We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

A little late on my review but better late then never. Good place to stay. Clean, pleasant staff (even helped me with a little French, of course make sure you ask when it isn't busy). Good location although my agenda made me drive everywhere but that's not due to bad location. Night club in a high rise across the street brought interesting people into the area, also because it was a long weekend people were out playing. Parking was available at $25 a day. I tried my luck and parked on the street but the morning of the last day (labor day, monday holiday) I got a $150 parking ticket. OMG! 1) I guess parking restrictions apply on this holiday 2) there were separate signs for this restriction at 6-9 am aside from the other sign for restrictions for the rest of the day and don't forget the signage for the parking spot # and where to pay. 3 signs for one set of parking spaces. 3) the ticket was 5 minutes after 6 am so they must have been just waiting for us tourists to mess up, I wasn't the only one. 4) $150!!!! even in NYC isn't as steep.
Not the hotels fault but shame on you Montreal!

  • Liked — clean, professional
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank blikkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed at the Fairmont in the midst of the hotel strike so this review might be a little tainted. All workers were on strike and the management was trying to fill in. Room was clean at check in, but never cleaned again. When I called for towels, shampoo, coffee, etc., it was brought to the room. The pool was closed as were the restaurants and almost everything else. We bought tickets for the hop on hop off tour (whick we really liked) at the desk and the women told us to be at the door at 11:30 and we would be picked up and taken to the start of the tour. Was there at 11:25, bus came at 11:40 and drove 2 blocks and dropped us off. He said the next bus would be there at 12:00 as we had missed the 11:30. A wasted 30 minutes as we would have just walked the 2 blocks over to the start of the tour and caught the 11:30. Arrival at the hotel is very confusing as you can not drop your luggage off at the door on street level. They direct you to an underground garage where you park. Since the valets were on strike, there were no luggage racks and you just unloaded your luggage, dragged it almost a city block to an elevator that took you to the main floor of the hotel. Then you had to transfer all your luggage to a seperate elevator to get to your room. We were exhausted and frustrated by the time we finaly got our key and went to the room. Room was just okay. Dirty carpet, coffee pot that didn't work, very tiny bathroom and an outdated television. The bed and pillows were wonderful! Location was great, but I would nover pick this hotel to stay in again. First time I have ever been disappointed with a Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We arrived on Tuesday August 5th and were warned upon checking in that there might be some "sporadic" problems with service due to the labor strike. We were told the rooms would be made up, and if we found ours unmade to please call. The restaurant was open and we were told the pool would be open most of the time too. Had a delightful high tea to celebrate our arrival in Montreal (delicious tea and scones). We never had any service to our rooms after that though. We were woken up by loud whistling and louder music, as striking workers gathered on the street directly below our room (which was on floor 6). I read below that someone who stayed on the GOld floor had no disruption to their service, but we did not find that, unfortunately. Management were friendly but what can you do if the staff walk out? I am sympathetic to the striking workers too, but my husband is annoyed that even though he asked if anything "unusual" was going on at the hotel (like construction, or anything else that could disrupt our stay) when he booked about ten days in advance, he was given no warning. The real problem with booking a family holiday (with young kids) where there is no room service, and the restaurants are closed (which happened about two hours after our check in) and where they don't warn you this is likely, is the jetlagged kids get hungry late at night and there is no food and no safe, comfortable way to feed them. I ended up luckily finding an open place in the train station (below the hotel) at 11 PM. The Fairmont management decided to open one restaurant for breakfast (buffet only) for a limited period in the morning the next day and did not post or bother informing guests in rooms (so we missed it). They did offer a free in-room movie (we got a message on our room phone that we were entitled to a free film), which is not much compensation when there is no service in the room, and the carpets everywhere are getting dirtier and dirtier. The people who stayed on duty were very nice, but really there was little they could do to make the stay comfortable. We felt the hotel management were not up front when we arrived and really downplayed the possibility of serious disruption to hotel services. Two days later we moved to a different hotel in Montreal. A word of warning, Fairmont is not the only hotel affected by this strike. Several other chains are too, so if you book in Montreal, make sure the strike has ended, or research your choice carefully before you book.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff on strike, pool and restaurants closed, everything getting visibly dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

My family of three stayed at the Queen Elizabeth for one night and our experience was so so. The good things: location is close to Old Montreal,underground city, subway, & Science Centre. The bad things: The hotel workers union was on strike (travel agent did not know) so the staff was hit or miss. Room service took well over an hour, forget speaking to the concierge and housekeeping was lacking.Our double room was small. There were crumbs on our bed/desk chair and the telephone was a mess. But it was only for one night so we delt with it. My daughter was disappointed with the pool(small,salt water) and the floor around the pool was a health hazard. The buffet breakfast was good and it was included in our rate. We would like to stay in Montreal again, maybe at the Ritz.

  • Liked — The location is very good.
  • Disliked — Staff, cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenTravels429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

I was extremely satisfied with my stay at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montreal. I booked with WhataHotel, and my room was much nicer than the room I had booked myself just six months earlier. The staff is courteous and the location is excellent.

  • Liked — attractive & friendly
  • Disliked — price of the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thornReginaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed at The Queen for six days attending a conference and thought the hotel was really quite lovely. Because they had some work stoppage, the service was not up to speed, although management did try very hard to make our stay a positive one. The room was very nice with a good view and quite adequate in size. Fitness center was top-notch, too. Plenty of restaurants near by and a basilica across the street. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Liked — Rooms, location
  • Disliked — service with the strike going on
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin_manSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed here one night and really loved the decor of the room, perhaps on the smaller side but didn't really anything larger. Unfortunately, because of a strike, there was rubbish on the floor in the corridors as well as bed linens left by the housekeeping staff.

Besides that, the location was great, very centrally located downtown and very quiet and comfotable. Staff were pleasant and helpful...I'd definitely stay again

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — uncleanliness....rubbish and bed linens left on the floor in the corridors
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelladybug2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing