We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #46 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hilton Hotel Bonaventure. From the outside, the hotel is a bit off-putting with it's 1960s brutilist architecture and the fact you have to enter an elevator lobby and ride up several stories to the main lobby. Once you get there however, the public spaces and rooms are lovely and look like they have been refurburshied in the last few years. My room was quite large with a marble bathroom and large desk for working. The staff were friendly and very efficient. You have the option of checking out without having to visit the front desk, they slip your invoice under the door the night before. Food at my event was quite good.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank JoeinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights - it is a great location for all the transport links , Subway, Via Rail , Airport bus etc accessible through the network of underground walkways that are a feature of Montreal and great when it is wet and or cold.

You would never choose this hotel if you saw it from the outside as it is part of a 60/70's grey architecture that has very little appeal.

Interior of the Hotel has been brightened up by nice artwork and there is a warm outdoor pool around the interior courtyard that adds to it attractiveness.

As I am a HHonours member I made use of the Executive Lounge which offerred very freindly service and nice evening snacks although you do have to pay for Alcohol through an honour system.

Rooms are of a decent size and have Coffee Makers with nice Lavazza Coffee.

Overall the staff were freindly and granted me a late check out when my flight was delayed.

A nice hotel to stay in downtown Montreal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear 747/400:
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hilton Montreal Bonaventure is a gem amongst the downtown hotels and we are certainly pleased when a new guest is excited to stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon.!
Loiuis-Robert Handfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We weren't supposed to stay here as we are reward members with Marriott. After two nights of a horrible stay at the Chateau Champlain we moved ot the Hilton for our last night. We should have done this sooner. The rooms were a nice size, the room was extremely quiet and the hotel pool is really different. The only thing I would say is the beds seemed a little smaller than the Marriott and it was a little difficult sharing a bed even with my small 10 year old. But I would still stay there again. The pool is an outdoor heated pool, you access it from the inside of the hotel and you swim to the outside so you can swim year round.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jam05Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Jam5Ontario:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you were able to experience our facilities and enjoy our pool. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and rest assured we equally enjoyed serving you. We hope you come back soon.

Louis-Robert Handfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Located central and downtown, the staff are efficient and friendly, the beds firm, plenty of pillows and extra blankets in the room, big, heavy bath robe provided as well as coffee, creamers and tea bags with the coffee maker. The room cleaning could have been better as it was obvious that it wasn't vacuumed everyday. I left a bit of lint from my new socks on the carpet that remained for two days. The hotel does have a heated outdoor pool which I unfortunately did not have the time to appreciate.

The restaurant - Service was excruciatingly slow. The fries were very well done and the steak sandwich perfect the first day but the second, I was surprised that the waiter dared serve it. It was obviously burnt - and one bite showed the steak over done as well. I sent it back and got a better sandwich but as I was there for a conference, I really don't have the time to linger over lunch. The chef also has a very heavy hand with the salt - so ask for low salt on everything. A pity that cannot be done with the soup.

The hotel however, is connected to the underground, and there are breakfast places as well as a food court for quick bites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments on the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, following your recent stay with us. Rest assured your remarks have been addressed. We value your opinion and deeply care about the input of our guests.

On a happy note, we were delighted to read your rewarding review on the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff members which will be shared with them.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This property is well located for business in central Montreal, but a $10 taxi ride to Old Montreal and it's restaurants/attractions.

The hotel is located on the top floor of a commercial building, so you enter on the ground floor and then elevator up to the Lobby and room access. Be advised if you have any mobility issues, this IS NOT the hotel for you. ALL of the sleeping rooms are either up or down a set of 8 shallow stairs with no guest elevator access.

The rooms were very conventional business hotel rooms in layout and amenities. I liked the bed, which was very soft, but not everyone likes a very soft mattress. Lobby restaurant and bar were nice with a good, relaxed vibe - breakfast restaurant was outrageously expensive.

Room Tip: Again, if you have mobility issues - check with the hotel to see how they would accommodate you. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mysticyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Mysticyat –
Thank you very much for your review of our property and for your comment on it being well centrally located.. The rooftop lobby is definitely different which sets us apart from other hotels. Indeed, our unique structure does not allow every room to be accessible but we do have plenty to choose from for guests in need of one. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Montreal area.

Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure in February of 2012 for a work-related conference. This hotel is laid out somewhat oddly, with the lobby itself being several floors up and the hotel rooms only occupying a few floors. I had a city view that was nothing impressive. The hotel has an outdoor, rooftop pool that looked great – but you can see it from the lobby, making it not a great place to go and swim when you're here with a bunch of people that you work with.

There were two minor things that bothered me during my stay at this Hilton. When the hotel was busy you often had to wait in line to get down via the elevator to the ground floor. The service at the bar and restaurant at the hotel during lunch was exceedingly slow, even after we had told the waitstaff that we had a meeting to get to. While I didn't have a room in the executive floor, everyone raved about the executive lounge and the breakfast there. Wi-fi internet access was slow at times and I often had calls dropped when I was on Skype with my family when calling from the room. Overall, an average hotel, I'm sure there are better in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear cafegrl - Thank you for your review of our hotel. We definitely appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience over our elevators and slow bar/restaurant service during the conference. Our rooftop lobby and pool are definitely different from other hotels but we feel that is something that sets us apart from the other hotels. We were pleased to learn you heard positive comments on our executive lounge! Next time you are here, check out our upgrade availability to the Executive lounge, this may help offset some of the costs for breakfast and light snacks in the evening. We do hope you will consider us again should you find yourself back in Montreal.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Comfortable large rooms in the middle of the city. Open the window and what would you expect to see? A DUCK!! A planted woodland with a stream and duck pond set the tone for a relaxing stay. The roof top (30TH) outdoor pool is amazing in the winter. Up grade for the lounge alone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DashYul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 166 in Montreal
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 166 in Montreal
2,800 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Montreal
#22 Family Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £92 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing