We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a place to sleep if you can't find anything else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are staying here you either have business in this part of the city, or like us, cant find a hotel in the heart of the city. Like the olympic stadium across the street, this hotel needs a serious retrofit. It must have been built to accommodate the Olympics, and it hasn't seen a paint brush or tlc since. Beside the olympic facility and the park across the street, it is located in a food manufacturing area of the city. The only redeeming quality to this place was the friendly staff. If you like very basic 30 to 40 year old decor, bath tub taps that don't work at a relatively cheap price, this is the place for you. You will need a car to get around(free parking), not much in the way of amenities nearby, but you can pick up discount crackers and cookies at the Christie's bakery a half block from the back door. The subway (metro) to downtown takes about 15-20 minutes to the McGill station and is a short 5-7 minute walk from the hotel just around the corner from the Maurice Richard arena.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankandJane_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Universel is next door to the Montreal Olympic Park, about 5 miles from the city centre. The building is showing its 40-ish years, despite refurbishments. Quite dark, limited elevators. My room was one that has been recently revamped, at least the shower room had. My colleague raved about how much nicer my room was to his older version upstairs.
Saying that, the rooms were large, clean & comfortable. If you don't have your own transport, it's about a 15 minute walk to the Metro. Dine at the hotel or a limited number of eateries within short walking distance.
Location fine if you are visiting local attractions or working in adjacent industrial area. No real complaints-just nothing to enthuse about either.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are undergoing refurbishment. Check if you have a reworked one.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonwoodlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Most of the staff were pleasant (excluding restaurant manager) and no real complaints, but whole place is very tired and in dire need of updating. Convenient for stadium, bio dome and botanical gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms nice and quiet, plenty of hot water and nice big bed but very tired and scruffy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrybrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff at this hotel were absolutely fantastic. We were there for a conference and there was another very large group staying there as well. There was always enough staff on shift to answer questions and handle check in/out. I was in one of the newly renovated rooms, so it was beautiful and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As a last minute decision I decided to take the family out for Easter Brunch. We reserved for the second seating with a chap named Sam who was extremely accommodating as I had seniors in our party. When we arrived we could not believe the traffic coming and going and were worried we would have to wait. Sam was at the entrance and went out of his way to get us our table within 10 minutes. The Buffet was exceptional for $29.95 all you can eat! It compared to any Easter brunch I have seen advertised in the area priced at $45.00 per person. I would highly recommend this restaurant be sure to ask for Sam.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The service was average level, some things good, such as free parking (that can make you save much money), subway and shops very close, good wifi and also some attractions ( botanical garden and bio dome); others, as the dirty pool, the malfunctioning sauna and no dressing room disprove the fancy appearance of the hotel. We didn't try breakfast so I cannot tell about that. Personnel very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarasary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent Hotel. we were in the newly renovated section 5th floor. very nice rooms. Very clean property overall. Nice friendly check-in staff. Food at "Le Toit Rouge" restaurant was excellent. Nice bar with very friendly staff for an enjoyable relaxing evening. We were very well served by the maître D's. Close proximity to many great restaurants (Madison's New York steak walking distance 4 minutes) . Lots of free parking. Easy access to nearby freeways. next door to the Olympic Stadium.

Thx for a great stay...we shall return for sure. Recommended.

Room Tip: newly renovated section 5th floor is really worth it for a few extra $$.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Alcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#96 of 165 in Montreal
207 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#57 of 165 in Montreal
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#66 of 165 in Montreal
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing