We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What No Wi Fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
North London UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What No Wi Fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This would have been a full five star review, but for one aspect which while not spoiling our stay did dampen things a little.

First however the good parts, excellent helpful staff, good location for tourism and business, nice rooms stylishly decorated. We got a great view from our room of the river and old town. Best of all huge bathroom with separate batch and walk in shower.

Now the so so, small bar which got crowded and noisy, clearly popular with the expense account business crowd. Lacks any form of hotel shop or vending machines, admittedly jointed to a mall but this seemed devoid of useful places and seemed to be shut down at 5pm. Had to wait an hour for our room to be ready even when we arrived after specified check in time.

Worst of all for a modern day hotel, no free internet in the rooms, yes available in the bar or lobby, but not in your room. Instead you had to pay six dollars for an hour or eighteen for a days access. This was the only hotel in Canada out of five we stayed in for this holiday that charged for Internet access. We were amazed at this old fashioned approach, even in the UK internet is free at most hotels so to not get it in a hotel of the high standing of the Intercontinental is frankly amazing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    756
    234
    91
    48
See reviews for
321
667
98
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I want to begin by stating that we did not actually stay at the hotel, but were amazed by the service quality at the front desk.

We must all say that the service we received as we walked in to simply use their washrooms and get a tourist map was exceptional. It was truly one of the highlights of the trip and we thank you for that. After a night of dealing with obnoxiously rude wait staff, and rude sales people in stores and at restaurants it was a blessing to be treated like we were wanted. The funny thing is though, we were not a customer, and that was what made it such a nice experience. We felt welcome and wanted, not like some other places.

Kudos to the front desk staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear got_boost_S13,
Thank you writing this review even if you did not stay with us. We are glad that the service of our front desk staff was welcoming and we hope we will have the chance to have you with us in a nearest future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and loved it both times. Convenient to midtown, Old Town, Old Port, underground and public transportation. The rooms are beautiful and clean. I love the Sarah B Bar and it's signature absinthe cocktail. The staff is wonderful! I visited the concierge several days for tips and she was extremely helpful. I hope to visit again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Deanna S,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the room. It was one of the best rooms we stayed at. Clean elegant and beautifully decorated. Great view of the city. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The kngsize bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear JKLinLondon,
Thank you for this 5 star review, we are happy you have enjoyed our rooms and your stay with us, hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montréal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I used my Air Miles for this so wasn't expecting a fancy room. But when we told the front desk we were on our mini-honeymoon, they ensured that we got a room with a king bed, and even surprised us with a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and macarons! The room (2215) was very spacious with ample furniture, but a bit dark because of the deep red decor and our window was facing a building.

The breakfast buffet at Osco was excellent, loved the crepes soaked in maple syrup and the crispy potatoes. Decent price at $24/person.

The hotel is technically in downtown, but just a few blocks away from Old Montreal, where there are many places to eat. So you can luxuriate in a fancy modern hotel while still enjoying the charm of Old Montreal. Also walking distance from the Metro and Gare Centrale, which was convenient because we were catching an early train.

Wireless internet is not free unless you sign up for a IHG membership (which is free). You also get late check out (2pm) with the membership.

We were there right before Formula One began, so lots of race car themed decorations and activities and even a mini race track you could play with in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear DragonBeanie,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are happy you have chosen us for your mini-honeymoon. We are glad you have enjoyed the upgrade and the platter of strawberries. As well as our location and the breakfast at Osco restaurant. we hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Intercontinental is right on the edge of old town in montreal. Each night we could easily walk down to rue St Paul and the collection of high quality restaurants.

We were able to walk easily to the hotel from the Central train Station and the hotel is also very convenient for the subway.

We did not eat any meals at the hotel, but the cafe downstairs had some very cheap options available for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Shaun R,
Thank you for the 4 star review, we are happy that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Hope to see you again for your next visit to Montreal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here with a pre cruise group May14-17. The best part for me who has multiple food allergies. The Chef Mathew Saunier in the hotel's restaurant Osco was able to prepare food that I could eat. Even fixed me a special breakfast so I could join the group in it's private dining room. The maître Christian always made sure I was always taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feather_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear feather_7,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review on the service provide from our Chef Matthieu and our Maitre D Christian, I will be sure to pass on your thanks. Hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montréal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#27 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing