We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was bit disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was bit disappointed.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I'm a President Club member as well as my brother. We are frequent guests at this hotel since 2008. Previously we had little issue with our stay & nver bothered to comment because my wife was an ex-employee of Fairmont Banff Springs. But this time, at room 574 it was too much to the point that my in-laws were so pissed off with the clogged bath tub, clogged toilet & peeling wallpapers at the washroom. My in-laws came for a short vacation from India & joined us for 1 day.They expected The Taj Mahal room quality even if it's just a regular room. Hope they will make n improvement & really check every detail & conditions in all the rooms. As what I've known from my wife, Fairmont is a 4 star hotel. Overall, still I would love to stay here but hope for the last time no more issues to face.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear cookiemonster0008 - Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your recent stays. We appreciate your comments and we thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the specific room deficiencies your family experienced. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please rest assured our Chief Engineer has already been made aware in order to address the points you shared. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Montreal. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Over priced for what you get. Decor is stuck in the seventies. Rooms didn't smell the freshest but was clean and that is all I need. Was very convenient for my business needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dville_Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Dville_Dawg - Thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry to hear we didn't entirely meet your expectations in terms of decor. Please know we have several ongoing projects, which should help give the modern feel you might have been looking for. Having said that, we're glad the room was very convenient for your business needs. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed on business trip in May 2012. Fantastic location - at the heart of everything - next door to underground shopping and where everything is happening. Meeting and Guest rooms are great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laube1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear loospoos - Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth on your last business trip to Montreal. We're glad to read you were happy with the location of the hotel, our meeting rooms as well as our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I traveled for a conference (held in the same convention center hotel) and the hotel is great: very well located - just one block from the main street - great service and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emersonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear emersonkz - Thank you for sharing some great comments regarding your recent stay. How lovely to read your feedback on the location of the hotel and most importantly the service provided by our dedicated staff members. We hope to see you again in the near future, perhaps for another conference? Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Was here on business, my company sponsored a roadshow to advertise and promote our wares. Great location - in the city center, close to everything. 15 minute walk (downhill) to Old Montreal, being here in May 2012 the weather was great. Comfortable bed, nice but a little small bathroom (extremely well appointed but odd layout, beautiful tile and marble in the bathroom). Got a room on the 13th floor overlooking the Cathedral next door, plus a lot of downtown...great view. Had lunch there for our event and the food was good - hard to rate anything coming out of a hot food tray. Showing its age in a couple of places...the padding in the Queen Ann chair at the desk was pretty much flattened, etc. Overall I would rate this a 3.5 on a scale of 1 to 5; since I paid a very competitive rate negotiated by my company I would rate it lower if I were paying the going rate. Still, Montreal is expensive anyway, the taxes here are crazy...

Bottom line - recommend this hotel based on location and stature as a grand old dame of Montreal; a lot of history here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Fubarnole - We hope you enjoyed the road show your company sponsored. Thank you for sharing some feedback with us. We appreciate your comments and we're glad to hear you were pleased with the location of the hotel and the comfort of our beds. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel! It is located in a central area of Montreal, you can walk to a lot of things. What I really thought was great was the service. The staff is excellant & they really go out of there way to be helpful. Everyone is very friendly! The rooms are excellant & very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeferdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear keeferdelaney - Thank you for your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're thrilled to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our level of service. Until next time, many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

At the last minute we had to change our plans and travel by train into and out of Montreal. What better hotel to pick than the Queen Elizabeth which sits on top of Central Station and is connected to an underground shopping mall. Our room was bright and cheerful (a big plus on a rainy day) and well appointed, although a bit small. The bathroom was nice but very small.

I generally prefer small boutique hotels which usually have much more personality than large chain hotels, even very expensive ones, but the Queen Elizabeth was perfect for us under our specific circumstances.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Bic20 - Thank you for your recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,078 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing