We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location and customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great. Very close to old town and the cathedrals and the downtown restaurants and pubs.

The hotel is also accessible to the airport, train, and right above the shops.

The concierge and hotel staff were great and the gym is excellent. The hotel does need a few updates but otherwise we all had a great experience.

Parking: if you valet you car is privately parked beneath the hotel in private parking. Self service has you parking outside.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchiemyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear SchiemyK - We greatly appreciate the wonderful feedback you shared online and we're glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the services offered. Next time you visit Montreal, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,204
    545
    224
    114
See reviews for
623
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

When we arrived at reception the room we had booked was not available for our first night. The hotel went out of their way to ensure we had the best we could on that night and we were moved to the gold floor the next morning.

Our experience of the gold floor was excellent, the room was first class, the staff were friendly, helpfull and professional. The gold lounge, though small, was well stocked and the food was plentiful. The reception desk there was very useful and the internet computer enabled us to check in for our flight without trouble.

The location was very central and you could get to the metro without going outside if you wanted to.

Overall an excellent hotel with friendly and professional staff. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ron M - Thank you very much for the kind words you shared regarding our team members and the service provided on this recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit on our Fairmont Gold floors. We hope you had a pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties soon! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a Grande Dame but not as visually pristine as others in the Fairmont family. The facade is brutalistic as facades go, but the interior is quite nice in terms of common areas. Quaint it is not, but the Fairmont service is so good that you tend to overlook the lack of charm. The immediate area is institutional but you are only a few blocks away from the Old City and other charming / gritty parts. Our bathroom was outdated but these are fixable things. This is an excellent business and convention hotel but I would not recommend this for romantic weekends but, perhaps, large families with kids assuming the amenities like pool and gym are good - I have no idea. I wonder if there is a "Mind Games" gameroom!

Speaking of that - this hotel has Instant Beatles Karma! John Lennon and Yoko Ono had their famous Give Peace a Chance bed-in in 1969 and the room is available for rent. Really cool! If it is good enough for John one could "Imagine" it is good enough for you if that is "Whatever Gets You Through the Night." Rent that room and make me a "Jealous Guy."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear NYSojourner - Thank you very much for sharing some great comments about your hotel experience earlier this month. We're delighted to hear you had a lovely time at our property. That said, should you return to Montreal, please do let us know and we will see how we can facilitate a visit for the John Lennon & Yoko Ono suite. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

WE visited this hotel once again this year. The location is great. One can take an elevator right into the Gare Central which is part of the underground city. Also one can walk for many blocks just using the underground. The hotel is also convenient to the 747 bus which takes one from the airport for only 10 dollars and 24 hours of local use of trains and buses. Rooms were small but adequate.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrich1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear jrich1027 - We appreciate the positive comments you shared with regards to the convenient location of the hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I recently stayed at here so here is my review

Pros:
-Easy shuttle from the airport, the stop is very close
-Offers overnight valet parking at a fair price
-Well maintained and clean hotel
-Easy check-in with no issues, the room was ready right away
-On a busy street but it is not noisy inside the hotel
-Within walking distance of St. Catherine St shopping and restaurants
-If you are active you can walk to Old Montreal, Mont Royal Park or even St. Joseph's Oratory if you're ambitious. Or just do a quick cab ride if you prefer
-Dedicated computer station for printing your boarding pass
-Great gym facilities and fair size swimming pool

Cons:
-20 minute walk to Old Montreal and a 25-30 minute uphill walk to Mont Royal Park. If you have mobility issues or travelling with kids this can be a problem
-Prices at the restaurant in the Fairmont hotel are a bit high but there are lots of options within walking distance
-Not really a con but the A/C was really cold even after adjusting the temperature

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Michael S - Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback further to your visit in May. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay. We have since adjusted our air conditioning units, however we greatly appreciate your comments. The entire team hopes to see you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay at the Elizabeth was comfortable and the Fairmount Gold service proved to be once again worth the splurge. Our room was a fair hike from the lobby but having our own comfortable lounge with private concierge was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and extensive for it being labeled "continental" and our waiter was simply delightful. I hope Fairmont never chooses to lose its classic service and style. We enjoyed sitting at the grand piano in the hotel bar listening to any music we requested. My few concerns are that there was water in our ice bucket (obviously from a previous guest) , and the door's hinge of the tv cabinet was almost completely loose. The pool is great but the staff member allowed very small children in the hot tub despite there being clear rules that no child under 6 is supposed to be in the hot water. Overall, great stay.

Room Tip: Be mindful that some rooms can be far from the elevator so if walking is an issue, be sure to mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ellen O - Thank you very much for sharing such lovely feedback further to your stay on our Fairmont Gold floors. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you also for pointing out some areas of improvement and rest assured our entire team has been made aware of your comments in order to address the concerns you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived just after 4pm and after 30 minutes in a check in line we were told our rooms weren't ready and would we like to go for a walk!!! We waited another 30 minutes and were given a free drink and two hours later still no rooms. We cancelled our reservation and left . Our evening was spoilt and we were appalled by the terrible inefficiencies at the Front Desk . Never again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackzoeluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear jackzoeluke - We deeply apologize for failing to provide you with the accommodation you requested on this occasion. We understand your frustration and please rest assured we will follow up with our front desk and housekeeping team to better understand the challenges behind this unfortunate experience. We're truly sorry and sincerely hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourslves in your eyes in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing