We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #11 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So surprised”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have stayed several times at the Auberge de la Fontaine. The staff has always been kind, flexible, and helpful. The location is great and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is delicious. This last visit two weeks ago was a bit upsetting, however. There is a new centralized airconditioning system that makes it impossible to regulate your own room temperature. We and our friends in the next room got no sleep because the room was too hot at night and we couldn't open the windows. In addition, when we said that we would probably have breakfast at around 10 we were told that there wouldn't be much left (even though breakfast goes until 10:30). There were a few other issues but, suffice it to say, that we were disappointed and quite surprised based on our great past experiences. We had paid $272/room.They urge their clients to go on social media to talk about their experiences which I was reluctant to do. We did write to the management but have not heard back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    142
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
188
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our second floor room was quite comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts, which were included, and location across the street from a park. The park is well worth walking through and seemed constantly abuzz with picnics, discussion groups, sporting activities, yoga, and walkers. If we return to Montreal, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: With no elevator second floor rooms might pose a challenge for those out of shape. We had no problem...
See more room tips
Green Features: Unlike many hotels which post water saving measures such as hanging up a towel for reuse and then washing it anyway, La Fontaine respected our desires.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaultanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent 5 nights here in this quaint little hotel in the residential area of the Plateau section. The staff were warm and helpful in this mostly French area. My sister had a very small but nice room, and my husband and I had a larger room, but only 1 tiny window making it quite dark even during the day. Bathrooms were clean but no place to put toiletries. Loved the location: across the street from the Parc Fontaine - which we walked through several times during our relaxation times. There's a very nice breakfast buffet each morning, and snacks available in a small kitchen area. Even a communal frig where you can label and reheat your leftovers from restaurants. We all agreed we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you aren't comfortable with long staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This small Inn is very charming and in a lovely neighbourhood. We had a newly renovated room with two large windows and it was very spacious and private. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Parc Fontaine is right across the street and the restaurant scene in the area is great. Perfect spot if you want to explore the Plateau area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Despite the road works taking place immediately outside the front door, the Auberge de la Fontaine was still a nice find for three friends travelling together. On the plus side, there was free cheese and crackers, and excellent pate, provided each evening, and the included buffet breakfasts were very good. On the con side, there are no rooms with twin beds, so we each needed a separate room which added to the expense of our vacation. The location is on the edge of Parc La Fontaine and within easy walking distance of many good bistros and the Metro.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quiet, and room 2 on the lower floor is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Perfect small hotel in the Plateau, directly across the street from the lively Parc Fontaine, walkable to Mont Royal Metro station, easy going and hip neighborhood w/good cafes, bars, & coffee shops. On the bus line to the Mountain. Nice breakfasts, vegetarian friendly. Loved this place, will return!

Room Tip: Very steep stairwell to 2nd and 3rd floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are environmentally conscious - option to retain your towels, have bike parking, kitchen uses glassware rather than plastic. Recycling bins in rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I enjoy riding bikes (leisurely, nothing strenuous) and brought our bikes when we visited Montreal. We were pleasantly surprised to fine a major bike path on Rachel street in front of the hotel, and we were able to ride to Mount Royal in one direction and the botanical garden in the other, plus connect to bike routes to get to the Museum of Fine Arts and other spots in the city. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful, allowing us to store our bikes in the conference room because no meetings were scheduled during our visit. The breakfast was good and we were able to get suggestions from other hotel guests regarding restaurants and activities. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Property: Auberge de La Fontaine
Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing