We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As class act”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“As class act”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is another class act from the Intercontinental group, with beautifully appointed, stylish rooms, first class bathroom amenities, excellent service and wonderful views. The staff were warm, friendly and ultra-helpful - all of which amounts to a very pleasant stay in this very chic city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear amcwam,
We are glad that you enjoy our hotels and that you have included the Montreal InterContinental in the hotels you like. Thank you for writing this great review. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    753
    233
    91
    48
See reviews for
319
667
98
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for one night while visiting Montreal with friends. I chose the hotel partly because of location and partly because I am an IHG member. The experience was excellent from arriving, valet parking, room, location - everything. We had a group of six wanting dinner and the concierge made recommendations to suit our preference - she reserved the restaurant and it proved to be exactly as described. The room was perfect, on the 21st floor and the view was very good. All of the fixtures, fittings, bathroom etc were in perfect condition and the bed was very comfortable. Our friends visited the gym in the morning and we visited the pool. The pool is long and narrow and perfect for laps when there are only two people there - not sure what it would be like if it was more busy. There is a sauna and steam room but it is in the change-room and so sex specific. There is a coffee shop at ground level and we had breakfast there - very casual and great coffee. The only niggling point was that when we were checking in there was only one staff member on the desk and a number of parties to check in so it took about 20 mins. The staff (all of them) were very friendly - I just felt that at this hotel they should not have a long line of people waiting to check in.

Room Tip: Higher is better for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear IrishCanadian65,
Thank you for being a member and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in Montreal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

nestled in between downtown Montreal and old Montreal it would be difficult to find a better location if this was what you came to Montreal for (Close to everything)
Sandy (on the concierge desk) was extremely helpful.
The room was nicely appointed.
I did not feel the customer service experience was consistent with other IH locations I have had the pleasure of staying at.
I will stay here if in the area again but will reduce my expectations associated with service and customer driven attitude I am used to experiencing at other locations. I am an organized traveller so my needs are limited outside of a smiling, sincere person on the front line..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear 8baller,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we will pass you great comment to Sandy. We are glad you liked our location and our rooms. Hope to see you soon. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with a glamorous feeling to it, slightly reminiscent of Cote d’Azur grand hotels. My room – a superior room with king size bed - was spacious, quiet, tastefully appointed and clean, the bed very comfortable. The hotel has a stylish bar, and the restaurants are excellent.

The hotel’s location is perfect, directly at the intersection of Montreal’s beautiful old town and its modern central business district.

This hotel deserves 5 stars, but there is some noticeable deferred maintenance – for example, part of the drywall ceiling in my bathroom had fallen down some time ago, and nothing was done about it. Also, the fitness center is too small, and the equipment somewhat outdated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Matt H, Thank you for the review, we were glad to hear you have enjoyed the style of our hotel and cleanliness and spacious rooms. We took good note of your comment on the deferred in maintenance. We hope to see you again. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Missouri
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

After 40+ years of traveling for my job, I finally stayed in an Intercontinental Hotel. What a wonderful experience. My room was nicely and freshly decorated, extremely quiet with a great bed. The staff was excellent. I will certainly return here again and will be looking to try another Intercontinental Hotel somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear BillParker,
Thank you for the 5 star review, we are happy you have enjoyed your first stay in an InterContinental and truly hope it will not be the last.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I had a terrible experience at this hotel due to an apparent lack of concern regarding customer service. We had just arrived from Paris, where that morning on the way to the airport we were mugged in the subway. The thieves stole our credit cards and money, though luckily we had a small amount of money in another bag. When arriving at the Intercontinental hotel, Julie at the reception counter asked us for a credit card to guarantee the room. When we told her what had happened, she offered no sympathy and merely stated that she needed at least 350 CAD to secure the room (though it was prepaid). That is understandable, since the hotel needs to protect itself from damages/room charges etc. We told her we only had a small amount of money for food and transport during our 2 day stay. She remained unsympathetic. We asked to speak to the manager, Francois [--], who was equally unsympathetic and rude as well, making us feel like the lowest of criminals. We went back and forth trying to explain the situation, and eventually handed over some of the little money we had, though Francois [--] very rudely ensured that we understood that any hotel expenditures would have to be paid in advance, in cash (to include internet, which is 16 CAD per day). They eventually made us a deal to pay 12 CAD per day, plus 15 percent taxes, but once again, it had to be paid in advance. The room itself was billed as a deluxe room and it was actually decent, though the view was terrible (our large window looks out onto someone else's room). The place was fairly clean, though we will never stay in an Intercontinental Hotel ever again. I've never been so poorly treated by hotel staff and want to let others know how we were treated. As the hotel is located by the conference center, the hotel will probably continue to receive that business regardless of its lack of service, but for the non-business travelers, I hope this review helps people make an informed decision regarding where to stay in the otherwise nice city of Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaska T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Alaska T,

Let me first say, that I am deeply sorry for your encounters upon arriving in Montreal.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. We value our relationship with our clients and were therefore very disturbed to hear of the unpleasant service you receive from our staff. We sincerely apologize for this incident and rest assured that immediate steps were taken to ensure that such a situation will not repeat itself.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time your travel plans bring you to Montréal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent one night here while in town to visit family. This is a great central location for getting around Montreal. I loved the decor and style of this hotel - it felt like we spent way more than we did. Also great was the fact that we didn't hear anything at all from the neighbouring rooms, even though it was really busy.

We did have to figure out how to sleep ourselves and two children in a room with a king bed and no pullout (we were just too lazy to request a change once we made it all the way up there). Luckily my daughter decided it would be an adventure to sleep on the chair with ottoman. Good thing she's small!

Also, no free WiFi in the rooms. That seems kind of old school.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Jackie S,
We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we thank you for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely hope to see you and your family again soon at our hotel (hopefully in a 2 bed room). Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#27 of 163 in Montreal
1,704 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 163 in Montreal
1,419 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing