We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good comfortable hotel; centrally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #45 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good comfortable hotel; centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a very comfortable 5 night stay here at the time of the F1 Grand Prix in Montreal. Hotel is very conveniently located for Central Station and the Metro and Dorchester Square and is within reasonable walking distance of the old quarter (25 mins).

Room was good size, clean and comfortable with 2 queen beds and was quiet (6th Floor side facing the church).

Breakfast buffet was excellent - good choice and all fresh and nicely presented. Main bar was okay with a good choice of beers and range of bar food.

Would recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear StephenR58 - Thank you for your visit during the F1 Grand Prix weekend in Montreal. We're glad you had a great time and we appreciate your kind words about your hotel experience. We're also happy you had a chance to try our breakfast buffet at Le Montrealais restaurant. If you plan on visiting Montreal again, please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be delighted to welcome you back. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    1,204
    545
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,050
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Hotel pretends to be a five star establishment but in fact is a tired and badly kept up old "dormitory". There was absolutely no space to open up suitcases, and not even a safe deposit box in the rooms. It was cheap and we "got what we paid for" ! Furniture as I recalled it 40 some years ago when it was a prime Hilton. Still itching from what I must presume were bed bugs. Avoid it.

Room Tip: All rooms besides suites are TINY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalotBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear travelalotBangkok - We're deeply sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations in terms of decor and size of the guest rooms. We understand your stay was disappointing, however we can assure you our high standards of cleanliness are of utmost importance to us. We apologize for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected and we still hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a week while I was at a conference. The hotel is nice, if a bit pretentious. I like the Fairmont social and environmental responsibility agenda so was happy to see that there was a Fairmont hotel listed as one of the conference hotels. The room was quite small but big enough if you are not spending significant amounts of time there. The bed was huge but pitched us both into the middle and wasn't actually very comfy. There was a nice coffee machine in the room which helped. Breakfast was not included in our rate and seemed vey expensive in the hotel. Doesn't matter thought because there are loads of places down in the central station with which the hotel is directly connected. The hotel has a small pool and a decent gym with friendly staff. So why only the average rating? Well in a hotel such as this one I expect free wifi at least in the public areas. We are already paying enough, I didn't want to add another 13 dollars a day for internet access. I also expect the bar to be affordable, expensive yes of course, it's a posh hotel, but for a couple of beers and a bar snack we paid nearly 80 dollars in the voyager bar. As for the restaurant, we didn't bother. The location is great and convenient, the rooms are nice enough, staff friendly enough but I have stayed in better posh hotels and would probably pick something else next time I am in Montreal.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can to take advantage of the views. We were on e 14th floor with low noise lev...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good efforts with not changing towels unless asked to etc and having cycling bins in the room. Could still do more, really no need to change sheets every couple of days...
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jess G - Thank you for your visit and for your great comments about our social and environmental responsability. We were quite surprised however to hear about the comfort of the mattress as we have recently changed them. With that said, further to your comments, we have asked our executive housekeeper to inspect the mattress as well as the bed frame. Additionally, we're deeply sorry we didn't meet your expectations in terms of pricing. To this end, there is indeed a fee for internet access, however the said fee is waived for the members of our complimentary loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club. We do invite our guests to enroll prior to arrival by visiting fairmont.com/fpc. You may enjoy several benefits as a member, namely the complimentary internet access and this, at all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. We do apologize once again for not making this visit a memorable one and we do hope to have a chance in the future to welcome you again to one of our properties. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have stayed at the Queen Elizabeth many times and it never disappoints. This customer service is always five star and accommodations very nice. The lobby is nice with lots of couches and windows for people watching! The hotel has a great history with one event that stands out a little more than the others. It is the hotel where the famous "Bed-In" with John Lennon and Yoko Ono took place in 1969. The Sunday brunch is very tasty and a must! The piano bar has fantastic martini's, Manhattan and you should order the steak tartar with frites! Yum! The location makes it even better. It is in downtown nears lots of shopping. The train station is underneath the hotel and metro is very close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ans695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear ans695 - Thank you very much for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're thrilled to hear you once again enjoyed your visit. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again, for another Sunday Brunch or a martini at Les Voyageurs bar! Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Was an excellent place to stay for the weekend to attend Michael Buble concert. We had a 2 minute walk to the concert (Bell centre) and a 15 min walk to Old Montreal. You won't need a car when booking here as everything is within walking distance. An added convenience is the train/subway station is right under the hotel if you don't drive here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear S M - We're very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Michael Buble concert at the Bell Centre. Thank you for your lovely note and we do hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Queen Elizabeth is a great location in downtown Montreal, within walking distance of the old city, shopping, eating, nightlife and all kinds of attractions and festivals. The Fairmont service is omnipresent. It is most certainly where I want to stay every time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Stephan S - We're happy to hear Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth is your hotel of choice when in Montreal. We do appreciate your loyalty and the beautiful words you shared about the service provided by the team. We most definitely look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location and views, room should have higher capacity thermostat controlled air conditioning. Beverage bars with sensor control which charges credit card automatically even if one removes it to take a look and put it back was a scary experience, others in group mentioned it did not believe it then read the card. Wish one is warned at check in and given an option to have it removed for ones stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Keats N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Keats N - We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. That being said, we're sorry for not entirely meeting your expectations, namely with regards to the minibar in the guest room. We have recently upgraded the technology further to the feedback received from our business travelers. While listening to their feedback, our guests wanted to have an accurate invoice updated accordingly as the items were consumed, in order to expedite the departure process without stopping by the front desk. As indicated and labelled on the minibars, the new technology permits this via sensors that detect the movement of the said minibar items, which are charged automatically. We have received numerous positive comments regarding this new system, which has been installed in several hotels already. With that in mind, we understand your concern. We will review the possibility of adding more signage and better inform our first time visitors of this system. Furthermore, please know we also offer the possibility of having the minibar items removed against a small fee per stay. Thank you once again for your comments and we still hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#53 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing