We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasant staff, no surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very pleasant staff, no surprises”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The location is great for business and is close to the trendy galeries like the Fonderie Darling, the activities on Place des Arts, Chinatown and the quaint streets of Old Montreal. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, from the lifeguard to the concierge to housekeeping to reception, where I saw a manager efficiently assist a couple who'd left a passport in their previous hotel before joking with me about our shared first name. Housekeeping was also very good about locating and returning something I'd left in the room after I checked out.

The gym was adequate, the pool looked nice, though its position outside the reception windows was a bit odd. In fact, the layout of the hotel spread out pretty much in a single layer the length of a city block is a little labyrinthine, with a fair amount of walking to get from one place to the other. In its architecture (concrete and glassed-in green terraces) is very much a reflection of a lot of Montreal's boom between Expo 67 and the Olympics in 76, giving it a slightly dated feel, rather than the Austin Powers cool it might have once had.

My standard room was a decent size. Again, no bells or whistles, just staightforward, clean, and sufficient.

For my taste, I'd pick something with a little more personality, but it's a chain and for the convenience of a chain it was absolutely fine. No complaints here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    839
    339
    107
    68
See reviews for
469
578
94
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

The hotel is located in the center of downtown Montreal just across the street from a Metro station and within walking distance of the Art museum, shopping on St. Catherine street and Old Town Montreal. The hotel property is surrounded by gardens, water features, and offers a great pool and well equipped gym so it feels almost like a resort in the middle of the city. The concierge offered many good suggestions of moderately priced restaurants in the area that we wouldn't have found without his suggestion.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-DCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We had an excellent time at the Hilton! It was our first time visiting Montreal and the Front Desk (can't remember his name) and the Concierge (Roberto) was friendly, helpful and made a difference with our stay. They made reservations for us , and printed directions to Quebec City for the day. Room Service was fast and not as outrageous as I thought it would be.
Some times you can hear people opening and closing their doors in the hall way, but that is the extent of the noise. It didn't realy bother us since we were tired and had no problems sleeping.
Our hotel rooms were clean, spacious and newly renovated. The shower head was nice and strong and the beds were super comfortable. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.
There was an outdoor heated pool and the life gaurd was kinda cute to look at. ;D
In the morning, there is a timmy's across the street, along with a Mcdonalds, and food court from the VIA rail station.
The Hilton is in the heart of downtown Montreal, within walking distance of St. Catherines and Centre street...although it's better to take a $8 taxi ride to centre street if you're in heels. =)
I would recommend and stay at the hilton again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MississaugaGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

On a whim of a vacation that quite literally started out with a conversation like? "wanna go somewhere this weekend:" we ended up in Montreal Quebec (and my first trip out of province.)
With no credit cards or reservations we decided to go and see what we could come up with; unfortunately this idea landed us at the 'bonaventure'; We were told that there was a convention going on that day; so of course this meant that the our room was right by the convention rooms where the events were still going on; bagpipes at 8:00 at night and all.
The room was basic; two queen beds, carpet, TV, a view of the city and a ensuite bathroom. So not worth the price of what we had to pay for the hotel room.
When asked if there was anything we could recommend since we were out of town the girl at the front desk said "everyone was out of town; and she didn't have time to discuss trivial matters." the hotel lobby was dead; what else did she have to do?
At one point during the night my fiancee lost his cell phone in the cab; and after playing tag with a few phone companies and his cell phone to try and find it; the cab driver said that he would drop it off for us -- After a trip to the front desk five minutes later we asked the same woman if anyone dropped a cell phone off from outside. She told us no. and we waited for the cab drive outside thinking that we'd see him. After a twenty minute wait my fiancee went back to the front desk and talked to a very sweet man and went "are you sure no one dropped off a cell phone?" he looked behind the desk and said "the only phone we have is this one. It was dropped off 2 minutes before your friend asked." we were so upset with our stay; that we actually left hotels. since we were only there for two hours we managed to get a full refund.
I don't know if we just went on a bad day, or what, but we wouldn't stay again. In fact we stayed at another hotel and they were so disgusted with the service we told them about they gave us a suite at the Bonaventure's price for a basic room.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanenite1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonfollow-up, Executive Assistant, representing LR Handfield, GM at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
We just read your comments on Trip Advisor and would like to express our apologies for not living up to the standards you expected from us.

Rest assured we deeply care about the satisfaction of our guests and we do hope to have the opportunity of regaining your confidence. With that in mind, should you reconsider your decision, we will be pleased to upgrade you to a suite on your next stay with us.. Please call me directly for your reservation
Yours sincerely,
Micheline Bergeron, Executive Assistant
(For LR Handfield)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Loved the serenity of the roof top garden. It was lush with foliage and had some seating arrangements along the walk. The large size pool and pool area were lovely.
The room was very nice, spacious, newly furnished. The tapas bar and restaurant was
very good and was opened until 11:30 Saturday night. Apparently the new chef was from Portugal. The hotel is conveniently located. Its downtown and across the street from the Amtrak station.Buffet breakfast was done nicely, good pastries, etc. Small sets of stairs without ramps between various levels of the hotel could be a problem for some people. We would gladly stay here again. .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The Hilton Montreal Bonaventure is a great location in the downtown with quick acceess to the Metro. While the rooms are a bit dated, the property in interesting and clean. The pool is amazing!
The concierge was quite knowledgeable and helped us find a great brew pub (Dieu du Ciel), as well as several wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights this past weekend. We were first given a room right by the staircase, so we went and exchanged for another room which again was near another staircase. Lots of noises of people talking on their cell phone late at night and cleaning ladies chatting loud during the day. We just gave up on exchanging for rooms figuring it is probably the same everywhere. We found 2 spiders in our room. There was a spider web in the bathroom. The bed was a bit too soft for our taste and will not work for anyone with back problems. The location is ok. It's right in the downtown financial district. The neighbourhood was pretty dead when we were there. But for the price we paid, it is not bad. We will not go back to this hotel however.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q_qfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonfollow-up, Micheline Bergeron, Executive Assistant to the GM at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for your input on the Hilton Mtl Bonaventure following a recent stay with us and we sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance experienced during your stay.
Rest assured we value your opinion and deeply care about the satisfaction and input of our guests.
On a positive note, we were certainly pleased to read your comment that the quality value for price paid was 'not bad'.
Yours sincerely,

Louis-Robert Handfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing