We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here to enjoy the true flavour of Montreal culture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #11 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay here to enjoy the true flavour of Montreal culture”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Look no further.
I could write a lot about this lovely hotel, but all the other raving reviews present it accurately. It is in between 2 metro stops still in downtown area, but not a chain. Approximately a 15-20 min walk, but worth it. Large city park across the street. Little bench outside to people watch.
The atmosphere is wonderful like the staff. 25 hour coffee, teas, crackers, cookies and muffins.
You enter your room with soft music playing and several artificial candles lit to welcome you. There is so much pride in their presentation of their lobby, kitchenette area for all to use and heat up items also if you like. Nice lighting and lovely breakfast presentation along with 2 hot items that change each day. Also, many healthy choices ...it is up to you how you choose. Croissants of course!
Bed was great and brick on the interior wall created a warm comfy feeling. Room is nicely appointed for relaxing a/o working at the desk. Free WIFI. Shower and tub. No coffee, but easy to go downstairs in the morning to get some. Sit in the lobby/eating area to enjoy tea and cookies or read the paper or magazines. Tables are pretty with centrepieces.
Lots of restaurants and stores in this area, so you have lots to do when you leave the downtown core. You feel like you experience the life of the locals!!!
Most definitely recommend this hotel and would be our only choice when we return.

Room Tip: Climb the stairs and ask for the third floor room with brick interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    142
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
188
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Not very fancy, but in a nice area of Montreal. As far as the rooms go....I would like to say that they are a bit overpriced, particularly for the weekend. At 198 dollars you really have a lot more choices. Unfortunately for us we were staying on a thursday too. I guess because of the Lonely Planets recommendations. The breakfast is good...with fresh croissants, Nice touches in a small scale.

If you are driving, BEWARE, they have only 3 parking spots (rather improvised and very unprotected) at the back alley behind the building. It is street parking and you are at risk of getting a ticket.

I would not advise to leave any valuable in the room, because they don't have the "card-key" system. It is an actual key. Who knows how many copies are floating around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorman223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We loved the hotel and the location. Breakfast was well done. Bixi bikes were very close and everything we wanted to do was within biking distance or we could bike to the metro and use it to get to our destination. The adjacent park was beautiful. We loved the surrounding neighborhood.

The only minor negative is parking is bit dicey; but it can be worked around and is worth the effort. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiushorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this B and B. the room was comfortable and there was a pleasant breakfast. Parking was on the street . The location was good, within walking distance of shops and eating places. There isn't an elevator so if stairs are an issue ,check room location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraMay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had heard good reviews for this hotel and decided to take a trip to Montreal and try it out. We lucked out and were upgraded from our Superior room to the Suite with the corner patio overlooking Rachel St and the Parc La Fontaine across the street. After hours of walking around Montreal (and a delicious authentic Algerian couscous dinner at Au Tarot a few blocks away) our evening was spent in the tub and on our private rooftop patio relaxing with a beverage and watching people go by.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and the decor was very tasteful. There is a fridge in the kitchen, where you can store items that need refrigeration (except for alcohol), and prepare snacks...
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the goal of which was to relax, and will certainly return.

My only caution would be to people with mobility issues; it doesn't appear to be very wheelchair friendly, stairs are narrow(ish) and steep so I wouldn't recommend staying there to those people.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a patio overlooking Rachel and the Park. Perfect for relaxing and people watching with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is an extremely enjoyable hotel near to restaurants, attractions, and bicycle paths. The location, across the street from the Parc le Fontaine, added a rural feel to this definitely urban environment. Service was excellent, the rooms were individually designed instead of being the standard cookie cutter big box hotel style, and the breakfats room was very hospitable. We will stay here in future visits to Montreal. BTW, there is no swimming pool but there did not seem to be an N/A option. It would have been excellent had there been one, though.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room for 3 nights, which overlooked the park and was wonderful. The last ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We found the location to be great. We like to experience restaurants and neighborhoods that are less touristy, and this fits the bill perfectly.

The staff is great, the rooms are quite nice and the breakfast is a couple of notches above the continental you might get at a chain hotel. They have snacks and coffee available after breakfast and until midnight. We would basically make a small teatime treat out of the offerings, to tide us over until dinnertime.

Good location for kids as there are a couple of playgrounds in the park right across the street. There is a street Ave Mount Royal with lots of restaurants, mostly casual, some upscale. No English menus at almost any of them, which is a good sign for us.

We are a family of thee and we had a room toward the back of the hotel. No view to speak of, but much quieter. Eight years ago we had a room in the front, and even on the second floor there was a lot of traffic noise late at night and early in the morning.

Parking is a bit of a hassle. The hotel says they have parking, but they only have, I think, four spaces, and 25 rooms. The rest have to find street parking, which can be tricky, but not impossible. You had better learn to navigate the parking restrictions, many of the spaces are reserved for local residents, others you need to vacate during certain hours. But at least it is free. All of the downtown and Old Port hotels have stiff parking fees.

There is no elevator, and if you are on the third floor, it's quite a struggle with the bags. We didn't get any help with the bags, there did not seem to be anyone around when we arrived except the desk lady.

The staff was very helpful in other ways though. They help you get the parking figured out, get tickets or reservations and recommend local restaurants.

All in all, a good experience. This was our second visit, the first one was (obviously) good as well. The neighborhood seems to have gone downhill a bit. Found a lot of graffiti on the buildings, and a few layabouts in the alleys, which I don't remember from last time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Property: Auberge de La Fontaine
Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing