We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the heart of downtown ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place in the heart of downtown ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and spacious, and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Many little breakfast places on the main floor in addition to great boutiques.

Short walk to all the great things you would want to see in downtown.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Ho Thomas A - thank you for the review of our hotel - glad you like what we have to offer. See you soon - a bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    842
    280
    87
    36
See reviews for
408
534
102
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a short 2-night family trip. We'd been to Montreal numerous times before & stayed elsewhere (more romantic boutique type places), but with a new addition to the family, & needing to be in the same hotel as my father-in-law, I chose this hotel for the location, value, & generally positive reviews. I found that previous reviews on tripadvisor were quite accurate. The hotel is obviously an older building & there are small signs here & there of its age (eg cracks in the marble tile around the tub surround, really old-school neat looking mini bar with a little window showing the little bottles in a row like the old cigarette machines used to, etc). But the public spaces have a nice historic timeless quality. And the rooms have obviously been renovated & updated. In fact, our room really was quite nice & comfortable, even if it wasn't fancy or modern or flashy, in addition to being quite spacious. Everything also felt quite clean overall, except for the carpet, although in fairness, it might have just been the design & colour of the carpet which didn't lend itself well to feelings of cleanliness. The hotel is very well situated downtown & within easy walking distance of Old Montreal/Historic Port, the Ste Catherine shopping distance, etc. & right next to the hockey arena (Place Bell). I would have been quite happy with the place overall if it weren't for a couple of issues we encountered. Firstly, we asked for a crib when booking & the person at the front desk even mentioned when we checked in that the crib was in the room & ready for us. And yet, after arriving really late (2:30am) & exhausted after 6 hrs of driving, we got up to the room to find no crib after all. We had to call down to the front desk & wait for one to be brought up. After it came, we realized that the base was fixed & so low that the mattress was only about a foot away from the floor. I suppose that's safe for babies who can stand, but not only was I uncomfortable with my baby breathing the air so close to the floor & carpet, but the problem was that I found it really difficult to place a sleeping baby gently all the way down to the mattress without waking him up. I got him back to sleep (this was now past 3am), but had to lean so far down into the crib that I almost had to pitch headfirst into it myself. Needless to say, it didn't go well & he woke up. The crib was also smallish - about the size of a playpen - which might have been ok but my 4-mo-old baby had just started learning to roll & when I left him for 5mins while I unpacked & to see if he could fall back asleep or at least acclimatize, I came back to find that he'd kicked his feet out between the bars & then rolled onto his side. This resulted in his feet being stuck outside the crib, leaving him twisted & stuck in that position until I turned his feet & rescued him. I was therefore loath to use the crib for the rest of our stay & had to cosleep for the first time, resulting in a very nervous & unsatisfying sleeping experience for all of us. I was also not too happy to have gotten a room right next to the elevators after I specifically asked to be on a high floor (that part was ok) & not to be near any elevators because we had a small baby. Although we called down to the front desk upon discovering where our room was (again, at 2:30am), they said there were no other rooms available. I would also agree with others' earlier comments about the parking situation being unsatisfactory. I understand that the hotel says they don't own the parking lot so there's not a lot they can do, & that's unfortunate. But first of all, that means that parking is an extra cost ($23/day). And what's more annoying is that hotel guests apparently HAVE to park on a specific floor. This means you have to drive down floor after floor, navigating tight turns, etc, to get to one floor which was always completely jammed full of cars, many of which were not even parked in proper parking spots, which made things even more tight. On one occasion, we came back to find literally NO spots left on the designated floor & we spent an inordinate amount of time driving around & around looking for a free space before giving up in frustration & just parking on a different floor in an act of civil disobedience. Anyway, apart from those issues, we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westielover_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Westielover_TO - thank you for taking the time to share your review. I appreciate your comments about our location and rooms. Your feedback regarding our misses is important and valued by us. Very sorry about failing to have the right crib in your room upon arrival - our mistake and should not have occurred. Your disappointment is understandable.
As for parking and options, we could have and should have done a better job of describing a few options to you that may have been more helpful. I do hope this will not stop you from staying with us in the future. Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on points. It is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Room was clean with some wear and tear noted (especially in the bath). Room size was typical for a Marriott.

Good location with Metro station right below the hotel.

Interestingly, they offered a choice between free WiFi and paid high speed. I found that the free Wi-Fi was fast enough for basic stuff like email, etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank benfbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Benfbrown.... thanks for your review - happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our location. Our free Wifi capacity and the option for increased speed have both been well received. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Room was as expected; clean, comfortable king size bed. All in order and lots of towels, terry housecoats, etc. Nicely appointed. Quiet. Non-smoking. Good view. Blackout drapes were effective. Minibar and flat screen TV with many channels. Room service delivered a hot water electric kettle in 10 minutes. Bellboy was quick with luggage. The Metro subway station is in the basement which is very convenient and quick to get around Montreal. Pool and exercise room were well equipped and with fruit, fresh lemon water and towels. Very nice overall. Also very convenient for Hertz car-rental as only 2 blocks away. Hotel is aging well for a 48 year old building

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi AnthonyVancouver - thank you for your great comments on our hotel - glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the services we offer. Happy Travels. A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location right in the heart of downtown with a Metro right below the hotel. The service was fantastic from the front desk and especially the knowledgable Veronique. My room was standard but clean and spacious- the view though was breathtaking! The hotel could use some renovations in the coming year would be my only recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DistrictTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello DistrictTraveller - thank you for your review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here while attending a conference. The hotel has a good location. We were able to walk to the convention center and restaurants in the area. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The amenities are what they used to be before all the cost cutting. The only downside is that it is showing its age and could use an update. However, if putting in a new carpet and coat of paint is going to mean diminishing the good service then leave it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Darren D - thank you for your review - I am glad to read the service from our staff and or location made for a pleasant stay. A refresh and great service is what we will be working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
266 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Got what is typically expected at a Marriott. Starbucks in lobby etc. the staff is nice but seems to be slower than I'm used to. Car took nearly 30 minutes to get from valet. Lovely rooms and lounge.....nice location especially to see a hockey game.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Bowlerx_424 - thank you for posting your review on our hotel. We value your opinion - Our location is indeed very centralized - I apologize for the delay on valet service - I am sure we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,078 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 164 in Montreal
848 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing