We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Intercontinental Montreal is a nice hotel located in an excellent area. It's right on the edge of Old Montreal which makes for an easy walk to find great bistro's or to explore the area.
The hotel is a short cab ride from YUL Airport. Taxi's all seem to charge about $45.00 to or from the airport to this hotel.
The hotel itself is very nice. The hotel is attached to an indoor mall that contains several clothing shops. The staff were good although it was not always possible to find someone working the front door. The room I had was very nice. It was large, clean and had a comfortable king bed.
The hotel has a swimming pool that is more suited for swimming laps then having kids play in it. The water was on the cold side and the pool is long and narrow.
Overall this is a good hotel choice for visitors to Montreal. I would recommend this hotels to friends and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    746
    232
    91
    46
See reviews for
318
660
98
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here on a girls weekend away. Awesome location. A short walk up to shopping. Walk the other way and you are in old Montreal!
The hotel inside is beautiful and staff very helpful. The room was gorgeous. We booked on a third party site but when we arrived they upgraded us to a room with the beds we wanted and an amazing view of old Montreal for a small additional fee.

Very clean and comfortable. Absolutely the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever been in! The bathroom was spacious with a very nice walk in shower. Have recommended this hotel to friends and would stay there again!

Went with a friend but this would be a nice place for a romantic getaway as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room with view of old Montreal. It may be a bit more but really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Nancy B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to read that your weekend out with the girls was up to your expectations and that you found our location ideal and our room spacious enough for your party. Hope to see you soon at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed three nights in the hotel and could not ask for better location, walking distance to old Montreal and harbor, as well as to downtown shopping district. Nice, clean rooms with nice size bathrooms with shower and tub, we had a nice view to Mount Royal, good service and friendly people. Just for the parking part you need to have it Valet if you are planning to take out your car more than once a day (self parking has no in or out privileges)

Room Tip: Stated in the book internet will cost, but checking in they asked if I wanted to sign in for free me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firasyousif68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear firasyousif68,
Thank you for this five star review, we are happy to read that you have enjoyed our location, your room with a view and the service. We hope to have you with us again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was nice, with a perfect location if you were attending a conference. The rooms were a good size and everything was as expected from such a hotel chain. My main complaint is that my room was already paid for by my work, but the IC still reserved over $1400 on my credit card to cover "incidentals" during a 5-night stay. Luckily this wasn't a problem in terms of credit limit, but the fact that it wasn;t released for several days could be problematic for some people. While they apologised, it seemed like they "accidentally" did this to everyone in our party.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ezza_83,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this review. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay while being with us during your conference. Also, we would like to apologize again for incidentals amount taken on your credit card. We hope to see you again, maybe for leisure in our beautiful city.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Big, well appointed hotel, not far from the gare centrale (central rail station). Good location very near the old town and about 15 mins from the central high street. 5 mins walk to a metro station.

Check in was very slow (and we observed queues frequently when passing through) and when we checked in we were 'invited' for a cocktail. When we had freshened up and changed and gone to inquire what this meant, we were told it had been cancelled, with no reason. We weren't expecting a cocktail but felt this was poor customer service and left us feeling a little stupid. Complimentary newspapers are available to your room, though we weren't asked if we wanted one and the mini fridge didn't work.

When ordering room service and upon the appearance of the member of hotel staff with a tray of food, I offered to take it from him as it looked cumbersome in the corridor. You would have thought I had made a bad smell as his face looked in horror as he stated I must sign for it first! I was only offering to help.

None of this is end of the world stuff, but this all detracted from our enjoyment of a stay in what was supposed to be a world class hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG100_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MG100_10,
Thank you for this review, we are sorry to learn that your stay was tarnish by a lack of good service and we deeply apologize for theses situations. On the other hand we are glad that you have enjoyed our location. Hope to see you again soon at the InterContinental.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Used my rewards night from IHG, but was treated as if I had paid top dollar. We were there for a quick stop before traveling on to Ottawa. Front desk upgraded us to a corner room (there's no view, it's in the middle of the business district, but we appreciated the accommodations). The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. Missing bath towels were supplied within minutes. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5: the self parking is very inconvenient and certainly deters going in and out. Also, there was a layer of heavy dust under the credenza that was quite noticeable when the sun hit it. All else appeared immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear HelenDL,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that parking is not always ideal, but unfortunately being located downtown, we do not have a lot of option. Hope to see you again soon in Montreal.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed for two nights during the last week in July. Hotel is in a great location , located in Old Montreal so is walking distance to all restaurants and sights. When we got there , it was raining I asked the concierge if there was any parking around and he told me there is only valet parking with a daily rate of $33 plus tax so we did the valet parking but when we were checking out , we found out that we also had the option of self-park . Partially is my fault not to research but they also did not tell us the other option. In general we did not found the concierge to be very helpful, he always seemed busy on the phone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FioriCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear FioriCA,
Thank you for taking the time to write this note about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the confusion regarding the parking. On the other hand, we are happy you have enjoyed our location. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing