We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed at the Omni because of its location (right across from Mcgill) and because it had a good price. I didn't expect a lot from it, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Yes, it does show a little wear in places, but overall it was really nice at the price we paid. The room we had was a very nice size and was well decorated. The fitness center is huge and well equipped. The pool is also nice, though it is outdoor and therefore closes at 7:00.

The service was very friendly - everyone we talked to was terrific.

The location is fantastic not only for McGill but for the museum/art district on Sherbrooke and the night life on Crescent. Overall, a very good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    833
    251
    86
    44
See reviews for
486
715
147
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked the hotel through priceline and can't complain for the price we paid. Nice lobby, very friendly staff, the bar/restaurant is a depressing little room squeezed in and the rooms are dated but nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms are nice but the rugs, chairs and decor are a little behind. If you're looking to spend most of your time in the old port this is not your place but if you're up for exploring the whole city then the location is perfect.

I wouldn't want to stay here again but have no regrets about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19DC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hotel was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The spa was great. The pool is an outdoor pool, but even in August, it's a bit breezy, so I didn't really enjoy it. The restaurant is fine for breakfast or lunch, but not dinner. Room service was fast. Overall, I was happy with my stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiori17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We enjoyed staying here. It was a block away from the Metro and easy access for a walk up to Parc Mont-Royal (which I highly recommend). The rooms were clean and comfortable. A nice touch was the free beverages you get each morning as part of the Select Guest program (which is free to join). We also got a corner room and a bottle of water delivered to our room when we checked in.

Downside to the hotel was the concierge desk, which we needed for restaurant reservations. We often didn't find anyone there. However, when it was manned, they were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I decided to go for a long weekend to Montreal with our young son, who is nearly three years old. We decided to stay at the OMNI Mont-Royal because of its proximity to Mont-Royal Parc and downtown. It is also considered one of the better hotels in the city.

Before we left, our reservation was confirmed by staff at the hotel. The day of arrival, I called to confirm again, to let the hotel know we would be arriving in the evening. Again - no problem. So imagine our surprise when we arrived, weary from the drive from Toronto, to find we did not have a room.

The hotel had overbooked. They offered us a "boutique room" - literally a fold-out double couch.. or we could spent the night at the Best Western across the street. As you might imagine, the three of us could not sleep on a fold-out couch... so we had no choice but to go to the inferior hotel where the OMNI had got us a room.

Well without getting too into it - the room was horrible. A few examples: the bathroom reeked of smoke, on a non-smoking floor, and was in desperate need of renovation. I asked for a quiet room, and they put us on the third floor with our window facing a VERY noisy Sherbrooke Street. It was so noisy, I had to go downstairs at 12:30 AM to ask for earplugs. We got little sleep.

While David Kanters at the OMNI offered his apologies and we didn't have to pay for the night we spent at the Best Western... that is cold comfort. We were in Montreal for only three days ... and one-third of our vacation was ruined. I was exhausted.

We heard all kinds of excuses: "Expedia overbooked", "All the hotel rooms in Montreal were full; we had to send you there." First, it is not believable that ALL the hotel rooms in the city were booked. And even if they were, a good hotel would not treat their guests like this. Especially when small children are involved.

Needless to say, I would never stay at this hotel again. There are enough other hotels in Montreal... why risk having the OMNI "overbook" and send you to an inferior place I would never have my family stay at.

I think a good test of a hotel's quality is how they react when there is a difficult situation. On this - the OMNI failed horribly. Hence, the rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadiantraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnimtroyal, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
It is disheartening for us to hear of this guest's experience at The Omni Mont-Royal. We do our best to honor all guests requests and regret that in this case we were unable to do so. Although our goal is for each guest to have a wonderful stay we are always thankful for the opportunity to understand how we may improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had a suite on the 28th floor. Got a great deal by booking through the hotel about a month in advance. Fantastic view over the McGill campus and Mont Royal. Incredibly comfortable king bed. Large windows. Very classy furniture. Quiet. There was a restaurant/bar in the lobby that looked good, although we did not try it. No parking on site, but there is an inexpensive option just across the street ($16 per day).

As for location, this is a great location if you are visiting McGill. Also within a 10 min walk of most of downtown, including a lot of fun bars and nightclubs in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Our visit was at best, average. The lobby was nicely appointed but there was no one to help us with our luggage. The room and halls were in need of renovation. Everything was rundown and shabby. The location was fine but the restaurant was disappointing. The bar was not an inviting environment for just having a drink. One irritation that I experienced was that I called ahead and spoke to the concierge to get information about an event taking place during our visit. She told me she would have to check on it and get back to me. She never did.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
We regret to read of your recent experience at The Omni Mont-Royal. We pride ourselves on providing each of our guests with a pleasant atmosphere and exceptional service and are disappointed that we fell short for your stay. We understand your frustrations and would like to offer our apologies. We do hope you would give us an opportunity in the future to provide you with the stay that not only meets but exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,482 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 164 in Montreal
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Property: Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Family Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless emblem of the Montreal tourist landscape, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal strives to give guests an unforgettable experience infused with an authentic flair, a modern ethos, and a blend of warmth, comfort and elegance. The recently transformed 299 guest rooms and suites are true retreats of serenity and relaxation with a residential feel. Elegant and graceful, the decor serves as a comfortable backdrop for both work and leisure. Known for its unparalleled customer service, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal is rated four-star by Hebergement Quebec and four-diamond by AAA/CAA. The Hotel offers a full service health club and an urban pool (seasonal Mid-May to Mid-October), sauna and whirl pool. Updated amenities at the hotel provide everything required for an enjoyable stay: Alice Bar, Le Petit Opus Cafe, and many versatile meeting rooms. The Wireless Network fully upgraded in May 2014 gives guests fast access while on the road. Hotel Omni Mont-Royal lets its guests immerse themselves in the urban vibe of Montreal and nestle into the "feels like home" comfort of its newly renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing