We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vieux-Port Steakhouse

Vieux-Port Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Vieux-Port Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: Saint-Gabriel
Transit: Metro: Champs de Mars ou Place d'Armes Bus: 515-55-14-129
Description: More than a restaurant, we're an institution. Quality cuts, cooked to perfection for over three decades. All our beef is AAA Canadian Certified and aged for at least 30 days. You'll love the classic atmosphere, warm and welcoming. We're situated directly on St. Paul Street in a beautiful, century-old structure. Inside, you're greeted by old stone walls, wood floors, cozy fireplaces and an attentive staff. With a capacity of up to 1 000 and one of the nicest terraces in Old Montreal, we're the ideal venue for groups, weddings and other social gatherings.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We dined two nights here, one in side (lovely view of St. Paul Street) and then in the outdoor courtyard. Well priced and good. Service was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    392
    143
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

After walking around Le Vieux Montreal and checking out the various menus, in this touristy area,I settled on this restaurant.
The Table D'Hote Menu was only $15.
This included a choice of :
Soup or Salad
Main course
Dessert and coffee
I chose the salad followed by the Lobster Linguine.
Everything was excellent,including the ambience in the garden terrasse and the service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This place was highly recommended but we (party of 4) were all disappointed. The atmosphere and service were excellent but the steaks were just ok at best. Will not return, not worth the $.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marianne1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Rarely do you experience a steak cooked to perfection when a restaurant is catering to a big group booking. As part of our Trafalgar Tour we dined at Vieux-Port Steakhouse in Montreal and the steak was melt in your mouth. Only fault was it was too big and I couldn't eat it all! We were a group of 54, there was another tour group in our dining area as well, and all other dining areas of the restaurant, including the Alfresco dining area, seemed to be packed out as well, with some queuing to get in. Can only congratulate the kitchen brigade, wait staff and all concerned on their organisation and ability to provide a first class dining experience!! Thank you and well done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Telo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visit Montreal every year and always go to Vieux-Port Montreal for dinner and brunch. The food is amazing and the service exceptional! Anna our waitress for brunch on Sunday morning was incredible! A big smile greeted us with exceptional service to follow. The food always plentiful and hot. We will definitely go back! A Montreal must see and eat!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vieux-Port Steakhouse also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Vieux-Port Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing