We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Bet for a Family's Montreal Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The front desk was slow, but once we got to our room, everything was extremely enjoyable. Rooms were clean, roomy and modern. We (two parents, two kids) had transferred over from the Queen Elizabeth Hotel and found the Intercontinental's rooms bigger, cleaner and fresher. The QE's health club and pool are nicer than the Intercontinentals though but I'd rather have a better rooms at the Intercontinental. The Intercontinental pool is just fine, but the sauna smelled a tad musty and there was no steam bath. Our family loved the location adjacent to Old Montreal. Metro is close and kids ride for free on the weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdn Dad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Cdn Dad G,
Thank you for your 4 star review, we are happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your room and the facilities of the hotel. Also, that you found our location ideal from where you wanted to go. We hope to see you again in Montreal.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located adjacent to Old Montreal so that all of those sites are within walking distance.

The property is old, but not worn down or dirty. In some ways the age is very comfortable, like in the large marble bathrooms with the quaint soaking tub and small shower stall. Our room refrigerator wasn't very cold, but it was cold enough. The in-room liquor options were gone, maybe something the hotel no longer does, and we were fine with that as well. Beds were clean and comfortable. Everything in the room was in good repair. Our room was quiet and comfortable.

The hotel has an exercise room and a lap pool. The locker rooms were clean and everything was open and working during our visit which was great for my son. All hotel staff are fluidly bilingual. My only complaint would be the food cost at this hotel. A pot of coffee should never cost $14, and room service dinner for two was always over $70. (Tim Hortons is within walking distance.)

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice view of the St. Lawrence River.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeferRadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear FippleHiney,
Thank you for this 4 star review, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week during a conference. The location is excellent being directly across the street from the convention center. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The hotel bar was also nice with absinthe being the item they used to set themselves apart from other local hotel bars. I had breakfast every morning in the café downstairs which offered a nice variety. I will say that the lobby is somewhat dated and appears quite beat up for an intercontinental Hotel. I was actually surprised they haven't torn out the carpet and refreshed the check-in desk as this is one of the first and most visible parts of the hotel that just see when they arrive. However that is only a minor quibble. Wi-Fi is free in the lobby. In the hotel rooms you have to pay $18 a day for wi-Fi unless you are a member of their loyalty program, which is free to join. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Housekeeping service was prompt and efficient. The concierge was friendly and helpful in getting dinner reservations. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The location directly across the street from the convention center and two blocks or three blocks away from Old Port/ Old Montreal was nice so that we could essentially walk everywhere we wanted to go. All that being said, I might try a different hotel the next time I visit Montreal though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Essequibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Essequibo,
Thank you for taking the time to write theses xcellent comments on our hotel. We are glad to hear you found your stay excellent and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great Location, very good stuff, convenient parking, comfy spacious room and great breakfast. Close to everything in Montreal. It was nice to get a swim in the indoor pool when it was 21F outside.
I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soleg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear soleg67,
Thank you for this review, we hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montreal
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best part of our stay at the intercontinental was the exceptional concierge. The concierge was always willing to assist us with restaurant recommendations, directions, mailing certain items, and various inquiries such as Mass times at Notre Dame. The rooms, lobby, and decor were very nice. The hotel is connected to a type of mezzanine area that is beautifully appointed in seemingly original mosaic tiles and artwork. A 5 minute walk from the old city but still far enough into the business district to be relatively quiet on the weekends, the Intercontinental was very pleasant and relaxed. The room with two doubles was of typical size with a nice flat screen; also had a nice view of the city. The other perk to staying at the intercontinental is that the building is very distinct and easy to spot from the street. The only negative to this hotel is the lack of free wifi, otherwise, it was a truly great stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur_of_whiterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear arthur_of_whiterun,
Thank you for this 5 star review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the service provided by our concierges. I will gladly pass them your congratulations of the recommendations they offered. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We did have a wonderful 3-day stay prior to a cruise, but nearly 2 weeks later I realized I arrived home without my Kindle e-reader. When I called the hotel they were quick to ask the dates and room number for my stay, then said yes they had it and also the charger! It's on its way to me, which prompted me to write a review.

Besides the honest folks working there, the hotel has a great restaurant/bar where you can unwind and relax after a day out and about. Location is also perfect for exploring the old town area. We traveled as part of a large tour group, yet we were treated as individuals by all of the staff. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crbandlsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear crbandlsm,
Thank you for taking the time to write on your wonderful experience, I am happy we have found your charger and that everything went well with you request. Hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montréal.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was nice, lobby was beautiful. Pool was small but we were the only ones there so it was okay. However, the check out process took at least half an hour. I guess they were having technical issues or something, but it was really irritating. We had prepaid for the room so when the guy gave us our receipt we asked him a couple times to ensure we do not get charged for the room again. Sure enough, two weeks later we saw the room charge on our credit card. Had to call them and they were pretty apologetic, but we would not stay there again. Poor service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toronto_lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear toronto_lov,

Thank you for sharing you comments, I am very sorry for the confusion concerning the billing upon check out, but we are glad to hear you have enjoyed the hotel and the pool.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 165 in Montreal
1,820 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
1,476 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#40 of 165 in Montreal
535 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £119 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing