We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great location and terrific facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We spent three nights between Xmas and New Years at the Omni Montreal, my husband and 11 year old son going twice each year to Montreal and often (as
we did this time) with friends (another family with an 8 and 11 year old). We had a wonderful time!! Having a spa right in the hotel is a huge advantage and we liked
the fitness room and the hot tub (and it's not very easy to find a hot tub in a Montreal
hotel). Also the manager, David Kanter, provides outstanding and rapid service. While reviews say that the rooms need updating, both our families thought this was one of the best Montreal hotels even with the present furniture: don't be discouraged by reviews that say the furniture is old because the whole hotel has an elegant feel. The suites are on high floors are especially nice: it is a good idea to ask for high floor rooms as we did. The included buffet breakfasts were also perfect: plenty of selection and nicely served. So, even though renovations are planned for late 2011, we still had absolutely no regrets about staying at the Omni right now. Last but hardly least, the location is ideal as other reviews have indicated. It is easy to get to good restaurants (try the Taj for Indian and a Chinese restaurant with Orchid in the name which is right on Rue Peel), great shopping on Rue Saint Catherine and two subway stops are within one or two blocks. Altogether a wonderful place for a Montreal vacation. We plan to come back, especially when the outdoor swimming pool opens in the summer.



hotel

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank nyctraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

What a delight for us to read your review of The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. We appreciate all of your kind compliments, especially of David, and we look forward to sharing them with our team. It was our pleasure to provide you with a wonderful stay and will look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,045 - 2,051 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Omni Mont-Royal in Montreal is a great hotel, the staff are exceptionally accommodating and friendly. The switched effortlessly between English and French, which is good for those of us who only speak cursory French. The concierge desk has information on just about everything and the location is excellent for exploring the city on foot.

The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the nearest metro station - which is fairly easy to use. Also nearby is Rue St. Catherine which has a wide variety of shops and restaurants to suit almost every taste.

I opted for a a suite on this stay and the room was large and well appointed, but there were a few minor complaints. The carpeting was well worn and the guest bath smelled of mildew and had a broken drain plug in the tub.

I contacted the management about the items and they were responsive and indicated that they are in the process of a hotel wide renovation which is needed at this point.

If service and staff friendliness are important criteria for you, then the Omni is definitely worth a look. I've also stayed at the Omni in Chicago, IL and the staff there was excellent as well. This seems to be a common theme.

These folks really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. During my stay I decided to shop at a local outdoor market and dine in my room. The room service brought up a place setting - without charge for me to enjoy my lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

We enjoyed reading your review of The Hotel Mont-Royal and are delighted that you received such attentive service while staying with us. We are glad that your experience lived up to your expectations of Omni Hotels and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so you may enjoy our renovated guestrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Great location, ideal for a family or a business traveller. This is the third time I stay at the hotel, and each time I tell myself I really need to make a comment to the Director of the hotel or the Marketing Director. When you stay in this Omni you will notice people other then the regular staff in the lobby constantly trying to help you, as far as pushing the elevator button. You would think this is a good thing, but I have to tell you its annoying!

One of my collegues was meeting me in the lobby, and I was said hello to by a man, to then be asked 2 seconds later if I could be helped, to then folowed to the front desk and asked if I was having a good day, then I walked away to see where my collegue was towards the elevator, and then he came back again greated both of us again, cut us off as we were walking and talking to tell me if we needed assistance. For piece sake, give it a rest! Then a lady with red hair came along speaking to the man who was in the lobby, and again they came for the kill with hello's and can we help you? I looked at them with a side grin and said im fine, but what I really wanted to say, was leave us the hell alone. The little man left following the lady who was obviously working at the hotel, but I assumed it was his boss since he suddendly became even more smiley and walked away with her.

So keep in mind this is not a large lobby, and so someone standing in the center of it or from what I observed walking back and forth gets a little old. As my collegue said to me, they must be having service issues and came up with this pre-school approach. I certainly hope its not the Marketing Director who came up with this, as this is not a great way to deal with customers. So other then having always someone in your face at lunch in the evening, which is absolutely annoying the hotel, needs some reno's but is generally in good shape. the location is amazing and foot steps away from the company I deal with.

I am scheduled to be back 3 days in mid January lets hope this stops, and someone with good sense tells them.

Best of luck!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2010

We truly appreciate your review of The Omni Mont-Royal and your candid feedback regarding the management presence in our lobby. We hesitate to apologize for being too friendly but certainly understand that there is a fine line between being helpful and being kind to a fault. We will continue to have management presence in the lobby during busy times we do see that there is an opportunity for us to use your review as a training tool for our team. It may help them to recognize when it is appropriate to step back and just allow our guests to enjoy their time in our lobby. We are glad to hear that you plan on returning and hope that your next stay with us is nothing less than enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We have stayed at this hotel about 3 times or so and our stay has always been great. Last time we were there, the concierge convinced me to sign up for their rewards program (free) and with it comes a free upgrade. In the past we had stayed in the standard "no view" rooms (view of the top of another building). But with the upgrade we moved to a standard room still, but a little bigger and with a view of the park. Perfect! I was very grateful for the nice view. Service was always prompt and professional.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

Not only are we thankful for your loyal patronage but also for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you are now taking advantage of our Select Guest program and we hope to welcome you back many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Very accommodating, excellent concierge, recommend highly

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwueste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

We our glad you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass your compliments to our concierge team. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Room was huge. Bed very comfy. Service excellent. Location great. The room was a bit tired and dated. The bathroom, while clean, but had seen better days. Same with table and desk in room. The TV worked fine, but was old (not really such a big deal, but for the standard of fixtures these days, and the rate paid was a standard rate ....).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

We are glad to hear that most of your stay at The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal was enjoyable. We are very excited that the new year will bring a new look for our hotel. Renovation plans are moving right along and we anticipate that by the end of 2011 our hotel will have decor that matches our service and location. We hope you will return to experience the new look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Stayed at Omni with my family October 23-26, 2010. We were there for both, business and pleasure. We are a well-traveled family (Europe, North America, Caribbean, etc.) and have stayed anywhere from 2 to 5 star hotels. We all agreed that very seldom if ever have we encountered such high level of personalized customer service, attention to detail, and warm and friendly reception. Both the room and the bathroom were spacious, beautiful, very clean and well-equipped. And it was quiet at night - a huge bonus for me as I am a light sleeper. No endlessly long hallways to run around and bang the doors! We also enjoyed the fitness centre, hot tub and sauna (very nice and hot, thank God, no men/women segregation here, you can all go in as a family to enjoy it).
Yes, the hotel is not brand new but it has this amazing understated "old school" elegance and charm about it.
Would stay there again with great pleasure.
P.S. The rates were great on Priceline for our dates.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambercoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

It is a joy for us to read your complimentary review of The Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. We are delighted that our associates took such great care of your family and we are thankful that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,458 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Family Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £105 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown on the elegant Sherbrooke Street West near McGill University, the luxury Hotel Omni Mont-Royal dominates the Golden Square Mile’s historical district. Sophisticated, luminous and inviting, this environment showcases an authentic and refined stay. With never more than 12 rooms per floor, the hospitality experience is enhanced by luxurious and comforting loft style guestrooms. Towering the Mount-Royal Park, our 31 story hotel offers magnificent city views and an abundance of natural light. Honoring Montreal’s reputation for gastronomy, Chef Laurent Miot and his international brigade, treat guests on a daily basis to a variety of local flavors à la Montréal. Our French inspired Petit Opus Café and vibrant Alice Bar reflect the city’s rich diversity. A well known address within the business community, the hotel is best known for its dedicated and experienced personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing