We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A word of warning about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A word of warning about this hotel!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Construction noise in our room on the 6th floor was deafening when my husband and I arrived on Friday afternoon for our anniversary getaway! My husband requested a room change and we were given a room on the 21st floor. No noise there. Thanks, Alexandra, for making the change for us.The hotel is only half full due to the renovations, which are extensive, not just the rooms, but structural changes as well. Beds were extremely comfortable, and on the 21st floor we had a great view of the Montreal skyline. There's a charge per day of $11 for wireless internet - surprise surpise. Valet parking was $28 per day and not very prompt. Breakfast in the LL level restaurant was terrible and overpriced for the quality. Since we had a discounted rate, the hotel was so-so OK, but I wouldn't pay full price. Wait till the renovations are done!

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher levels.Wait till the renovations are done - call the hotel to find out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We regret to read that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. We do apologize for the initial noise from our renovation. Our goal is to keep all guests away from rooms that are under renovation but since we do not have construction on weekends you may have experienced the tail end of our Friday afternoon work. We are glad that it was quickly resolved so you could enjoy the remainder of your time with us. If you do return, we invite you to join our Select Guest program which offers many perks to members including complimentary wireless internet. Thank you for all of your comments and we hope for a future opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds all of your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    856
    262
    87
    46
See reviews for
531
741
150
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great location, great service, great room, great bartenders. The only negative in my opinion is the quality of the pillows. They advertised down pillows, but they were some kind of poly fiber, and a little too firm. They were in the midst of a major renovation, but it didn't effect our stay at all. We look forward to returning after the project is completed!

Room Tip: WE had a room right off the elevator and we never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are glad you had a great stay at The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. We do apologize that your room was not made up with down pillows. In most cases we do uses down pillows but we have an option for other pillows that may have been inadvertently placed in your room. We are excited to read that you plan to return and don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to help you have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've stayed at the Omni several times in the past. The hotel is under renovation but you won't even notice. The staff is excellent, the concierge always willing to help and satisfy every need. There was some confusion at check-in but this won't be an on-going issue as I did bring it to the managements attention and they've taken care of it. The hotels downtown location is excellent, you can walk to almost anywhere. I'll be staying again in December and looking forward to seeing and staying in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Waddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay in our newly renovated guest rooms when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked my stay at this hotel via Expedia's last minute deal concept where you actually don't know what hotel you will get until you proceed with payment, but you do get to choose what type of hotel you want: how many stars, downtown location, etc. I opted for a 4-star hotel downtown and was pleasantly surprised when my confirmation came up with the Hotel Omni, at a price of only 131$, all taxes included, for one night!

The hotel is presently undergoing some important (and needed) renovations, so it will be interesting to see and stay there after work is done, which is slated for end of 2012: new lobby & bar, bigger restaurant, revamping rooms and hallways.

For now, its biggest feature is certainly its location, in the heart of Montreal's downtown core, nearby the Centre Mont-Royal where there are lots of conferences, including the one I was attending.

Staff was very friendly, in particular during check-in and check-out. Breakfast was OK, with a choice of either hot or continental buffet, but nothing to write home about. (And too expensive, as is usually the case in most hotels, at around $20 for buffet breakfast)

NOTE: When you check-in, register for the loyalty program and get free wifi during your stay. Well worth it, and you can always unsubscribe to the program after your stay... ;-)

Room Tip: With all the undergoing renovations, ask if they have either a freshly renovated one, or at least on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredericg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We are happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised when you found out you would be staying at the Omni. We are glad you had a great stay and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The staff was outstanding - concierge, reception, bell hop ...everyone was very courteous and helpful. We were originally shown to rooms across from the elevator on the 9th floor. Not a good spot at all and on the small side. The bell hop could see this was not going to work and asked us to take a seat and he would see what he could do. Less than 10 minutes later we were escorted to 2 rooms on the 8th floor at the end of the hall (812 & 815) - absolutely gorgeous - spaceous, clean & quiet. Went from being very apprehensive to absolutely thrilled. There is construction on site but it was never an issue or a concern.

Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: any room at the end of the hallways - all views were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates. We are thrilled that our bellman was able to immediately recognize and resolve your concerns so that you could enjoy the rest of your time with us. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked myself into the Omni Mont-Royal in Montreal for the weekend. NO where at the time of my online booking with OMNI did they indicate to me that the hotel was under renovation. This property is the former Four Seasons Hotel in Montreal, the property was taken over by OMNI about 25 years ago, the decor is still the old decor of the Four Seasons and it is now dirty and tired. The carpets in my room and other public area are frayed and dirty, fabric on furniture is greasy and stained, towels have seen better days, the furniture is used and now looks abused. There are no restaurants in the hotel due to renovations, only a side bar can serve drinks, coffee etc... So you have to go out to eat. Room service is available put $12.50 for coffee and a bun is a bit much. As for the renovation it is not clear what they are actually doing or when it will be completed. This looks very much like a property OMNI forgot, I did notice one block east on Sherbrooke street the new Hilton Garden Inn, maybe next time I will check it out. Forget the OMNI it is not worth your time or money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnforgettableRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Please accept our apologies if we missed the opportunity to communicate that our hotel is currently under renovation. We do regret that this negatively impacted your stay but as indicated in your review, we recognized the need to make some cosmetic changes to our property. Our renovation includes a full redesign of the guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, and banquet spaces. We hope you will consider a future stay so you can experience this wonderful and long anticipated transformation of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at the Omni several times - the service is wonderful, but the rooms are a bit worn, and dated. They only offer valet parking, which is not convenient if you need to come and go a few times. The brunch is wonderful and has offerings like smoked salmon that you don't usually see, but is pricey. Convenient to one of our favorite restaurants - Cafe Ferreira on Peel St.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review and your patronage of The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. We look forward to having you stay with us in our newly renovated guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,585 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Property: Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Family Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless emblem of the Montreal tourist landscape, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal strives to give guests an unforgettable experience infused with an authentic flair, a modern ethos, and a blend of warmth, comfort and elegance. The recently transformed 299 guest rooms and suites are true retreats of serenity and relaxation with a residential feel. Elegant and graceful, the decor serves as a comfortable backdrop for both work and leisure. Known for its unparalleled customer service, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal is rated four-star by Hebergement Quebec and four-diamond by AAA/CAA. The Hotel offers a full service health club and an urban pool (seasonal Mid-May to Mid-October), sauna and whirl pool. Updated amenities at the hotel provide everything required for an enjoyable stay: Alice Bar, Le Petit Opus Cafe, and many versatile meeting rooms. The Wireless Network fully upgraded in May 2014 gives guests fast access while on the road. Hotel Omni Mont-Royal lets its guests immerse themselves in the urban vibe of Montreal and nestle into the "feels like home" comfort of its newly renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing