We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of little extras!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of little extras!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our third time in this hotel. Always very happy. The rooms are modern and design and the bed is amazing. The bathroom has the Molton-Brown products which we love. In the lobby you can serve yourself free coffee, tea, hot chocolate all day long. And you can sit next to the fire The concierge is very helpful and enthusiastic. The bellboys are amazing and do much more than their job. They even fixed our bike-rack on the roof of our car. The waitresses at break-fast are very kind and you get free papers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    171
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
78
259
38
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Traveled to Montreal for the first time back in January for work - holy h*ll was it cold. My first experience when I walked into their lobby - a warm smile and a free cup of hot cocoa...perfection.

Overall, I'll say this type of hotel is unlike the usual "Marriott experience" - you can tell they make an extra effort to stand out...which is why I consider this a boutique hotel (I think they do too?). Didn't get a chance to enjoy the breakfast, but I definitely snagged a couple apples from the elevator bay (thanks!) on my way to the office.

Also - the room service was exceptional. One of the best burgers (typical American, I know) I've had in a long time, kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom_from_CLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear dom_from_CLE,

Thank you very much for the great review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed our Boutique experience. We work really hard in making sure that every guest has a great time while staying with us. You might be traveling on business or just enjoying personal town in our great city... we will make sure your stay is memorable. I am a little sad that you did not get a chance to try our amazing breakfast. I think you should use that as a real good excuse to come back and visit us.

We hope to see you very soon!

Sincerely,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Had our annual boys trip to Montreal for Habs game and stayed here for 2 nights. I stayed at Germain in Toronto last month and enjoyed it so much we opted for this hotel over Sofitel is year. We were no disappointed. The rooms are incredible with everything you could ever imagine for comfort. The staff were all incredible - very professional and friendly. The continental breakfast was superb and the complimentary lattes and coffees in lobby are a nice touch. I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Jimmyytravel,

Thank you for the very nice review! We are pleased to guest traveling for special occasions. We are glad that the Germain Hotels are your new favorite boutique hotels across Canada. We are certainly looking forward in welcoming you in one our hotel for many more memorable trips.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us.

Sincerely,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st john's
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed at hotel Germain for 2 nights while taking a course at the conference center next door (Centre Mont Royal). The hotel is excellent--everything from service at the front desk to an impressive "continental breakfast" spread (including Montreal bagels, meats, cheese, eggs, bread pudding, pastries, baking, bread pudding, juice, fruit, yogurt). The rooms are very different than a normal hotel room--in a good way! The glass shower is very cool, the lighting and plug ins at the desk--very functional. The gym was a good temperature with new equipment. All around a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Alexandra S,

Thank you very much for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The variety of choices in our Deluxe Continental Breakfast is simply amazing! We are happy that our proximity to the Centre Mont Royal gave your more time to enjoy a little bit more of the great city we live in.

Sincerely,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The minute you walk into the lobby of this hotel, you know you have entered the perfect place. The lobby is not one of those ridiculous over-sized, over-designed lobbies; it is a human-sized, elegant, and warm lobby. But more importantly, the staff is the best you can find. They don’t have to put their noses into the computer to know who you are. They just recognize you. They are warm, nice, outgoing, and efficient. The restaurant--Laurie Raphaël - Restaurant-Boutique--is excellent, and the food, very creative. As for the rooms, they are very spacious with high ceilings, and are extremely well designed, warm, and also very efficient. The bed is very comfortable and the desk totally efficient, as it is fitted out with 5 outlets in order to accommodate all of your electronic equipment. This is the best hotel I have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bourgph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Alexandre_Paquet, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Bourgph,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us: the comfort of our rooms, the ambience, the decor, as well as our restaurant Le Laurie-Raphaël... and most importantly, our staff member. Our team works constantly to offer an amazing Germain experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome into our home. We are look forward to welcome you again in the very near future.

Au sincère plaisir,

Jacques-Alexandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, on
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

What stands out to me the most of this hotel is the service! i find service can really make or break an experience. everyone- from the gentlemen opening the door and getting the valet to the front desk was friendly, very helpful and just went over and beyond expectations! it is a smaller boutique hotel which we liked - the location was great just a few steps and you are in the heart of downtown Montreal. the foyer had a nice fire place and a cappacino machine that was a nice touch that was complimentary for guests- me being a latte addict it worked out perfectly.
The music and furnishings were modern but tasteful. It had just such a nice feeling entering the hotel- very relaxing. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was very large - very clean and bed and pillows were very comfortable. the only thing that wasn't amazing was the view but perhaps it was just the room we had and the higher up you go.
we will definately go back and stay there everytime we go to Montreal-

Room Tip: higher up-
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Alexandre_Paquet, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Celina,
Thank you for taking to time to write about our wonderful services. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed having your latte by the beautiful foyer and appreciated the comfort of the room. Do not hesitate to mention that you would like to have a city view on your upcoming reservation.

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Le Germain Montreal.

Sincerely,

Jacques-Alexandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at Le Germain Montreal many times (close to 10 times) while traveling on business. The location in downtown Montreal is fantastic, access to anything you need is just steps away - shopping, restaurants, etc.

I love the small, boutique feel to this hotel. It's nice that the lobby isn't huge, and the elevators are just steps away from the front door so it doesn't take long to get to your room at all. The hotel is very tastefully decorated - contemporary decor, always fresh flowers throughout. A nice touch was also having a bowl of apples on every floor's elevator lobby. Nice for when you need a quick snack!

The rooms are beautiful, and having stayed here 10 times I experienced a variety of different rooms. I stayed in a King suite every time, however the layout varies room to room. The best rooms were corner suites, as the room is set back far from the lobby therefore providing the best privacy. The rooms I liked the least were those right off the elevators, sometimes you could hear the elevator doors closing due to the room's proximity to the elevators.

Beds are extremely comfortable, so comfortable I have actually ordered the pillows from the Le Germain online store. Probably the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced in a hotel. Bathrooms are fabulous ... nice big shower with rain shower head, gorgeous vanity/sink, and nice lighting. Also enjoy the turn down service at night.

Lastly, the included breakfast is AMAZING. Hands down the best breakfast I have experienced at a hotel, for being included. This is not your typical continental breakfast. Of course you can get the regular fare - toast, cereal, fruit ... but in addition to that you can get chocolate croissants, crepes, quiche, poached eggs, fresh juices, cappuccino, and lattes. The area that breakfast is served is in a very gorgeous room as well.

Although I traveled here on business, the next time I come to Montreal for personal reasons I will definitely be booking here. as well For the price it is a fantastic hotel, in a great location with very good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ains19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear ains19,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Germain Experience with us. We are delighted to have repeat customers that are completely satisfied time after time. It’s always a pleasure to have you stay into our home and we try to make you feel as home as possible.

We are look forward to welcome you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Property: Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing