We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your Memorable Stay Awaits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Ranked #22 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Your Memorable Stay Awaits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Omni is beautiful and elegant on the inside (after a complete refurbishment); the weathered exterior is no indicator of what to expect. *Even though we booked our long weekend through a third party to earn miles, we still managed to get a wonderful, well appointed room on the 29th floor which had a HUGE bathroom and free wireless access. Simply register with Omni for free Gold status and you won't have to pay for the extras. I do regret not booking directly with Omni because they would not allow me to have my 4 nights count towards getting Platinum status and they were only slightly more expensive. *If you care to workout while of vacation, this hotel accommodates you. It's the first hotel gym I've used that wasn't a joke. The gym is open 24 hours, with a jacuzzi and heated pool on the 3rd floor. *I'm not a fan of buffets but Le Petit Opus Cafe serves up a decent selection that you should try at least once.

You really don't need a car and the Metro is just one block away. This location was perfect and in walking distance to just about everything. We were lucky that our 4th of July getaway happened to have coincided with Montreal's International Jazz Festival, Carifesta (annual Caribbean carnival parade) and the naked bike ride. *The service was definitely above par so don't forget to ask for assistance from the very helpful Concierge who scored us discounted tickets (which we charged to our room) to the amazing Botanical Gardens/Insectarium, Biodome and Planetarium. We couldn't do it all on our last day so they refunded the cost of our unused tickets.

Room Tip: Noise from the hallways can be loud and other guests' "nocturnal" activities can be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalPursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Helandlee,

It sounds as if you had a wonderful visit to Montreal and I'm thrilled that your experience at our hotel was top notch. I appreciate having the opportunity to read that details about what made your stay a good one and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    787
    235
    84
    43
See reviews for
468
680
136
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I don't quite understand the issue 2JsVow had with the room next to the elevators and ice machine. We also booked through expedia, already had their rewards package and were fine when we were told we didn't get free internet. We couldn't hear anything from the elevators or the ice machine and loved how conveniently close they were. We were treated really well - the concierge was amazing, he couldn't be rushed and would take the time to explain everything very clearly and point out anything he thought might interest you. The staff were very happy to accomodate or assist us in any way they could. Because we were reward club members we had coffee and tea delivered to our room every morning and the coffee was delicious. On the last day our flight was leaving late and they were fully booked so we couldn't extend check out, but they gave us the key card to the pool area, and area to change in. They kept our bags and were very nice about it. My mother had a slight fall at the pool and honestly they couldn't have done more for her - the young guy on pool duty was just a sweetheart. We had a beautiful last day. They also provide fresh apples to all the guests every day, something we took advantage of for breakfast. We had their $20 buffet breakfast (higher priced than home but everything in Montreal is a little expensive) and it was delicious - so many choices. Every day the 'turn down service' came and turned down our beds. I loved this hotel and the staff - it is really beautiful, clean and offers everything you can imagine. We were there for the Jazz festival and a brisk 10 minute walk or a short subway ride took us there. It is very convenient for the hop on hop off bus tour (do the night time one if you are there - it's even better than the daytime), and managed to see the Faberge collection as well as hear some amazingly talented jazz artists. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Yes, they did point out that if we booked direct we would get free internet, they also told us they would match any advertised price. So next time I will be booking direct. Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojoscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mojoscot,

Thank you for your glowing feedback following your recent stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the Montreal Jazz Festival.

We look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.

Regards,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

So this hotel has a very beautiful lobby, as one would expect from an Omni. We were in town for the Jazz festival (which was lovely!), and booked through expedia. We didn't know at the time that that would relegate us to second class citizenship. Despite staying for SIX nights (not cheap, no matter how you book), we were reminded that since we booked through a third-party booking, we couldn't have free internet despite the advertisement on the internet. Finally, once they could see that we knew the offer was there, they told us that they generally don't offer it to those who "third-party book" but this time they would...but we had to join their loyalty club, which we did.

This was after we had to wait 15 minutes for them to find us a "suitable" room, which ended up being the next to both the ice-machine AND elevator. I was more than a little displeased. I tried on two nights to be switched to another room, but was offered only a "parlor" room that didn't even have a real bed, only a couch. This after we booked a king-sized bed. After that I just gave up on getting a better room.

Thankfully, not may people use ice these days, but we definitely got a lot of noise from elevator traffic and the few times the ice-maker was used. I don't even understand why they rent that out as a room, much less to people dropping nearly 1,000$ for a week stay, no matter how they booked. I was very disappointed in that treatment.

Now add to that the fact that there was hair that was not mine in the room when we came, which just got swept/mopped from one spot to the next on the floor, but never removed, and that the tub didn't drain properly, and you have a perfect storm of regret.

I'm not sure if I'd stay at this hotel again, not because it's not a "nice" hotel, but because I don't feel like we were treated nicely. They clearly gave us a throw-away room despite how much money we spent to be there. It's completely counter-productive. If we get a cheaper (definitely not cheap by any means) rate via another site and like your hotel, we'll obviously come back. But since we felt like we were being punished at every turn for not booking directly at their site, we'll just as soon book at one of the many, many other options in the city.

Shame, though, because I had really liked Omni hotels up to this point...

Room Tip: do NOT choose 809 or probably the "09" stack, as they are by the elevators. That goes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2JsVow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear 2JsVow,

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

We regret that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations but are grateful for the opportunity to understand how we can improve.

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights & couldn't get over how large the rooms were for a city centre hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly, starting with the doorman who greeted us as soon as we pulled up in our car. Couldn't fault any of it & the location was perfect! Would highly recommend

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear LesleyT,

Thank you for your glowing feedback following your recent stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

We are delighted you had a great stay and we look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you.

Regards,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice, solid 4-star hotel with friendly, responsive team in a good base-of-Mont-Royal location. However, it is missing a few amenities for a hotel of this caliber: it needs a more extensive menu and dining options; later lobby bar hours; health club locker rooms; much-better-stocked minibar fridge (it is empty even in top-floor rooms); slightly quieter A/C ventilation

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear AlexanderH,

We appreciate all of your feedback from your recent stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

We regret that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations but we are grateful for the opportunity to understand how we can improve.

Thank you for sharing o TripAdvisor and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was very comfortable with friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and large enough for two of us to sleep. The pool area was clean and comfortable and the water was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JesseC,

What a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor travelers and we look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you.

Regards,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have had wonderful luck at Omni hotels and when offered the "romance" package at this one, I changed my reservation from a different hotel. We arrived finding a lovely bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us. Our room had a great view though the main window was cloudy from condensation but we dealt with it because it was still a spacious room and appearing quite comfortable. Unfortunately, during the night , after I had dropped off to sleep, my husband discovered that our mattress wasn't as "clean" as any hotel guest could expect and lost sleep wondering if I had perhaps "died" during the night because the odor was that bad. The next morning when indeed I was very much alive, we figured out the probable cause of the horrible smell and asked housekeeping and hotel mgmt to inspect our room. While they did come, it was a bit disconcerting to see them both react so "blase" to the situation without even "smelling" the issue; almost like we had created the situation ourselves. Our mattress was changed, along with all bed linens, but the "romance pkg" was anything but. WE had to negotiate a fair compensation and were rather relieved to be gone from a hotel and staff who could have been more sympathetic to such a disgusting mattress predicament.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear EllenO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Omni Mont-Royal.

We apologize for the situation you experienced and that you feel the staff did not show more empathy. We will be sharing your comments with our Executive team and hope that the proposed solution was to your satisfaction.

We hope to have a future opportunity to provide you with the great service our hotel is known for.

Regards,

Dominique Lapointe
Directrice générale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#52 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Property: Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Family Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless emblem of the Montreal tourist landscape, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal strives to give guests an unforgettable experience infused with an authentic flair, a modern ethos, and a blend of warmth, comfort and elegance. The recently transformed 299 guest rooms and suites are true retreats of serenity and relaxation with a residential feel. Elegant and graceful, the decor serves as a comfortable backdrop for both work and leisure. Known for its unparalleled customer service, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal is rated four-star by Hebergement Quebec and four-diamond by AAA/CAA. The Hotel offers a full service health club and an urban pool (seasonal Mid-May to Mid-October), sauna and whirl pool. Updated amenities at the hotel provide everything required for an enjoyable stay: Alice Bar, Le Petit Opus Cafe, and many versatile meeting rooms. The Wireless Network fully upgraded in May 2014 gives guests fast access while on the road. Hotel Omni Mont-Royal lets its guests immerse themselves in the urban vibe of Montreal and nestle into the "feels like home" comfort of its newly renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing