We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect pied-à-terre in Montréal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Ranked #8 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect pied-à-terre in Montréal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

During the last dozen years, my wife and I have stayed at les Bons Matins about 6 times. We have watched it grow in size and (well deserved) success. I have been meaning to write a review for quite a while. As an overall comment, at this unique boutique hotel, everything – service, comfort, ambience, wonderful breakfasts and location – comes together to make this a perfect pied-à-terre in Montréal. We have never been disappointed and in fact, we have re-arranged our travel dates in order to be able to stay here rather than elsewhere. Les Bons Matins is built from adjacent original 150-year old brownstones, brought up to current comfort standards without losing the charm and elegance of the buildings themselves. The floors are a bit creaky but that too is part of the ambience. Decoration is unique by room, but is always very warm with pleasing pastel colors. This is accented by the vibrant, colorful, and original artwork of one of the proprietor-brothers, Benoît, which hangs everywhere and provides a special signature feel and beauty. Les Bons Matins is obviously not a big corporate hotel with a concierge and 24 hour desk, but for those who prefer a smaller more intimate experience, you will find that the staff will meet all your needs. Now, what would a B&B be without the breakfasts? Well, the breakfasts are not only delicious and perfectly prepared to your tastes from a variety of choices but they are copious. The staff at les Bons Matins freshly squeezes their own orange juice and it perfumes the breakfast room each morning. You will leave breakfast happily satiated, and if you are like us, with a latte in a to-go cup. If all that isn’t enough, Bons Matins is perfectly situated, just at the edge centre-ville (downtown) about 50 meters from the Lucien-l’Allier metro station. Anglophone nightlife on Crescent Street is just a 10 minute walk and francophone nightlife is a half-dozen metro stops on the orange line (no change of lines required). For those who appreciate a very small hotel experience and enjoy being surrounded by art and people who appreciate the same, les Bons Matins should be your choice.

Room Tip: The hotel's room descriptions are highly accurate and are the best guide to choosing a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    122
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
224
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

we stayed one night here based on the price and proximity to our daughters dorm. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms, the quaint and comfortable ambiance. We were initially offput by the surrounding neighborhood which isn't particularly inviting for walking alone at night, but it is so close to downtown, and the metro, and after half a block your in busy Montreal. The breakfasts are truly worth staying for. We would definitely come back again, and the parking in the back was very helpful for our big truck.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent the past 5 days at this B&B in Montreal, one of our favorite spots for a short get away vacation in winter or summer. This is so much more then a B&B to us. The lovely rooms include a colourful French Canadian decor in connecting old town houses in an excellent down town location ... some with working fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs for a wonderful romantic evening. The breakfast is amazing, many choices of omelettes, eggs with bacon or ham, and of course eggs Benedict. There are also choices of many different pastries and fruits, and totally awesome coffee. Each house has a communal kitchen with fridge to chill your wine etc., and the staff are wonderful. Travelling around Montreal is a real treat on the "Metro" (subway),and a stop is at the end of the street ... also a very short walk from this location to the great shopping of Rue St Catherines. Consider staying here and experience the wonderful French feeling of the city. My only request to the B&B is to consider bigger fluffy towels to go with the wonderful jacuzzi tubs.

Room Tip: 802 has a lovely jacuzzi tub and working fireplace with fabulous old red brick feature walls. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We simply love this place. Nice breakfast, excellent service close to the real dowton if you want to scroll Ste-Catehrine street and a few steps away from a lot of great restaurants. The Bell center and Cressent street with the bar scene are located withtin a 5 minutes walk
The rooms are cool, colorfull, and the breakfast in more than honest.
You are 500m from a subway station (Lucien Lallier) so Montreal is just there to enjoy.
Nosy? a little... but really do you go in a city to stay in your room?
Would go back any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I went up to montreal for a quick getaway before our baby was born. This place was great! The room decor is fun and modern. The bed was comfortable, even for a very pregnant woman. And the breakfast was delish!! The location is great for walking to museums and resaurants and close to subway if you want to get to other parts of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brzy1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great and funky rooms, nice breakfast, friendly service. A bit closer to the Bell Center and rail line than I had expected (didn't look closely enough at the map, my bad).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus-and-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We 2 Senior couples rented the 3rd floor family suite, both rooms with large private baths & a door separating the rooms for privacy. On our arrival, the young man at the desk assisted us with our larger bags which was much appreciated & we never had the opportunity to thank him. Both rooms were large, beds comfortable & WiFi worked great. Down a half flight of stairs was a utility kitchen with refrigerator/tea/ice cubes that we took advantage of. There were computers available to guests along with cookies/port & soft drinks on the first floor near the front desk. The ample & delicious breakfast was served in the attached brownstone next door with the available menu on a chalkboard on the wall. Fresh breads, cereal, granola, fruit, juice, with a variety of egg dishes and meats/salmon/waffles were served by very efficient friendly ladies. The coffee was excellent & plentiful. My favorite was the eggs benedict with the best Hollendaise I have ever had. Our room was in the back facing a 2 story apt. building & had a fire escape/landing/balcony with a small table & 2 chairs. We sat out there & enjoyed the trees & the neighborhood but for security reasons left the door locked at night. Our friends room was on the street facing the trains tracks & although there was some train noise it didn't bother anyone. As mentioned in other reviews, the Metro station was at the end of the street, less than a block & got us everywhere we wanted to go in the city. There were a number of restaurants within walking distance as there's a University nearby so there were lots of choices. The website is spot on for accuracy & description. What you see is what you get. If you want the Hilton Downtown don't stay here, but if you want quality & something a little different & off the beaten path you'll love this place. (Did I mention the breakfast!?)

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you don't do stairs, get a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeandchopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#44 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins

Property: Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Address: 1401 Argyle, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming inn is located in a magnificent early 20th century residence and offers guests the utmost comfort and service. Attention to the tiniest of details and unparalleled comfort bear witness to the perfect union of know-how and quality, providing guests with an unforgettable stay in a unique and charming establishment. Guests can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the inn, while making the most of its excellent location at the heart of downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing