We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were lucky to get one of the newer rooms. It was a nice room...only complaint is that I was not too keen on the glass door for the bathroom. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great..right next to Olympic Stadium...with free parking!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KitKat003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We hope that all your expectations were met and I hope that you will consider us for your next trip to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We managed to get a last minute 2 day booking during the Montreal Jazz festival week in July this year. The booking was done via Expedia after reading many reviews that were not off the mark. Check-in by Tatiana was friendly and helpful. pointing out the metro station to us, which despite being 'around the corner' is actually a bit of a walk. Rooms are comfortable and clean with free wi-fi. Our room was newly refurbished am not sure if the beds are new - too hard for my preference and I couldn't fathom out why the double beds in our room had sheets that did not fit the beds properly (too short) and the bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet. The additional cost of the buffet breakfast ($10 excl tax) is basic and adequately filling if you're not too picky. The hotel is some distance from the city centre and close to the Olympic Stadium. We were there for the Jazz Festival and made daily trips downtown. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and basic gym. On the Sunday of our departure, the hotel had a bbq lunch for all its guests, which we didn't go to but thought it was a nice touch of hospitality. An affordable, clean, comfy and friendly hotel to return to.

Room Tip: request the newly refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmjN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to write this review about our property. Please note that we take all comments very seriously and that we use those to better ourselves. We have noticed in your review that you have commented on the sheets being too short. Rest assured that it is not supposed to be this way and that we have changed the procedure of verification for all cleaned rooms. We apologize for the discomfort this might have created and we hope that you will consider us for your next trip to Montreal. The subway station being a little further, we do offer a shuttle service that not only will drop you off, but can also pick you up when you return, upon availability of course. If ever you have any questions or if you need precisions on the follow up of you comments, you can reach me at 1800-567-0223.

Thank you again and have a great day

Gabriel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was not my first stay in the hotel, and I would visit again, with some lessons learned.

Positive:

1. Perfect location for out-of-towners driving in, or with a rental car. This is next to Botannical gardens and the Olympic park, plus highways. Parking is free (expect $20-25 per night in downtown hotels).

2. Quiet, despite busy location. Older building, purpose built as a hotel, likely for the Olympics, so thick walls.

3. They listened to my requests (high floor, far from elevator)

4. Pools, which I did not use.

5. Pricing on a high side, but reasonable for the high season, except breakfast (see below).

6. Nice renovated rooms, BUT - see below.

Negative

1. Bizarre renovations resulted in sliding glass bath / toilet door, wich leaves about a 1 inch gap right where the toilet is. Also, with a weird mirror placement, you can sit on the toilet behind closed door and have an eye-to-eye contact through that gap and the mirrors with another person lying on the bed in the same room. Toilet roll is a long reach across the room. I just gave up and put in on the tub. Could be betted designed, even in a tight space. For example, the door could be hung outside the toilet, so the gap would face the other way...

2. Breakfast. Horrible. But, trying to be objective. They advertise a "special" rate, which includes free breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids. Nowhere does it say what is included. Every other hotel I stayed in makes this a continental buffet, some better, some worse, but invariably a buffet with toast, eggs, some sort of yogurt, milk, some fruit, maybe some meat etc. These guys: "american breakfast". You have a restaurant with 7-8 waiters / waitresses plus table bussing staff serving one and a half customers, and creating chaotic movement all around. Most of them appear to not understand English well (in hospitality industry in Montreal....), and have a varying idea of what is included in that "free" breakfast.

Redux: You get a choice of toast, then two eggs, and then either sausage, bacon or ham. There is a small slice of melon or pineapple. Everything is swimming in oil, and there are no other kinds of meat besides pork. You also get something resembling coffee, and a load of little creamers, so in order to get an equivalent of "2 milk", you need to open 5-6 of these into your mug. Kids get a cup of cheapest available OJ, and one egg, plus toast and meat (see above). No way to ditch that OJ and get another egg. Also, on adult plates, there is no difference between 1 egg and 2 eggs in quantity, and the eggs look like quail eggs by size.... An omelet with cheese (replacing meat) results in the same cold micro-egg, and a cup of shredded cheddar on the side... Milk for kids is only an option if the waiter feels like it.

OR, you can choose from their menu: 2 eggs any style $10. Everything else on top.

Suggestions to the hotel if you read this:

1. Get rid of all these wait staff in the morning, put one hot table and one cold table to serve breakfast. You need 2 people to do this: one watches the hot / cold table and refills, the other busses tables. Your eggs are prepared in advance anyway.

2. If not, on the breakfast vouchers that you print out for people, at least write down what is included, so the waitresses do not have to make it up, and guests can make an informed decision. I, for one, would not have chosen the special rate with breakfast, had I known what that breakfast is....

Resume:
Stay again? Yes.
Breakfast? No.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear valued guest,

We wanted to thank you for your comments and we have taken those under consideration. We are looking into the breakfast procedures and making sure that all information is provided at the time of making a selection.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have stayed at this property a few times before (when it used to be The Auberge) and have never been disappointed. It is close to the Bio dome and Olympic Stadium and not too far away from Downtown. The rooms never disappointed us and we were always impressed by the value we got for our dollar. I recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear valued guest,

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for your wonderful comments on this site. We appreciate returning guests and we hope that you will continue your relationship with Hotel Universel Montreal. For your every needs, visit our website or contact us at 1800-567-0223.

Thank you and have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I stayed here this past week, great stay at the hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Wheelchair accessible, clean rooms, nice pools. Good and reasonable priced restaurant in the hotel and in surrounding area. Close to metro or use their friendly shuttle. Highly recommend staying here and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devilkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear valued guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We want, on behalf of the entire team, to send you our gratitude. It will be our pleasure to assist you on your next trip, you can reach us directly at 1800-567-0223.

Thank you again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our visit started on July 12th......... Free parking for a start, and if you are looking for a 5* Hotel this isn't it but if you want a hotel that offers helpful service a shuttle (when available) clean rooms and comfortable beds this it. Also the breakfast buffet starts at $12 (INC TAX) for a so-so buffet. Close to the Botanical Gardens, Biodome and Metro Stn (Viau) This was just what we wanted for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the nice portrait that you have made of our property. We are pleased that you were satisfied of our services and facilities. I hope that on your next trip, you will come and visit us again. Please note that your comment in regards to the breakfast buffet will be forwarded to the appropriate department.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in walking distance to the Biodome, Planetarium,Botanical Gardens, and most importantly the metro and bus line. There are a few restaurants in walking distance,but nothing particularly good. Our room looked old and dark. The most modern thing in the room was the t.v., but it had an old universal remote that did not work well. The indoor pool and sauna were nice perks after long days sight seeing. This hotel is in desperate need of remodeling. We chose this hotel because it was close to more time consuming sights, the metro, and Free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nolaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorianaFrancis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for your remarks on our property. Please note that all reviews are read and used in order to better ourselves for any returning or new guests. We were aware of the issue with the remotes and we have already placed an order to have a new remote in all rooms which will allow our clients to have access to more options, faster response from the television and more reliable. We are also under major renovations which will modernise the property and I think that will meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this matter further, I remain available to answer any questions you might have. You can reach us directly at 1-800-567-0223.

Thank you for your time and hopefully, you will visit us again shortly...

Gabriel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#96 of 165 in Montreal
205 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#57 of 165 in Montreal
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#68 of 165 in Montreal
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing