We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #11 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just returned from Montreal, our 4th stay at Auberge de La Fontaine and were again pleased by everything at the hotel. Clean, comfortable and friendly, with a very nice breakfast buffet. A room at the back is quieter, but the view of the park across Rue Rachel is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccandbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    143
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
83
188
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The best hotel in Montreal. The location could not be better (across the street from a gorgeous park, and row of rental bikes, and surrounded by fantastic bistros and bakeries), and the staff could not be friendlier. Super comfy beds too. We were a large group with an elderly relative who can't walk well. We were welcome to bring in take-out food from the surrounding restaurants, take over the dining room area, and use the inn's dishes, and when we tried to wash our dishes a staff member told us with the sweetest smile that we were on vacation and they would take care of it. Old fashioned hospitality is alive and well here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire04843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie L, General Manager at Auberge de La Fontaine, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you and your group have had a great time at our Auberge. Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I appreciated the friendly, helpful staff to get us acquainted to a new city for us. We walked the 30 minutes from the hotel into the old city, and totally loved the sights of every street we traversed. Our room, #10, was very quiet. Even though it was up two, steep flights of stairs and way at the back and no view, we would still choose it. Great bed. Very peaceful. Chair or a couch to sit and read. Desk to write at. Decor not great, but we didn't mind. Lovely soaking tub.

Room Tip: For comfort and quiet, choose #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The small hotel lies on the north end of the Parc de la Fontaine. It is small and friendly with small and comfortable rooms. It has been renovated recently and is stylish. Included with the room is a very nice breakfast with fresh foods, not just the donut and coffee routine. Their kitchen is always open for coffee, tea, and snacks.

Rooms are not cheap, especially when the taxes are applied (about 17%), but many will find the personal atmosphere worth a small premium. Parking is a bit tricky, as the hotel only has room for 3 cars. On street parking is available but complicated by municipal restrictions. There is good bus service to the center city and about a 10 minute walk to the Metro.

Room Tip: Rooms differ in size and price. Check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Awesome location being across from park, walking, and Bixibike stations. Handy to get to all areas ... old town/old port/little Italy/transit. That being said, even though my wife and I are 60'ish, we used the Bixibike system a ton due to the great weather, convenience, low cost, and exercise involved. Just a lovely way to get around once we were sued to the drill off bike pick up and drop off. Auberge was very good. We had asked for a very quiet room, and were obliged with #25. Morning breakfasts good. Would definitely utilize this facility again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This little bed & breakfast was clean, accommodating and comfortable. The staff was wonderful! And the breakfast was enormous and wonderful. They had such a variety of different things. If you're looking for a cultural experience this is the place to stay. If you're looking for the typical American stay you probably don't even belong in Montréal. I left my heart here when I left so I knew I would come back to get it. The jacuzzi suite is the best!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbone7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie L, General Manager at Auberge de La Fontaine, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that your stay at our Auberge was very pleasant one. Thank you for your kind comments!

The Auberge de La Fontaine staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our son and his girl friend have stayed here 6 years ago and had enjoyed the place.
His recommendation was spot on. We liked the place which offered homely feelings, nice breakfast and availability of light snacks and tea, coffee any time.
Staff was very helpful. Sometimes free parking can be a challenge, though paid parking is available on the near by street .
Would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: Our room was in the first floor, so it was easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM26105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
242 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,041 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Property: Auberge de La Fontaine
Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing