We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

If you are looking for a downtown hotel convenient to all amenities, including shopping, restaurants, musuems, Old Montreal (30 minute walk) and the subway (easy and convenient to use), this fits the bill. We arrived by train and were a short elevator ride away from the hotel lobby where we were greeted by friendly staff. What the hotel may lack in modern decor (the rooms are a bit small and could use an upgrade as well as a good dusting), the Queen Elizabeth more than makes up with their service-excellent conceirge desk-busy but ofter more than one employee on duty. The health club is well equipped and the pool, although small, is fine for kids to enjoy. Fresh fruit and a plentiful supply of towels is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I just stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth during a summer heat wave. Thank goodness for the hotel’s AC. Location, location, location. This hotel’s greatest asset is its location right in the centre of town and above the train station.

When we arrived at 11:30am, we appreciated that our room was ready, but did not appreciate the lack of upgrade given our status with the Fairmont’s President’s Club. The rooms at the Queen Elizabeth are the worst Fairmont rooms I’ve stayed in to date, their appearance is similar to a trying-too-hard, low-end Hilton hotel and the quality of finishes is cheap. The bathroom was the best part, yet it showed 3 or 4 eras of renovations, none of which matched.

Good
- location: close to restaurants, amenities and above the train station
- free BMW bike rentals to President’s Club members
- all the concierges I dealt with were delightful and helpful, especially Francois
- use of Fairmont Fit work out apparel
- nice lobby area

Needs Improvement
- décor in rooms
- two of the towels in the bathroom were ripped
- the bed had an old-school comforter vs a duvet like every other Fairmont
- rooms' doors let A LOT of sound through…ask to be at the end of a hall to avoid noise distractions

Unless I knew I was going to get a significant upgrade or knew that they’d done a major hotel-wide renovation, I probably would not stay at the Fairmont Queen E again given the plethora of other choices in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Fairmonts are reliable. Good room and service. The hotel itself is looking a bit dated. Could use a refresh.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaesDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I don't know why we keep staying at Fairmont properties... Some of them have some history, this one does not. It looks and feels like a converted 70's office building.

The bed and pillows were good, but the linens were not (no duvet). Our bathroom was old and small. The TV ancient and nearly impossible to decipher at the edges.

The cooling worked well though and the window opened, which is nice.

There are so many better options in Montreal. This was our second stay here, and if I have my way our last.

No WiFi in the rooms (not even for a fee). It's an old hard-wire hook-up, which is a pain.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibiscus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed at the QE June 17-19. No real complaints, I guess I was just expected more. The positives are excellant location for shopping and fantastic breakfast included with the room. (The breakfast for 2 people cost about $60 so being included in the room made it a great value. Fruit, cheese, meats, pastries and breads, bacon, sausages, eggs benedict, scrambled eggs, crepes and more!) The room itself was small and the bathroom was very small (had to close the door to sit on the "throne"), but it was clean. The iron leaked water all over my clothes so I left a note for the maid and she replaced the iron right away. LIke I said, no complaints really, I was just underwhelmed with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haligonian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The location is excellent, the hotel and rooms are pretty good but the staff were sullen and lazy. In the restaurant it was virtually impossible to get served - I got fed up of waiting for cutlery after my meal finally arrived and went and found some myself. Other people had simialr experiences. Room service trays sat in the corridors from mid afternoon and were still there the following morning. At the concierge desk a lady reported a problem in the valet parking area. She was advised that the concierge would phone valet and ask for their attention yet as soon as the lady walked away the girl put the phone down without not speaking to valet. We have stayed all across Canada in Fairmonts and the service - except in the hotel - has been excellent. This crowd need replacing or a rocket!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This was my second stay at the Queen Elizabeth in the past year, and my second review. It's a great historic hotel, and things are still good enough to call 4 star most of the time. However, the points in my original review still stand. This time, when I checked in at 3:00, my room was not ready, and was not ready until 7:00 p.m. The staff had promised to call when it was ready, but I never did receive the call. Bell staff never offered to help me with my bags, and I really could have used some help. Room service continues to disappoint. It is still a great location with all the amenities you need, so, you'll probably enjoy yourself enough if you stay there, I'm just being a picky business traveler. Rooms are small, yes, and if you call reception, valet, room service, be prepared to let the phone ring 20+ times before anyone answers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,080 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,506 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing