We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great central Downtown Montreal Location. Easy access to shopping and dining by entering basement into the underground city. Hotel itself is very good, just needs some freshening up. Staff are great, but front entry bell service and valet are slow due as its only one person assigned to the duty. However the hotel is still a great place to stay and just a walk across the street away from St. Catherines shopping district.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuperTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear SuperTravller - Thank you for visit. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, mainly for the great location of the hotel and for the friendliness of our staff members. We do hope to welcome you back on a future business trip. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,204
    545
    224
    114
See reviews for
623
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nice hotel - very good location as well. Just stayed one night, but the price is fair and it is really a short hop to many wonderful restaurants. It was also easy in the morning to get to the airport - I do not know Montreal well enough to know if that was a typical traffic day but it is an important aspect for a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Coffeesip - Even though it was a very short visit, we're glad to hear you left with a good impression of the hotel and we hope you have a chance in the future to spend more time in Montreal and discover the city. Until then, we're sending you our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice hotel. Well located near the Bell Centre. Quiet inside the room...Surprisingly there is very little traffic noise. Very clean and excellent service from all staff. The rooms are a bit small but that is due to the age of the hotel. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Bruce t - We're glad to read your positive feedback further to your recent stay with us. The entire team would be delighted to welcome you again next time you're in Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

the fairmont montreal or the QE as it is also known is one of the best 'big' hotels in montreal. Location is great with lots of underground pathways to avoid the cold.
Roomsa re nice...but varied in amenities. In pne superior room you may get the old style toilet,in others you get a new room.
If you cAn, ask for a newer room. No need to be away from the elevator As they have muted the ringing elevator bells
Lounge is great with olives And chippies to go with your beer.
If u want to splurge go try the Fairmont gold floor. It has a great breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear travelcato - Thank you for sharing such delightful comments. We appreciate your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. If there is anything we can do to make your next visits even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We generally stay at the Queen Elizabeth when in Montreal as it is convenient for walking out to explore Montreal and knowing that Fairmont Hotel chain standards can be expected. On our most recent trip, we were somewhat disappointed in that the hotel, while providing the familiar old world, well appointed standards, it is not keeping up with the times and services are not what they used to be. Upon checking in, my wife requested an extra pillow which was duly noted and I asked for a newspaper to be delivered the next morning. We did not return to the room until late and found that the pillow request was not acted on. Next morning, the newspaper also did not show up at our door until after 9:30am which in my opinion is far too late. We also found the lack of free internet very disappointing especially when other establishments offer this as a basic standard. $14.00 per 24 hour period is outrageous. Certainly, the hotel staff we interacted with were all very friendly and accommodating, but we were left with the feeling the hotel is resting on its laurels. Another example of not keeping up with the times is that the Business Centre is not open on weekends. What a shame for a classic hotel. Our experience probably would not stop us staying there again (it is a Montreal classic) but the chances are we will look at a more modern hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacktarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in the "Fairmont Gold" section. The rooms were very nice, but a bit dated. The real story is the private lounge you get access to. Free breakfast, afternoon snack and anytime soda/beverages. The staff are super friendly and the food served at the buffet was really good. The Gold premium price is well worth it in my opinion. You also get free Internet and local calls in the package.

The gym is a good size with plenty of machines.

The hotel is located right downtown and near all major office buildings, restaurants and shopping. If in town for a hockey game, we could see the Bell Center from our room ; probably a 8-10 minute walk at most.

If you are a history buff, go down to the 17th floor. The infamous "Bed in" room where John Lennon & Yoko One stayed (and recorded Give Peace a chance) is there. You cant go in (but can actually book that room if you want) but there room is clearly marked with a plaque.

Would absolutely stay again here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roombaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Roombaguy - Thank you very much for your recent visit. On behalf of the Fairmont Gold team, thank you for the kind words regarding the amenities and service provided. We most definitely hope to see you again very soon. Many thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I spent a few nights at this Fairmont property while attending a conference in Montreal. Being from the west, I have had the privilege of staying at the Fairmont Banff Springs on several occasions and so I chose the Queen Elizabeth based on my positive experiences. Wrong move. Staff at the Queen Elizabeth could learn a lot from the exemplary customer service of the Banff Springs. I found instead many 'grumpy' individuals who did not seem to have the same caring that our stay would be an enjoyable one. The hotel rooms themselves could use a coat of paint and a carpet cleaning - mine had stains. The best part of the stay was truly the location of the hotel which sits right in the heart of downtown Montreal with easy access to all of the amazing elements that this city has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Katey2319 - Despite the fact that you enjoyed the great convenient location of the hotel, we wanted to apologize for not meeting your expectations in terms of services offered at the hotel. We were very sorry to read your feedback regarding certain individuals who did not portray on this occasion what Fairmont is all about. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future for you to enjoy a most memorable experience. Many thanks for your comments and for your visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
2,029 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
1,402 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing