge in the room and staff are responsive to requests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PNGmeri901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

43 persons arrived from Philadelphia on Aug 26 after an 9 hr bus drive to no water. After checking in and learning that the break was being worked on we went to dinner. Returning to the hotel there was no water for the night and the front desk gave each guest 2 bottles of water. They did offer to relocate us but our trip was arranged by a tour company. As the group leader I was placed on the renovated 4th floor .....very nice room and bedding. Some of our traveler's needed bedding changes due to unclean bedding...they were accommodated. The mattresses in the older rooms were not comfortable and the buffet breakfast was fair. It is a good location with good parking. Overall a fair place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there to go to the Botanical Garden to see the "Mosaiculures". It was very good that we could walk to the site and avoided another parking charge. Breakfast buffet is inexpensive , but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and the staff was kind and friendly. However, I had a horrible experience with Expedia.ca and I feel that they may give this hotel a bad name. My advice? Phone the hotel directly to book a room!

Room Tip: Don`t use Expedia.ca!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Universel in Montreal is located across from the Olympic Stadium and is in close proximity to downtown Montreal, an ideal location to stay. There are many restaurantssurrounding the hotel including my favourite Beni Hana. The room my family received itself was a good price and had been newly renovated so it was clean but the decor was nothing spectacular and the shower head was low pressure, so washing up took longer. The carpets in the lobby were dirty and I don't recommend purchasing breakfast there... It not only looks unappetizing but it also tastes horrible. I reccomend the toast. Other than that the hotel was average and the indoor pool was closed...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamenGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#99 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#62 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#30 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Property: Hotel Universel Montreal
Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing