We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant dining spot”
Review of La Bulle au carre - CLOSED

La Bulle au carre
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: "Bistro Breton" French style bistro on St-denis street next to the Square St-Louis, and where you can find the best crepes in town. We are open from morning (for breakfast/brunch) to evening. Come and taste also our home-made ice cream!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining spot”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The food is good and not too expensive. Service is a bit inept -- I had to ask again for my glass of wine (waitress busy chatting with a patron). There is one cook making all the food, but my open faced galette was very well made, with a sausage in mustard sauce. The decor is quirky but interesting, lots to look at. And they were just fine when my colleague and only wanted a drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A return on our next visit for sure”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Loved this experience. If you are looking for local flavor, its a great choice. The place is smallish, very pleasant. We come from outside of Boston, and this area looked like the back bay a bit.
The area is French, as are the majority of its patrons. The waiter we had was excellent, very friendly, and willing to go all English, or work with your less than perfect French if you wanted practice. We chose not to go with the daily special thinking we would be more economical that night, but kept being intriguied to try different options. Should have gone with the first choice. it includes several choices of apps, entrees, and desserts for a set price, I think it was about $23 canadian dollars. So our only regret is our bill turned out larger than wanted. That was a live and learn though. Next time do it the other way. My favorite was the dessert crepe. The dinner crepes are heavier, made with a different wheat, which I liked a bit less. French fries were outstanding, reallY!!! So I think soup, salad, and dessert would be perfect here. Each table has french comic books to entertain, its their thing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We sort of stumbled into this place by accident, but it turned out to be a stroke of good luck. Rustic, warm atmosphere - great for couples or families with kids. It's small - so I don't know if it would work for big parties. It seems to be an owner-operated place, where the owner is super friendly and provides great service. Our lunches ranged from burgers (goat cheese, caramelized onions, etc.) and crepes - a large no. of options for both. Everything was delicious. The desert crepes were incredible. This is a relaxing, fun, place with good food and a good vibe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere... Great food!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We are again thankful to Trip Advisor!
We needed a quaint local brunch spot in the heart of Mount-Royal. This fit the bill on every front.
We loved the staff, the cozy tables surrounded by children's books and games and the delicious food.
We both had crepes and they were FANTASTIC! We wish we had found this gem earlier in our trip, for we would have been back!
We lingered over coffee and enjoyed wonderful conversation as the rain fell in St. Louis Park.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had lunch there with a few friends on the weekend. A very friendly place. Casual. Very tasty crepes. Really taste like home-made. Nice decor. Also great for bringing along kids as they offer lots of books and games for the little ones to occupy themselves with while leaving the grown-up conversation to the adults in the group...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bulle au carre also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing