We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Pierre du Calvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison Pierre du Calvet
Ranked #28 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This the most amazing, historic hotel. Built in 1725, Benjamin Franklin stayed in this house for 10 days in 1775, during his failed attempt to entice the Canadians to join the American Revolution. Today, the combination of three houses and a warehouse a few hundred feet from the St. Lawrence River in Old Montreal make up this incredible 9-room family-run, boutique hotel with very large rooms (ours had a fireplace) and top-rated restaurant. Decorated with antiques, majestic four-poster beds, leather couches and Oriental rugs throughout, it's a treasure. The atrium houses the owners' parrots and doves, and the open-air terrace surrounded by 40-foot tall rock walls provide a lovely place for the free continental breakfast or sipping wine in the evenings. Everywhere you look, there is something of interest, from photos, paintings and furnishing to books. One of the owners sculpts in bronze, so be sure to visit his "gallery" behind the restaurant. The three third-floor rooms have access to a shared terrace that overlooks the rooftop and downstairs terrace. The staff, from the housekeeper to the bartender, chefs, waiters, front desk staff and owners, are friendly and fun to visit with. You can tell they enjoy working there. Breakfast is simple, but delicious and filling: a carafe of coffee (or tea), a pitcher of fresh orange juice, a bowl of diced fruit, toast and fresh baked muffins all served to you in the formal dining room or on the terrace. Because it's in the old part of the city, it's easy to walk to many of the museums, historical churches and sites, restaurants, gift shops and galleries as well as the Old Port, China Town and the Latin Quarter. It's about a 10-minute walk to the closest Metro station, which will take you to the Botanical Gardens, Olympic Park, Mont Royal, and a slew of other places. Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat. And, honestly, if you don't book a room here be sure to stop by and walk around...perhaps order a glass of wine? It's right across the street from the "Sailor's" Church and museum.

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms are excellent. The three 3rd floor rooms have access to a shared terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebHerrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    33
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
11
110
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is situated in old part of the town and is also very old by itself too. The decoration imitates the Louis the XVII era- and does it very well. The rooms are spacious with many details of the time. One must however take into notice that there is no elevator in the hotel. One funny detail is parrots close to reception and terrace. One or two of them can even speak. Very good and hospitable service, thou Wi-Fi was working only occasionally. The beakfast is also "French" meaning toast, jam, muffin, coffee AND a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salade. That was some bonus in fairly limited breafast. The hotel is worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrivassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I walked past this place 5 years five years ago on my first trip to Montreal. I knew immediately that I would have to stay here next time I was in town and made a note of the name and location.
Fortunately, I had a conference in Montreal the past few days and the best decision I ever made was to stay here instead of the conference hotel. The service was amazing, the location idyllic, my room was to die for (I actually felt like a princess staying there), the restaurant was perfect. This place is the oldest b and b / chateau in Montreal, and is hands down the most unique lodging experience I have ever had in North America. My only disappointment was that my husband wasn't with me (I was there solo on business), as it's quite a romantic destination. In any case, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are a fan of non chain, unique and character filled hotels, consider booking this hotel. Part restaurant, part charming Inn, this is a perfect place to enjoy a few days in the Old Town of Montreal. I had Room #10 and felt like a Prince. What a grand and memorable room.

Yes, the staff could have given more information on the area, yes, the room could have been cleaner, yes breakfast could have been better but try this for the ambiance and character.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely and very quiet despite a lot of foot traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel and the room left me speechless -- with incredible character and charm -- this is one 'house' that has aged well! Situated in Old Montréal, it is a prime location to wander to and from with ease. I cannot wait to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gerastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a prime corner of Rue Bonsecours in Old Port Montreal is this gem property. The original home built in 1725. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, kind and accommodating. We loved the feel of stepping back in time which included a gourmet selection of appetizers and main course in the on-site restaurant - Les Filles du Roy. They baked a small cake for my husband's birthday and had it waiting in our room when we returned from Cirque du Soleil which was a short walk away - less than 10 minutes! Wonderful nights sleep and lovely petite breakfast. Great coffee!!! We will stay here again!

Room Tip: The floors can be a bit squeaky (albeit well carpeted), so I'm glad we had the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTDANCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Its hard not to have a good time in the Old Port of Montreal, but the entire experience can be crowned off by staying in this very old, period piece, authentic hotel. The rooms are beautiful, filled with ornate furniture. They are also very comfortable, with windows that open, flat screened tv, fireplace, and modern bathrooms. The restaurant, and the lobby rooms are also lovely and the parrots are a hoot.
The location is prime with the old Seaman's Church across the street, as well as the Bonsecours Market. Lots of restaurants and art galleries to visit as well. The owners and staff are lovely - friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#4 of 92 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonsecours
Auberge Bonsecours
#38 of 144 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Pierre du Calvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Pierre du Calvet

Property: La Maison Pierre du Calvet
Address: 405 rue Bonsecours, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Pierre du Calvet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Pierre du Calvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Pierre Du Calvet Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing