We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge de la Place Royale
Ranked #4 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Five minutes from Place d'Armes métro station and opposite the harbour front of the old port, this is a quirky 'hotel' with a real warmth and charm, not to mention enormous and beautiful rooms that will put a smile on any weary traveller's face when they walk in, as it did mine.
It's like a cross between a hotel and a B+B, with the best of both. Rooms are very fully equipped, with coffee maker and filter coffee, toaster oven, and minibar even in the 'standard' rooms.
My bathroom was beautifully tiled and appointed, really spacious, and with a huge and powerful shower that I appreciated after a day out in minus 20 degree Montréal in February. The Auberge is very cosy indeed in winter. Beautiful, super clean linen and generally high standards make your stay all the better.
The staff aren't there all the time, but when they are, they're very charming and friendly. There's a door code to get into the Auberge at all times and it's a good idea to ask for the code before you arrive, though not essential.
It was winter, so there weren't many revellers in the area and it was generally very quiet. My room was at the back of the hotel and I couldn't really hear even the occasional trains that pass just across the road.
Location is a strong point, right in the middle of Vieux Montréal. Could hardly be better.
You don't get breakfast but I recommend the delightful Maison Christian Faure, a patisserie just a minute away.
Vieux Montréal is littered with cafés, restaurants, bars, galleries and interesting squares. And there's the harbour too.
I would have liked kettle so I didn't have to make coffee flavoured tea with the coffee maker. And you should be aware there's no elevator if that's a problem for you. Car parking could mean some compromises, but that didn't affect me. Some people might find the furnishings a bit random and the TV had seen better days, but this didn't detract from the charm for me. It felt homely.
Overall, we loved the Auberge and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back, like 101/201
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    107
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
192
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am a frequent business traveler and have stayed in large chain hotels, small boutique hotels, and everything in between. I found this hotel online in a nice area of Montreal and thought I'd give it a try. It has NO ELEVATOR, and you must carry your luggage up multiple flights of stairs. The staff will not assist you. Your name and room number are listed on large chalkboards in the lobby for anyone to see. Your passcode to access the building is a guest's last name, which you can see from the exterior door. This did not make me feel safe. Your name is also written on the door of your room. Again, not feeling comfortable with this. The door to your room is propped upon until you check in. This means that any passer-by can swipe things from your minibar and you'll get a surprise when the bill comes for it later. There were used tissues on the floor of my room. My neighbors were having "relations" and the walls were so thin that I actually heard body parts slapping together over my television. The floor in my room was so slanted that the foot of my bed with higher than the head of it. This is bad for digestion and blood circulation. I ended up reorienting myself. The location is nice and the layout of the room was nice, but I won't be returning or recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileytess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Exactly what we'd hoped for a one night stopover on our way to the Eastern Townships. Friendly, charming character hotel close to all the great walking adventures and dining in Old Montreal. Our room was delightful: clean, neat with a comfy bed with a smothering duvet. Great value and would recommend and return. Their website is very accurate, no surprises whatsoever.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A charming boutique hotel with character, over looking the port. Our room was very large with several port facing windows allowing a nice natural light. It included a spa hot tub which was most welcome after a day touring the sights in February.
Staff were friendly although only there during the day, however there was a 24hr helpline.
Close to local restaurants and cafe's offering a wide selection of food experiences, and accessible to Montreal on foot.
The hotel was comfortable and the room spacious, providing us with a delightful experience. There was a selection of nibbles and drinks available in the room, along with complimentary tea and coffee. A small toaster/oven was in the room for those on a budget.
Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old world charm, clean, and comfy! Bed was comfy, and lovely linen. Location is amazing! I would definitely return, but would request room facing water, as alley can be quite loud early in the am.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Notadumbblond64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and homey. We like to stay at boutique hotels when we travel outside the U.S.and this was definitely a quaint place. We stayed on the second floor and like the last reviewer our room faced the alley which meant we heard trash trucks or something early every morning. Since we were traveling with no itinerary it didn't bother us much however we would recommend requesting a 3rd floor room as we could hear loud footsteps above us which seemed like much of the night. Again for us it was not a deal breaker and would stay again but with a room on a higher level and facing the water.
Although not much to do in winter but A LOT of walking and city exploring, the hotel does seem to be in a good location for summer travel. We also def. recommend Pub St. Patrick's for a drink and for the views of the water.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The inn is great. It felt like home. I liked the fact that the room had a toaster oven. The staff was friendly but a little too casual. Almost to the point that everything was self serve. Stayed a few nights during the winter so there was no breakfast for some reason. Little did I know that old montreal was closed during the winter. I mean almost everything except for hotels and fancy restaurants. We had to go pretty far just to get breakfast. In the winter this location is not the best. But I can hardly fault the inn for it being winter. I would come again but only when old montreal is open for business. Our room was facing the back alley so it got pretty noisy around 7AM because of garbage trucks or something.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Place Royale

Property: Auberge de la Place Royale
Address: 115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge de la Place Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve rooms luxury hotel facing the Old Port of Montreal. Stay in Old Montreal, a location where the ambiance is authentic and historic. Science and history museums are just beside as well as the skating rink and the ice fishing spot. There are six suites facing the waterfront and six rooms in the back. Free wireless internet. Minibar. Free calls in North America. Free business center with unlimited printing. All bookings are pre-registered and express check-out is the standard. There is a guitar for you to play. Some of the rooms could confortably accomodate six! 24h check-in system and service. There is no elevator but the doctor say it is good to exercise, and yes, the reception is narrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Auberge de la Place Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Place Royale Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing