We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location + Price + Quality = Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Y Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Y Montreal
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location + Price + Quality = Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have been to this hotel multiple times and every time it has wow'd me in some fashion.
You are not going to pay too much for this, so don't expect lots of space, don't expect a huge bathroom, I don't think they even have room service, but rooms are super clean, they do have free wifi, and they are close (so close you can forget your car home) to anywhere in downtown Montreal both for business, shopping or just hanging out. In summary, it's not fancy but it has everything you need.
Service: everybody at this hotel tries to make your life easy in a non intrusive way.
Very nice all around.

Room Tip: I like high interior rooms for this locations, but that's just me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minhaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    86
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
47
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Right in the central of town great staff...had a good sray

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gidgie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good location. Igual you like walking close down tiene and St catherine ave, and about 20 to 30 minutes to old montreal. The room Washington small but very clean. Bathroom were clean too. I recommend to have breakfast two blocks away in chez cora, delicious!! @

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you want to be in the middle of it all in Montreal and not break the bank, this hotel is great for that. Great shopping and nightlife in the area, and if you want to explore the rest of the city then you just hop on the metro which is so close.

The rooms aren't spectacular or anything worth writing home about, but they serve their purpose as a place for me to sleep at night. I did enough research ahead of time to know that this would just be a very basic room.

If you don't need luxury, then stay here and save your money so that you can spend it enjoying the city!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank O_Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This place is a lot more like a normal, very small apartment rather than a hotel. There were some ink stains on the comforter, chipped spots in the sink, a little bit of mildew in hard to reach spots in the shower. But it was clean in general and was a decent place to sleep. I found the temperature to be quite comfortable although I couldn't control the heat. It was quiet while I was there. Great spot if you are going to the Bell Center which is VERY close. The internet was unprotected and extremely unreliable which was very frustrating. The shampoo is in a soap-like container in the wall of the shower so you might want to bring your own.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dygnifyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a good place to spend a night,but one of the smallest rooms I have ever seen.The price is right,and right downtown,near Old Montreal/China town/St Catherine's,and the train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I'd previous visited Montreal a few years ago and stayed at the HI hostel during a few blocks from this YWCA hostel. I didn't enjoy that particular experience for various reasons (you can read that review) so wanted to try somewhere else that still offered good value for money. Based on reviews on this site, I chose the YWCA for one week following a (hopefully) permanent move to Montreal. I wasn't disappointed!

First off, the room I booked was on the 6th floor, which is the hostel. Floor 7 is the hotel Y (didn't stay there so not reviewing). The hostel is serviced by a lift so for people with reduced mobility, you won't have any problems. The room was basic but for about $50 a night, that's expected. It had a TV, sink, chest of drawers, closet, fridge (very welcome), kettle, alarm clock and a single bed. It was very comfortable.

The room with toilets was just down the corridor. It was always clean and most of the time I was using it alone. The shower room is also clean and separated into four or five private showers with attached changing cubicles so complete privacy is guaranteed. The water temperature was hot, although it did get hotter throughout the shower so I had to constantly turn the temperature down. But hey, at least it had hot water!

Other facilities included a computer room with computer and internet. I didn't use that because I had my laptop and the whole place has free wi-fi. There's also a laundry room, which again I didn't use, but I think it was $1. There was also a kitchen with attached dining room with fridges, cupboards etc. Most of the kitchen equipment seemed to be provided, although there was a serious shortfall of spoons!

The location of the hostel is also really good. It's about a 1 minute walk to St Catherine Ouest, a good shopping street. The nearest supermarket was just 10 minutes away at most. The Lucien L'allier metro stop was a block away and there were other metro stations just a bit further away. The hostel is also really close to the central train station - 5 minutes walk (depending on how you catch the traffic lights). And the 747 express bus from the airport stops a block or two away as well. So a great location!

The only problem I found with this hostel is that the walls are quite thin. That seems to be a Canadian thing though. Unfortunately I had someone inconsiderate next to me for part of my stay who liked to watch TV starting at 4am and it always woke me up to. I could also hear people walking in the corridor quite easily, especially if they had heels on. But those are my only complaints!

In short, if I ever needed to stay in a hostel again then I'd pick this place. It was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#68 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Y Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Y Montreal

Property: Hotel Y Montreal
Address: 1355, Rene-Levesque Blvd. West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just the two of you or with family and friends, the Montreal Y Hotel offers comfortable rooms accommodating 1 to 4 people. Situated on the 7th floor, our hotel's 30 rooms provide an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of downtown, just steps from the museum district, Bell Centre, shops, Sainte-Catherine and Crescent streets, restaurants and other tourist attractions. What's more, by staying with us, you'll be helping to build a better future for women and girls living in the Greater Montreal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Y Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Ywca
Ywca Montreal
Ywca Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing