We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Crepes”
Review of La Bulle au carre - CLOSED

La Bulle au carre
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: "Bistro Breton" French style bistro on St-denis street next to the Square St-Louis, and where you can find the best crepes in town. We are open from morning (for breakfast/brunch) to evening. Come and taste also our home-made ice cream!
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Crepes”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

They have delicious main dish (galette) and desert crepes at this corner restaurant by Square St-Louis. There are several tables outside, although most only have seating for two. We ordered 2 galettes and one dessert crepe for three people for a light meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmera4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, FL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy and cute!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Wonderful breakfast crepes and friendly service. Perfect location on corner of St. Denis. Adorable little cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nik655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“delicious - not your run-of-the-mill place”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We found this place by accident....we were making our yearly pilgrimmage to our Crepe Breton favorite on St. Denis and noticed our old standard had closed. One the corner, we found this place advertising crepe breton style. The staff could not have been friendlier and everyone spoke English. This is an interesting spot and there are Tin Tin books all over --- cute and fun. I had the best seat in the house because I could watch the chef preparing food in the kitchen. We started with the French Onion Soup...it was good. I then had a burger with goat cheese and carmelized onions. I would have liked the burger to be a bit bigger....but the best thing here was the bun -- it seemed to be home-made and had a great texture and a bit of a sweet taste. My husband had a crepe with salmon and seafood. The dessert was absolutely fabulous. In addition to dessert crepes, and some cakes, they have wonderful ice cream desserts. This was vanilla ice cream, frozen pears, home made caramel sauce and whipped cream - delicious! I had a double expresso....very good quality. On the whole, I would give this place a strong recommendation....it is especially a great place for tourists....you feel as if you are in Europe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cohenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for brunch!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This fairly small restaurant is great for brunch. Try the far breton. In the summer, sit outside, looking at the Carré St-Louis. It is located right across from Sherbrooke metro station - which makes it an easy rendez-vous location if you use public transit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine1963_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent crepes on St-Denis”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Don't let the name distract you, this is not a laundromat.
This small restaurant prides itself as the place for authentic Bretagne crepes in Montreal.
Delicious thin crepes with a wide choice of filling. Mmmmm.
Try the homemade chocolate crepe.
Large selection and the prices are very affordable.
A great option if you want to meet friends over crepes and coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bulle au carre also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing