We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most unique hotel experiences ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Pierre du Calvet
Ranked #29 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“One of the most unique hotel experiences ever”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are a fan of non chain, unique and character filled hotels, consider booking this hotel. Part restaurant, part charming Inn, this is a perfect place to enjoy a few days in the Old Town of Montreal. I had Room #10 and felt like a Prince. What a grand and memorable room.

Yes, the staff could have given more information on the area, yes, the room could have been cleaner, yes breakfast could have been better but try this for the ambiance and character.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely and very quiet despite a lot of foot traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    33
    11
    12
    7
See reviews for
12
112
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel and the room left me speechless -- with incredible character and charm -- this is one 'house' that has aged well! Situated in Old Montréal, it is a prime location to wander to and from with ease. I cannot wait to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gerastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a prime corner of Rue Bonsecours in Old Port Montreal is this gem property. The original home built in 1725. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, kind and accommodating. We loved the feel of stepping back in time which included a gourmet selection of appetizers and main course in the on-site restaurant - Les Filles du Roy. They baked a small cake for my husband's birthday and had it waiting in our room when we returned from Cirque du Soleil which was a short walk away - less than 10 minutes! Wonderful nights sleep and lovely petite breakfast. Great coffee!!! We will stay here again!

Room Tip: The floors can be a bit squeaky (albeit well carpeted), so I'm glad we had the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTDANCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Its hard not to have a good time in the Old Port of Montreal, but the entire experience can be crowned off by staying in this very old, period piece, authentic hotel. The rooms are beautiful, filled with ornate furniture. They are also very comfortable, with windows that open, flat screened tv, fireplace, and modern bathrooms. The restaurant, and the lobby rooms are also lovely and the parrots are a hoot.
The location is prime with the old Seaman's Church across the street, as well as the Bonsecours Market. Lots of restaurants and art galleries to visit as well. The owners and staff are lovely - friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I usually don't splurge in Montreal, but this time we decided to and it was worth it. The inn itself is gorgeous, the rooms are stunning, the restaurant is excellent, the people are very friendly and helpful. You're in the midst of the Old Port, and you can walk to Chinatown, the Latin Quarter, and other nearby attractions. It's also very close to transit (you can easily walk to the bus that goes to the airport).

This isn't an inexpensive place, but it's worth what you pay.

Room Tip: You can use their web site to preview available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of days. I loved it. Its so quite and gives u feel of victorian age. The customer service is excellent. On the downside though is the wifi access. Its nt good at all bt nt bad enough to deter me to return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germanmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in November 2013. The hotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal. It is housed in a 300 year old building on a cobblestone street across from a picturesque church. Conveniently, there is a hotel owned parking lot next door that is complimentary for hotel guests.

The rooms are really something else. Wood beam ceilings, fireplaces, plush furniture, four posted bed. Felt like I was staying in Louis XIV's country estate. Would I decorate my house like this? Heck no. But for a weekend? Pretty awesome.

The service was average, not outstanding. Had to wait a bit to check in and check out. Certainly not the friendliest staff I've ever interacted with, but not particularly rude either. Just rather unmotivated.

A little knock on this place for the complimentary continental breakfast. Service was slow (one waiter for the whole dining room). Consisted of coffee, juice, toast and a kind of sad fruit salad. Needless to say, we had some early lunches on this trip.

Over all pretty high marks. Very romantic spotiI a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonsecours
Auberge Bonsecours
#39 of 144 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#3 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Pierre du Calvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Pierre du Calvet

Property: La Maison Pierre du Calvet
Address: 405 rue Bonsecours, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Pierre du Calvet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison Pierre du Calvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Pierre Du Calvet Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing