We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Fairmont Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #48 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not Up To Fairmont Standards”
Reviewed 21 September 2008

A conference took me to Montreal on business mid-September.
We knew that they were in the middle of a strike but decided to stay there because we were so excited to be staying at a Fairmont property. We managed just fine during the strike (even with no real housekeeping for six days). Towels and washcloths were stacked on tables on each floor. They did come in to make the bed a couple of days. No sheets were changed. Regardless of the strike, I would have been disappointed in this property. It is very dated and the rooms are in need of a major renovation. Dark, drab and very, very small rooms for such a high room price. It did not compare to the Fairmont properties that I have stayed at in the U.S. The location is indeed good. The staff was doing everything they could to make up for the strike. Next visit I would definitely stay somewhere else as I heard many comments from others at this conference that they were thrilled with their hotels....and there are many great choices in Montreal.

  • Liked — Location and access to food below in the train station
  • Disliked — Small, dark, old rooms that need renovation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We were at the hotel 27th to 29th August. Our room was delightful and regularly serviced through the strike. One has to sympathise with low paid staff working in hotels, and the strikers seemed pleasant enough, and their cheerful latin music on the pavement outside quite fun. The restaurants had to shut but breakfast was still served, really quite excellent, the work of 4 sous chefs who has still turned in. The management were splendid in doing their best to keep the hotel running for the the guests already booked in. Our breakfast waiters were impeccably suited management and seemed to rather enjoy being at the sharp end again and proving they could still do it. Many of the management were obviously working double shifts to keep the show on the road. The hotel returned to me the computer power lead I had left in the Royal York in Toronto, and part of my bill was deducted with apologies for the lack of service.
Still very good..

  • Liked — Glamorous modern hotel
  • Disliked — Swimming pool is too small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sexy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We are just finishing a stay here booked with no knowledge of the union trouble. Days go by without any room cleaning (they don't even bother telling you they can do it, they know it will not happen). People scavenging towels from cleaning carts that sit in the hallways unmoved for hours. Even the mini bars remain unattended (I watched someone pop out of a room grab a few beer from the cart (unattended for hours) and pop back into his room. No doubt he ran out in room!

Royal Service line (through which you are forced to call to get anywhere - even to the concierge or front desk - takes 10-20 minutes only top route through to another line where you wait again. The Concierge here are the worst I have come across in many good hotels. They know nothing useful, are singularly unhelpful and provide (in our experience) information that is just plain wrong.

It was a bit amusing at first to see the union members in shorts and t shirts (with the cap or name tag), but it lost its comedic impact after a while. The union employees seem intent on making your stay miserable. It is working.

The hotel is just plain dirty right now. The people snarly. The feel is a bit primal....every guest for themselves.

I have stayed here many times and this is bizarre. Until they solve their issues with the employees, stay far away.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — union trouble
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Nice suite in the corner on a high floor but other than that! Disgraceful. The Beaver's Club is classic but the casual restaurant is so overdone and the food is bad. It is so big, it has no feel to it.
Location is pretty good for buisness but would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

A little late on my review but better late then never. Good place to stay. Clean, pleasant staff (even helped me with a little French, of course make sure you ask when it isn't busy). Good location although my agenda made me drive everywhere but that's not due to bad location. Night club in a high rise across the street brought interesting people into the area, also because it was a long weekend people were out playing. Parking was available at $25 a day. I tried my luck and parked on the street but the morning of the last day (labor day, monday holiday) I got a $150 parking ticket. OMG! 1) I guess parking restrictions apply on this holiday 2) there were separate signs for this restriction at 6-9 am aside from the other sign for restrictions for the rest of the day and don't forget the signage for the parking spot # and where to pay. 3 signs for one set of parking spaces. 3) the ticket was 5 minutes after 6 am so they must have been just waiting for us tourists to mess up, I wasn't the only one. 4) $150!!!! even in NYC isn't as steep.
Not the hotels fault but shame on you Montreal!

  • Liked — clean, professional
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank blikkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed at the Fairmont in the midst of the hotel strike so this review might be a little tainted. All workers were on strike and the management was trying to fill in. Room was clean at check in, but never cleaned again. When I called for towels, shampoo, coffee, etc., it was brought to the room. The pool was closed as were the restaurants and almost everything else. We bought tickets for the hop on hop off tour (whick we really liked) at the desk and the women told us to be at the door at 11:30 and we would be picked up and taken to the start of the tour. Was there at 11:25, bus came at 11:40 and drove 2 blocks and dropped us off. He said the next bus would be there at 12:00 as we had missed the 11:30. A wasted 30 minutes as we would have just walked the 2 blocks over to the start of the tour and caught the 11:30. Arrival at the hotel is very confusing as you can not drop your luggage off at the door on street level. They direct you to an underground garage where you park. Since the valets were on strike, there were no luggage racks and you just unloaded your luggage, dragged it almost a city block to an elevator that took you to the main floor of the hotel. Then you had to transfer all your luggage to a seperate elevator to get to your room. We were exhausted and frustrated by the time we finaly got our key and went to the room. Room was just okay. Dirty carpet, coffee pot that didn't work, very tiny bathroom and an outdated television. The bed and pillows were wonderful! Location was great, but I would nover pick this hotel to stay in again. First time I have ever been disappointed with a Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We arrived on Tuesday August 5th and were warned upon checking in that there might be some "sporadic" problems with service due to the labor strike. We were told the rooms would be made up, and if we found ours unmade to please call. The restaurant was open and we were told the pool would be open most of the time too. Had a delightful high tea to celebrate our arrival in Montreal (delicious tea and scones). We never had any service to our rooms after that though. We were woken up by loud whistling and louder music, as striking workers gathered on the street directly below our room (which was on floor 6). I read below that someone who stayed on the GOld floor had no disruption to their service, but we did not find that, unfortunately. Management were friendly but what can you do if the staff walk out? I am sympathetic to the striking workers too, but my husband is annoyed that even though he asked if anything "unusual" was going on at the hotel (like construction, or anything else that could disrupt our stay) when he booked about ten days in advance, he was given no warning. The real problem with booking a family holiday (with young kids) where there is no room service, and the restaurants are closed (which happened about two hours after our check in) and where they don't warn you this is likely, is the jetlagged kids get hungry late at night and there is no food and no safe, comfortable way to feed them. I ended up luckily finding an open place in the train station (below the hotel) at 11 PM. The Fairmont management decided to open one restaurant for breakfast (buffet only) for a limited period in the morning the next day and did not post or bother informing guests in rooms (so we missed it). They did offer a free in-room movie (we got a message on our room phone that we were entitled to a free film), which is not much compensation when there is no service in the room, and the carpets everywhere are getting dirtier and dirtier. The people who stayed on duty were very nice, but really there was little they could do to make the stay comfortable. We felt the hotel management were not up front when we arrived and really downplayed the possibility of serious disruption to hotel services. Two days later we moved to a different hotel in Montreal. A word of warning, Fairmont is not the only hotel affected by this strike. Several other chains are too, so if you book in Montreal, make sure the strike has ended, or research your choice carefully before you book.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff on strike, pool and restaurants closed, everything getting visibly dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,078 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing