We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LaFontaine stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #13 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although a bit noisy because of traffic, La Fontaine provided a impeccable service and atmosphere.Staff is open and friendly, rooms are clean and cozy, breakfast is tasty and delicious. The hot chocolate is delightful in the morining

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this charming little B&B which is quite conveniently located on the NW edge of La Fontaine Park. The centre of the city is not far away and buses are easily accessible. The Mont-Royal metro station however is almost a 1km walk away. Our room was small but spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and with a perfectly adequate en-suite bathroom. There is free WiFi. Staff are pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfast caters to all tastes and appetites.

Overall, we had no complaints at all and thought this place was great value for money. Note though, the building has no lift/elevator and some rooms are 2 flights up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Montreal is my favorite city and The Auberge de la Fontaine is my favorite place to stay. I love the rooms, particularly when I have had a terrace or balcony overlooking the park. The breakfast is always great and well presented. My wife and I are bicyclists and having the inn sit on one of the main bicycle arteries is fantastic. We stayed 3 days and never got in our car til it was time to leave. We loved walking about the Plateau, the Latin Quarter and visiting the Biodome.
The Metro is there to visit much of the city. A bit of a walk but what better way to see Montreal than to walk? The staff of the inn are uniformly courteous and helpful. While this is the peak, I can honestly say that every visit I have made to Canada over the years has been a trip to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raptorride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie L, General Manager at Auberge de La Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are very pleased to read your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to greet you again during your next trip to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Cozy, clean, helpful staff, great breakfast, well appointed rooms, lots of stairs,cookies, beer and wine available, nice location on the park, a bit of a trek into downtown or subway. ain't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Remember that many of the rooms are up several steep stairwells,parking is not guaranteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ticonderoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just returned from Montreal, our 4th stay at Auberge de La Fontaine and were again pleased by everything at the hotel. Clean, comfortable and friendly, with a very nice breakfast buffet. A room at the back is quieter, but the view of the park across Rue Rachel is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccandbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The best hotel in Montreal. The location could not be better (across the street from a gorgeous park, and row of rental bikes, and surrounded by fantastic bistros and bakeries), and the staff could not be friendlier. Super comfy beds too. We were a large group with an elderly relative who can't walk well. We were welcome to bring in take-out food from the surrounding restaurants, take over the dining room area, and use the inn's dishes, and when we tried to wash our dishes a staff member told us with the sweetest smile that we were on vacation and they would take care of it. Old fashioned hospitality is alive and well here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire04843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie L, General Manager at Auberge de La Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted that you and your group have had a great time at our Auberge. Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I appreciated the friendly, helpful staff to get us acquainted to a new city for us. We walked the 30 minutes from the hotel into the old city, and totally loved the sights of every street we traversed. Our room, #10, was very quiet. Even though it was up two, steep flights of stairs and way at the back and no view, we would still choose it. Great bed. Very peaceful. Chair or a couch to sit and read. Desk to write at. Decor not great, but we didn't mind. Lovely soaking tub.

Room Tip: For comfort and quiet, choose #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,414 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 144 in Montreal
373 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 144 in Montreal
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £78 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing