We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Montreal”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Have stayed in many Fairmonts and found this property very welcoming,safe and a good value. It is centrally located in Montreal close to everything!! Prices were reasonable for value received. Fairmonts are our 1st choice when we are in Canada!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Excellant location with very accomodating staff. Great business facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 780Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night when in Montreal.
What a top hotel and a great location. Rooms were huge!
Dined in their in house restaurant which was very good.
1 tip - if you are not a member, then join Fairmont Presidents Club before you stay - free Wireless internet for starters and free frequent flier points as well after your stay.
You cannot go wrong with this property!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We are a family of 5 & booked adjoining rooms at the Queen Elizabeth. The rooms are typical city rooms, small. Although, two rooms were plenty of space. When I opened the blinds I was surprised to have such a great view. Across the street is a beautiful church. My main complaints with this hotel have to do with smell: 1) there is a musty odor as you walk down the hallways & 2) we were on the third floor - smoking is on the 4th - the odor of cigarette smoke was so strong in our bathroom in the morning I couldn't stand in there to dry my hair. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly, quick to assist in exchanging money, helpful with bags & fast when retrieving the car. The concierge was informative, pleasant & helpful. The hotel is located directly over the train station which is convenient for transportation, shopping & breakfast (Premier Moisson & Tim Horton's is located steps from the elevator). We were only there 2 days & spent most of our time in Old Montreal. Now having a better "lay of the land" If I were to take the family back I would probably try a hotel closer to Old Montreal. If you want to be downtown, I'd say the Fairmont is a nice hotel but make sure if you do not smoke that you are placed several floors away from smoking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights pre-cruise on 30th june. On arriving in Montreal we discovered the airline had lost all our luggage. Checkin at hotel was quick and efficient the room was a little small and a bit dated but very clean and adequate for a short stay. We did not use the restaurant during out stay but we didorder romm service both evenings and the food was nice and good value. Nadine on the COncierge desk was exceptionally helpfull and kind regarding our lost luggage and contacted Air France on our behalf. Unfortunately the suitcases had still not arrived by the time we checked out and this obviously had an impact on the enjoyment of our stay. However,I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for it's lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel, but I feel that they expect their reputation to carry them over. I found that recent renovations were poorly (cheaply) done. The bathtub had been "resurfaced" but the coating was peeling off (see photo of drain). The decor was nice enough, but the quality of the furnishings was something like you would find at Costco. The sheets were a coarse, low thread-count muslin. But worst of all was the mattress. It was of very low quality, not at all firm, bouncy to sit on with an old fashioned blue and white ticking cover. I have experienced better at a Hampton Inn!

As is common in high-end hotels, you must pay for wi-fi. I have become accustomed to this, but when we got our bill for one night, we had been charged 3 times for wi-fi. When I questioned this, I was told that they charge per device used (my husband and I each used our iPads and I my iPhone), although they did issue a credit for 2 of the charges. I guess they get this complaint a lot.

All in all, I expected a bit more for $300 a night!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaN250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Room was guaranteed by 4pm but was not ready until 6:15 pm. Our luggage was supposed to be in the room, but was not. It had been sent to someone elses room. Found an hour later. Room was a non-smoking room but smelled of smoke enough not to be able to sleep due to burning eyes and coughing

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessnclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing