We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #65 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great service and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a solid semi-budget hotel with a decent breakfast buffet, clean guest rooms, and a well stocked self-serve laundry room. It offers super easy access to everything we needed including the McGill University campus and a subway station. I would definitely stay here again.

If you are a unilingual anglophone visiting Montreal you will likely run into poor customer service due to your lack of language skills (this is just the way it is - not a complaint). Staff at Hotel le Cantlie Suites buck this trend and provided us with unfailingly wonderful service, from directions to local eateries and shopping to considerate housekeeping staff (saying hello in the elevators and looking like they actually meant it!) to easy check-in and check-out; high marks for service.

On the downside, the towels were a bit tired and the toiletries not that impressive (if that's important to you). These are very minor things, IMO, but are some of the reasons I called this hotel semi-budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. We had a fabulous view from the 21st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    380
    167
    74
    66
See reviews for
211
217
45
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
325 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here again four years later from our last trip, and it was very much the same. The rooms were a sight nicer - we stayed in renovated rooms, and the dated decor and amenities are no longer an issue as everything is up to the standard of a contemporary 4-star hotel. The airlock doors are as annoying as ever, though.

That being said, there are still only three elevators, one of which were broken for over twenty floors, so the wait was very long. The front desk staff was no friendlier than I remembered from the last time, and my friend's room was visited in spite of the privacy sign left on the door. Nothing was taken, but the fact that someone entered the room when they weren't supposed to isn't a good thing.

That being said, it's cheap, clean, the rooms are huge with kitchenettes, it's right on Sherbrooke Street, and the valet parking isn't too expensive. It might not be as nice as some of the chain 4-stars in close proximity but it more than beats them on price. Will stay here again the next time I'm in Montreal

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We needed somewhere to sleep before an early morning hospital appointment and the Cantlie Suites suited us well. We parked in the basement garage, down an alley off Peel Street. Your keys are taken and the car is valet parked. It's not particularly cheap but hassle free. Check in was fast and efficient. We had a king studio on the 10th floor at the end of the corridor. We had no problem with noise at all. Hotel seems to be used by airline crew as there were lots of uniformed women on our floor. The room was spacious, clean and had a tiny balcony.Motel type furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small. Think that's how they built them 50 years ago. However everything worked . I liked the kitchen and could see it being useful for a longer stay ,Perhaps making a simple breakfast and avoiding the quite expensive breakfast buffet. Check out next morning was also quick and efficient. We wouldn't hesitate to book here again. Felt it was really good value for the amount we paid. Getting our car back was easy too. Both the parking attendants, coming and going were very pleasant. As others have said, would be good if WiFi was free in this day and age but the computers in the business centre are free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 113pine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We thought the room was great; lots of space and very clean (even the oven, I checked). Yes, the elevator was slow, but it was always nice to chat with people waiting. Front desk staff were fine, not over the top. My kids loved the roof top pool; it was chilly but what a view!! They didn't have any towels but a quick call to housekeeping and they brought us towels warm from the dryer. Perfect location to all the sights, easy access to the metro and amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great deal! clean and fancy, Great bar and restaurant, nice rooms, loved the place. Can't beat the location. The only thing, if I wanted to be picky is the showers. They don't drain very fast and there is little temperature control. But this did not ruin our time there. Would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfaber-gillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Montreal close to everything I need to be for work. The building itself, the metro, the grocery, shopping, restaurants, etc. However, I think that it is significantly overpriced. The rooms are simple, clean but unimpressive. They are very accommodating with a mini-kitchenette. However, if you are in any sort of hurry, the elevators are super slow, waiting as much as 10 minutes to catch the lift to the ground floor. And If you plan on getting a good nights rest, bring earplugs.... of the four nights here I have been unable to go to bed at 9pm due to parities in other rooms, and woken up at 3am and 5 am from again parties, and people coming and going from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javrox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Yes, the hotel is dated and the bath towels are super-thin, but the upsides of the hotel far outweighed the downsides. The price was right; the location was perfect for our family to see the sights and get around using the Metro (Peel stop); the room was huge and kept impeccably clean; the beds were very comfy; and the service staff from the parking attendants to the front desk personnel was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The website boasts floor-to-ceiling windows with views of either the river or Mont Royal, but that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAP1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Property: Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing