We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staying in Montreal at the end of a long motorcycle trip wasn't in the plans, but vacation is vacation. After 2 weeks on a cabin at the northern edge of nowhere, a little pampering was in order. And where else to stay, but a 4.5 star hotel in Montreal?! Made the reservation on booking.com, where it CLEARLY stated that no charge would taken until we showed up. We do that, because on a bike trip, one never knows. No problem there... just a little surprised when the front desk (when I found it on the second floor) told me the room was already paid for. I had no issues with the front desk folks, unlike some others... very nice, courteous, friendly, and professional. The valet was ready to park our "vehicle" until he saw it was a motorcycle. That's ok.. I wouldn't have allowed it anyway. The entrance to the parking garage is right around the corner. Then the fun starts. The parking level for the hotel is 9 (yes..NINE!) stories below street level (the upper levels were all reserved). And it ain't cheap - $28 per space (2 motorcycles take up one space). Oh yeah.. and that's every time you leave and enter again (lucky for us, we didn't need the bikes once we parked). Once you find a space in the lower level of Hades, you take the elevator up to some kind of shopping mall, where at 5pm on a Saturday evening, all the shops were closed, and it was ghost town. Rather creepy. And good luck finding any direction to the hotel lobby! Also, if you're schlepping luggage, it's not all that close! Once we got to the room, however, we forgot about all that! Gorgeous, big clean room, HUGE sparkling clean bathroom. Couldn't ask for more! OK, so we were overlooking the building next door, but we didn't care. We then tried the wifi... amazingly enough, there was a charge for wifi! No one bothered to tell us it was free if we signed up for the hotel group membership.. but how would we have done that WITHOUT the wifi? Seriously... charging for wifi access stopped in most places 5 years ago. Earlier in the trip, we got FREE wifi at a $35/night motel. No one again bothered to tell us it was free in the lobby. The walk to old Montreal was about 10 minutes away.. perfect location.
So, to sum up...
Good stuff: Great place, awesome location, great rooms, friendly service
Not-so-good stuff: a little pricey, expensive parking, no signage from the parking garage to the lobby, no free wifi.
Would we go back? Heck yeah... for a special occasion! Just be prepared for the nickel-and-dime stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NH_Scruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear NH_Scruffy,
Thank you for the review of our hotel, we are aware that the parking situation we have is not the best but being in the center of the business district we do not have a lot of options. We are happy you have enjoyed your room and the location of our hotel and we do hope to see you again soon in Montreal.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The arrival bell service was not very professional.
Finding the elevator was a challenge!!!
The front desk was very good.
The dining room staff very good but evening menu, food and food selection needs to be revamped.
breakfast menu, food and food selection very good!

Room Tip: We stayed June 27, 2014. I believe any room would not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 06CES47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear 06CES47,
Thank you for this 4 star review, your comments are very appreciated and will help us to always strive to provided a better service to our guest. Hope to see you soon in Montreal
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I went to Montreal for the Jazz Festival with my father, we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The location can't be beat - we were 4 blocks from the festival and just as close to the sights of Old City an the Port.

All in all, I found this hotel to be "just fine". The lobby is cramped and they don't quite pull off the urban chic/kitsch (a la Kimpton) that they seem to be going for. The room was nicely sized, clean, and the bathroom was large with a shower that had superb water pressure.

The front desk staff was chilly upon check in and check out - curt, quick to shut down the conversation, avoided eye contact and in general acted indifferent. I know this isn't the Ritz, but I did pay more than a penny for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stryker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Stryker4,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I would like to apologize for the rudness of our staff. But I am happy you have enjoyed our location and the the room as well as the Jazz Festival. We hope to see you again soon in Montreal.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in late March 2014 on a business trip. My room was clean and comfortable. Location was excellent - I walked from the train station to the hotel and it was across the street from the convention centre. It is also a short walk to the old city and to Ste Catherine St shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadiantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this 4 star review, we hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely,
Bernard Chenevert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a late arrival at 9pm, all I wanted to do was to get into the room and have a nice hot bath, but the staff members made it impossible. Bell man was no where to be seen when we arrived by taxi, had to wait 5-10mins before we can find one. Went upstairs to check-in, the guy was nice and polite. As a IHG member (free to sign up) , I get free Wi-fi in room which was good, otherwise there are also internet in the lobby. Was given a room on the 16th floor, went up and could not open the room whatsoever. Thought it was due to my key being near my phone for few seconds, I went back down and there was a HUGE line with only one person serving. After at least 15mins wait, I was finally served, and was told the guy has written the wrong room number on my key holder, instead of 1606 it was meant to be 1806. We were told that you've to use your key to get to your own level, well clearly you don't. Turns out you don't need to use the key in the elevator at all.

As a frequent traveller, and just from this trip I've stayed in 7 hotels so far, this is by far the worse customer service wise. However I'll give them credit towards the room, it does have a lot of space and is very clean. Though it doesn't change the fact that I'll not be returning, and is having doubts with InterContinental in general.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amelia-F191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Amelia-F191,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very sorry that you have experience our customer service this way, I will be followinf up on this issu and reinforcing the coaching of our employees. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your room and the privileges of being a IHG Rewards member. I hope you will give us another chance and see you again in Montreal.
Sincerely,
Bernard Chenevert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hôtel Intercontinental Montréal is not the Ritz-Carlton or the Saint-James. But it still deserves its five stars. If the lobby is somewhat ugly with its cheap furniture and tacky lights, staff is nice and professional. We booked a corner room with a view and we got room 2320. Great room! Very large, amazing view of the Saint-Laurent and the city, including the basilique Notre-Dame and Habitat 67. The bathroom is large too, clean, all in marble. We loved the bed and linen, the chair, the windows…The next morning we had breakfast at their restaurant, which was good. 24 $ for a good buffet; I mean good for a hotel. The restaurant looks very nice though. And we also used their pool and outdoor terrace. Perfect! And at night you can walk everywhere from there.
Paid 219 $ + tax for one night = 260. Expensive, but what are you gonna do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherkan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear sherkan2,
Thank you for this 5 star review, we are glad you have enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the location of our hotel. We hope to see you again at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely,
Bernard Chenevert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I arrived at 4pm, check in hour for IC. The lineup was at least 30 customers deep, through the lobby and well into the private lounge area (pity those who paid for that access). One hour later I reached the desk only to be told my room was not ready, and to come back in 20 minutes. Same story 20 minutes later. After complaints and relentless arguing I got a room at 5:30pm. There is a distinct feeling that preferential treatment is given others.

Room Tip: Was I penalized because I booked through Hotwire? For the sake of Hotwire one would hope not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joaquindapark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Joaquindapark,

We thank you for sharing your comments with our team and we sincerely apologize for the service you received while staying in our property. We always strive to offer the best experience to our guests and we are really sorry to hear that our team did not live up to your expectations and to your membership level.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 165 in Montreal
1,853 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,723 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Hyatt Regency Montreal
#61 of 165 in Montreal
2,855 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £103 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing