We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Ranked #52 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghhamshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay - recommended”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights from 21st July. We managed to park immediately outside for 15 minutes and then left the car in the nearby car park recommended by the hotel.
Our room was up one flight of stairs, was large with a separate seating area and the bathroom was also a good size with separate whirlpool bath and shower. The aircon really only served the seating area and in such a large room it took some time to cool the part where the bed was.
There are lots of places to eat nearby but it is worth looking around in the side roads to find the best places and making reservations in high season. The area does suffer a bit from people begging and we were approached quite a few times by both young and old people with tragic stories and requests for help. Don't let this put you off but be prepared.
The metro station is a few minutes walk and can get you to all the sights and museums etc.
If you want to go up Mont Royal and look at the fantastic views over the city you can take the bus that stops behind the Mont Royal metro station (make sure you get in the right line/queue, as most people, including us, make the mistake of heading straight for the bus stop that returns people to the metro). We are glad we took the bus as it is a very long walk, otherwise. Even when the bus drops you off there is still a good walk to the Chalet (and viewing area) and then up to the top where the illuminated cross is located.
Breakfast at the hotel is in the basement with small tables and a buffet which is constantly replenished.
The hotel turned out to be a good choice thanks to all the other accurate and helpful reviews on trip advisor. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    176
    44
    8
    4
See reviews for
78
213
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the suite & took a package that included the Nordic baths at the Scandinave Spa in Old Montreal. It made for a delightful weekend getaway.

Our spa vouchers for a noon appointment (all arranged for us by the hotel) were ready for us when we arrived at the hotel around 10:45. Although our room wasn't ready (3:00 check-in), they were more than happy to store our luggage until later. Parking was suggested at the library a couple of blocks away. A reasonable cost of $12 for 24 hours.

When we returned after our spa appointment, check- in was friendly & easy. Everyone we dealt with spoke English. Our room was the farthest one on the third floor. A winding staircase up & then an interesting outdoor corridor across the back (kind of an interior courtyard?) of the building. No elevators. The young man at the front desk offered to help us with our luggage, but there were others waiting to check-in, so we declined. This wasn't a big deal for us, but might obviously be an issue for some.

The room was absolutely great. It was a suite, and really quite large considering the age of the hotel & what we're used to from such buildings. A small kitchen table & chairs with coffee maker & a bar size fridge were tucked in one corner near the air conditioner, which did a fine job cooling the room on a really hot weekend. A good size closet by the door, lots of floor space and then a couch, chair, corner cabinet with (a fairly small, older) TV. Even a murphy bed in the wall. There were double doors in to the huge bedroom - big comfy bed, desk, chair. No TV in the bedroom if that's important to you. The bathroom was huge. Big corner jet tub, separate glassed in shower. Lots of towels, and everything was clean. The decor was charming and appropriate for the style of hotel.

We had dinner reservations & needed to iron some clothes for the night out. There was no equipment for that in the room but minutes after a call downstairs, the young man from the front desk came up the 3 flights of stairs and cheerfully delivered an ironing board & an iron.

Breakfast is included and takes place in the basement level. They have little bistro tables set up indoors and also under an outdoor enclosed gazebo that sits discreetly adjacent to & just below the sidewalk. A decent selection of scrambled eggs, deli ham & turkey, fresh fruit, cereals, delectable pastries, juices and coffee or tea.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasta613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer, Right on St. Denis, this little place is run by friendly and helpful people. We were about a 15 minute walk at the most from the waterfront and right near many cafes and restaurants. Our small but lovely room (with wood flooring) opened onto an open but covered hallway with patio chairs. Nice breakfast included and they had a cute little off street veranda to eat at. Our only issue was that the A/C did not seem to work well at all, but we did visit during an extreme heat wave..

Room Tip: We were fine in our little ground-floor room but ask: I believe the higher up ones have additional a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent / no daily linens change policy if desired
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to go to Montreal at the last minute. We stopped at the tourist information plaza at the border crossing for help in finding a room. They said it was a very busy time because of several major events. They did locate a room at the Auberge le Jardin d'Antonie. What a pleasant find. The staff was very helpful and the location very busy and interesting in the Latin Quarter. Some very nice restaurants near by.
The room and entire hotel has been remodeled and is clean and fresh inside. It is an old building but very nice rooms and a wonderful breakfast included. I would recommend this hotel and would look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Book early. Limited room supply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divepatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a terrific place. Small (maybe 25 rooms) with a wonderful staff, great location, If your goal is clean, quiet, helpful lodging, this meets those tests. One of the owners, Marc, even helped us with our too-much luggage. The breakfast offering was excellent, and the overall experience was 5 stars. Priced right.

Room Tip: no elevator, so if that is an issue request the first floor. Rooms with brick walls were particular...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle containers were very visible. There appears to be sincere efforts to be environmentally proactive.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munroe Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and i went to Montreal for our 29th wedding anniversary. We have never been to Montreal before, it was one of the best experiences we've ever had . The hotel was wonderful, this is a small hotel on St Denis. It is located in a perfect place if you want to be close to everything, you can walk to the old Montreal, all the shopping and restaurants you could want. We brought our bicycles and were able to put them in the court yard which was convenient. There is parking very close and very affordable compared to other big cities. The staff was more them friendly and helpful, the breakfast at the hotel which is included, was fantastic I have never had a real croissant now I know what they should tast like they went above what you would expect at a hotrl at this price. We had a delux room that had 2 double beds ( that was all that was open for our dates) the room was nice clean kind of small but I like it like that. the bath was great shower and whirlpool tub, big enough for two. I would stay here again. And when I come back I will. An overall fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I've tried different hotels around the downtown core, and Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine has been the best so far. It's an annual golf trip with fun times in the evening, so the hotel doesn't need to be fancy, just clean and comfortable for what effectively is a nap overnight.

Firstly, if you're looking for something swanky, this isn't for you. Having said that the lobby and rooms are well appointed and match the century age of the hotel itself. The hotel is located in the very active Quartier Latin just east of the downtown core.

Traffic

On the weekend of my stay, a part of St. Denis was closed due to a street circus. The hotel staff sent me an email early in the week advising of the closure and where I could park briefly to unload my luggage and golf clubs. While slightly inconvenient, the heads up was greatly appreciated.

Parking

I understand there are a couple of options. Mine was a city parking lot approximately a five minute walk away. The great thing about this was that my spot was effectively reserved and for only $10 per day, I had in and out privileges. Parking on site is not a possibility given the age of the location, but this was very convenient.

The Room

My room was a larger version, though not overly large, with a double/queen bed and a sofa. The bed was very comfortable (foam mattress) and the temperature was perfect. The bathroom was the most modern feature of the room; it had a decent shower and a whirlpool bath, accented with a large candle. Plenty of space to get ready for a night on the town.

Breakfast

A continental style breakfast is included in the price and includes eggs, ham, fresh fruits, cheese, coffee, and decent bagels (St. Viateur?) and different breads and a good croissant (Premiere Moison). It's simple fare, and maybe a little short on choice, but absolutely delicious and more than enough to start your day. You can sit inside or at one of the four tables located outside on St. Denis. You can also sit on the patio out back.

Staff

The Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. They allowed me to keep my clubs in the back room rather than lugging them up the stairs to my room. Check in and check out were a breeze, and they always greeted me whenever I was coming or going. Any questions about the area or the city were handled wonderfully.

The Neighborhood

St. Denis is a vibrant street with a number of "terrasses" and restaurants (Boul. St. Laurent also has a number of clubs and patios; this is where a lot of the Montrealers hang out). It has the feel of a neighborhood and a definite character. The central Metro hub (Berri-UQAM) is only about 5-10 minutes away, with Vieux Montreal only slightly farther. It's a great walking city. Try Juliette et Chocolat just south of the hotel. Also the world famous Schwartz's is about a five to 10 minute drive away (The Main is also good for your smoked meat fix) and La Banquise is slightly farther north and they have the best poutine in the city and are open 24 hours.

I can't speak highly enough about my experience with Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine, and I will definitely be staying there next time I go to Montreal. Many thanks to the staff for all your fine work.

Room Tip: Indulge in a larger room, it's worth it. Stay on the second or third floor to avoid the street...
See more room tips
Green Features: As with most hotels now, Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine offers the choice of reusing your towels rather than replacing them all.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaxbhoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#48 of 165 in Montreal
541 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
278 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#38 of 165 in Montreal
390 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#75 of 165 in Montreal
268 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#49 of 165 in Montreal
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine

Property: Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Address: 2024 rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#27 Family Hotel in Montreal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#42 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel at home in our cozy 25-room 3 star hotel ideally located on the famous St. Denis Street in Downtown Montreal. We offer you comfortable rooms and a warm welcome since 1989.Included in room rates:WIFI and continental buffet breakfast. Parking option at 5 minute walk ($12/night). Unloading zone in front of the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Jardin d`Antoine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing