We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Universel Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hotel Universel Montreal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are looking to stay near the Olympic Stadium, or Pierre Carbonneau Centre this is the hotel you should stay at. Although it seemed a little older, this property is well maintained , stayed for 2 nights, clean , comfortable, and pretty good value. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, and everything in the room worked great, showers, toilets, wifi...If you have a car, location is great, 5-10 minute drive into downtown. I had the breakfast in the restaurant which was average, but the burger and fries i ordered was really good. If you dont mind not being downtown, this is a great choice, I would stay here again , anytime I am in Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmyrozner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your very nice comment on our property. We are very pleased that you were satisfied with your two nights stay at Hotel Universel Montreal. It is true that we are not exactly downtown, but like you said, a short drive or a enjoyable subway trip can take you to the main parts of the city. We appreciate that you took the time to comment on our hotel and we hope to see you again when you come to the city from Ontario.

Thank you and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    181
    143
    50
    28
See reviews for
178
135
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Large room, queen bed, refrigerator, free wifi. Very satisfied with our stay. Close to Botanical garden and not far from Metro stop Viau. Helpful front desk staff. Would choose this hotel again. On-site restaurant and bar are convenient after long day of travel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Biblib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I have to admit that this is exactly the kind of reaction that we are trying to bring out of our clients. I am pleased that you were satisfied and I hope that you will think about us next time you come to Montréal.

Thank you and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

tripadvisor@tripadvisor.com


I am sorry to remark that, for the first time in quite a long period, my reservation through booking.com was very far from a success.

On a vacation trip with my wife, from Rio de Janeiro through New England and up to Quėbec and Montrėal in Canada, we found the Hotel Universel in Montrėal quite comfortable, well located and with a friendly staff, except for the inexcusable malfunction of the heating in our room (207).

In spite of our complaints, management incredibly explained that All the rooms in the hotel were tuned to air conditioning at 20 degrees centigrade, a situation we did not find in Providence RI, Boston MA, Portland MA and in the Ville de Quėbec.

Thus I cannot recommend the Universel to anyone who requires a warm room to sleep in minimum comfort.

PS

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloSergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for the comment on our property. Please, rest assured that we take all comments very seriously and that we use this as a toll in order to better ourselves for the future. After reviewing your observations on our heating/AC system, I have verified the information and fortunately, all the rooms are controled seperatly. In each room, we have the temperature control which you can set in order to make it as comfortable as possible for each guest. We are very sorry that you have received this information. I hope that since you enjoyed everything else about our property that you will be able to return to enjoy our property to it's fullest.

Thank you again and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. From the outside it looks very average and perhaps even a little drab. Foyer very warm and inviting and staff super friendly and helpful. Check-in was friendly and efficient. My room was spacious, well furnished and clean. On my first night I decided to unplug the clock (as a 'test") and next day the room staff had it plugged back in. Next day I unscrewed a bedside light bulb and next day it was working again! So someone is doing a great job at that end. The restaurant? Again, lovely staff but the menu is extremely limited and unimaginative (for a 4 star hotel), First morning I received the wrong order, 2nd day my "chips" were mostly scraped from the bottom of the bucket with only a few real chips (mostly burn't up little ends). On my 3rd day I ordered a BLT which they must interpret as Bread, Lettuce and Tomato - the bread was very thick giving the appearance of an enormous sandwich and the bacon was so thin and small I initially didn't see it buried under all the lettuce. The location of this hotel is great for the Olympic Stadium and the Botanical garden.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms on the south side of the building have good views over parts of the city, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EandSmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Grand Prix weekend, and we were delighted. I found the desk staff to be very helpful, especially Tzatiana, who's name I just misspelled I'm sure. At any rate, they went out of their way to help us out and make us happy. It was convenient to the metro, and the shuttle was happy to take us. Rooms were well appointed and clean, and basic amenities were available and accessible. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We go to Montreal in June for the Formula 1 Grand Prix. We've been coming to this hotel for about 10 years. The hotel is located close to the track and other amenities. The service and hospitality is second to none. Very friendly and made us feel at home. Very confortable, would not stay in other hotels. The hotel is clean which is very important. The restuarant is quick and well priced. The food is very good. Good for the whole family.

Room Tip: Try it and if you have any concerns just ask the management and they will be more than happy to assi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinmart4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are staying here you either have business in this part of the city, or like us, cant find a hotel in the heart of the city. Like the olympic stadium across the street, this hotel needs a serious retrofit. It must have been built to accommodate the Olympics, and it hasn't seen a paint brush or tlc since. Beside the olympic facility and the park across the street, it is located in a food manufacturing area of the city. The only redeeming quality to this place was the friendly staff. If you like very basic 30 to 40 year old decor, bath tub taps that don't work at a relatively cheap price, this is the place for you. You will need a car to get around(free parking), not much in the way of amenities nearby, but you can pick up discount crackers and cookies at the Christie's bakery a half block from the back door. The subway (metro) to downtown takes about 15-20 minutes to the McGill station and is a short 5-7 minute walk from the hotel just around the corner from the Maurice Richard arena.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandJane_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#95 of 165 in Montreal
202 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#56 of 165 in Montreal
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
659 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#69 of 165 in Montreal
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Property: Hotel Universel Montreal
Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing