We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned after eight years, as good as we remembered” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de La Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #12 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Returned after eight years, as good as we remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We found the location to be great. We like to experience restaurants and neighborhoods that are less touristy, and this fits the bill perfectly.

The staff is great, the rooms are quite nice and the breakfast is a couple of notches above the continental you might get at a chain hotel. They have snacks and coffee available after breakfast and until midnight. We would basically make a small teatime treat out of the offerings, to tide us over until dinnertime.

Good location for kids as there are a couple of playgrounds in the park right across the street. There is a street Ave Mount Royal with lots of restaurants, mostly casual, some upscale. No English menus at almost any of them, which is a good sign for us.

We are a family of thee and we had a room toward the back of the hotel. No view to speak of, but much quieter. Eight years ago we had a room in the front, and even on the second floor there was a lot of traffic noise late at night and early in the morning.

Parking is a bit of a hassle. The hotel says they have parking, but they only have, I think, four spaces, and 25 rooms. The rest have to find street parking, which can be tricky, but not impossible. You had better learn to navigate the parking restrictions, many of the spaces are reserved for local residents, others you need to vacate during certain hours. But at least it is free. All of the downtown and Old Port hotels have stiff parking fees.

There is no elevator, and if you are on the third floor, it's quite a struggle with the bags. We didn't get any help with the bags, there did not seem to be anyone around when we arrived except the desk lady.

The staff was very helpful in other ways though. They help you get the parking figured out, get tickets or reservations and recommend local restaurants.

All in all, a good experience. This was our second visit, the first one was (obviously) good as well. The neighborhood seems to have gone downhill a bit. Found a lot of graffiti on the buildings, and a few layabouts in the alleys, which I don't remember from last time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    142
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
188
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We are a mature couple who travel frequently. We have two children who reside in Montreal, both in the district known as "Le Plateau", an area of Montreal delineated by St Catherine Street on the South, St Laurent on the West, St Denis on the East and Mont Royal on the North. This quadrant hosts a number of first class restaurants, including the vast majority of BYOB restaurants, and is always vibrant, filled with first class shops, eating places and bars. Auberge de la Fontaine is our preferred place to stay when visiting our daughters. The rooms are diverse. None is disappointing.The best is above-par. The price is right. This boutique hotel is evocative of 3 star hotels in Paris, but far more roomy. It is located right on the famous Parc De La Fontaine, so you can wander across the street and enjoy the wonderful diversity of the park, which is large and full of life.The morning breakfast is satisfying, with everything you might wish to eat, although the egg dishes are usually dried out, because they are kept under a warming plate. The staff are uniformly friendly and willing to please. When exploring this quadrant of Montreal, there are few places better to stay than this one. If you wish to enjoy downtown Montreal, or the old city, it is within easy access to the subway, but if you prefer to walk, then this is might not be the place to stay, as it is normally about a 30 or 40 minute walk to those areas. Bear in mind, however, that "Le Plateau" is now one of the most in- spots in Montreal. If you wish to park, the hotel has about 5 spaces at the back, but there is on-street parking immediately adjacent. Check with the front desk staff on arrival, and they will always be helpful in assisting you in finding parking. The hotel is not disabled friendly. Many of the rooms involve a walk up some stairs. In my opinion, if you are relatively healthy, you cannot find a better spot to stay than this one, if this is the area of Montreal you wish to establish as your base.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank colin-mckinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Away from thousands of tourists, located close to the park La Fontaine and many small shops and restaurants. Walking distance to Mount Royal and St. Denis. Great brekfest, friendly staff. If you are looking for luxury, find a different place. This Auberge is simple but charming.

Wonderful!

Room Tip: Room 21 has a wonderful terrace overlooking the park La Fontaine. Relax with a bottle of wine and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlatko12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The brides family rented the whole hotel and we had a wonderfully time. The staff went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. They worked with the family to incorporate all the little extras to make us really feel like we were in a home!

Room Tip: The from son the first floor are a little noisy in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My test of a hotel is whether, after leaving the location and having to return, deciding that I would return to THAT hotel. The Auberge passed that test but with some qualifications. First, the good. The staff was very friendly, tolerating my abysmal French, and offering help with the bags. In fact the owner came to the room and carried out bags down and refused a tip! How extraordinary is that?
The location is convenient - on rue Rachel, an easy east-west connector, and across from the beautiful Parc La Fontaine, but well away from the hurley-burley of St. Denis/St. Laurent/Serbrooke streets.
The room (at the back of the hotel) was sparkling clean and fresh smelling. The bathroom had the essentials, soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. readily and plentifully available and it was also very clean with very nice towels.
The breakfast was a very happy surprise with first rate coffee, fresh (sort of) croissants, breads, muffins, mini-quiches, fruit plate, and on and on; simply the best I have ever seen in a hotel of this level.
I would describe the public area decor as clean and functional; bright and cheery. The carpeting, though clean, had a rather a dull institute look on the stairs and halls so that entering the room is another pleasant surprise. Our room had no air conditioning, but a functioning window which kept the room cool. The down side of that were the smells that came in; exhaust, fresh cooking, new beer keg, depending upon the time of night/day. Finally, our room was said to have a king-size bed but fell short a size. Very comfortable, mind and with nice linens; just not a king size.
I will definitely return and recommend this hotel to others: great value for the price.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so pack light but the staff will help lift/carry the bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tutshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three days in mid-May and had a great time. After reading of all the great breakfast reviews and ability to use their kitchen to store your food (I always have leftovers and love to have tea and dessert at the hotel when I travel) I decided to split up my stay in downtown Montreal and this area, Plateau Monte Royale neighborhood. First off, the staff are wonderful - all very helpful with advice, directions and how to use the buses and trains. When I mentioned I would be visiting the Botanical Gardens and Bioderm, they also had tickets to each (discounted) that I could buy there and save time and money!
Additionally their morning breakfast buffet is simply wonderful and has something for everyone!
Fresh baked croissants, muffins, breads, two types of eggs offered each day, cereals, granola, fresh fruit salad, great coffee, juice, selections of teas, etc etc. Really, my biggest problem was not eating myself into a coma! Leftovers of these breakfast treats, breads, cookies, muffins etc are available in the kitchen during day and evening (my evening tea - decaffeinated, and cookies, muffins, available every evening). Really a wonderful addition to have available. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the "bixies" (Montreal's bike share program) available for rental directly across the hotel in the park. Biking Lane right in front of the park and just a great way to get around and see the entire neighborhood and reaching other areas! I would definitely visit again should I go back to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zydecojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitttsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful summer weekend in Montreal staying at the Auberge de La Fontaine. The location is perfect (right across from bike rental and on Rue Rachel with a bike lane!), the staff very accomodating, the health breakfast, and the room comfortable. While we toured Old Montreal, downtown,etc we liked the location of the Auberge given the neighborhood feel and view of the park. Also benefited from free parking! We rode our bikes downtown and took a $10.00 taxi ride back to the hotel. Loved grabbing a coffee in mid-afteroon with a cookie, and a tea before bedtime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#27 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Property: Auberge de La Fontaine
Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing