We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Ranked #7 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great rooms, great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in one of their deluxe rooms and we were very impressed! Service was excellent and the price was definitely a steal considering what you get. Also, it's literally a 5 minute walk from everything. We were able to park our vehicle for the weekend and walk to Sainte-Catherine, restaurants, pubs and the Bell centre. Not to mention that the metro is just at the end of the street.

As mentioned before, this is a hidden gem in Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdonaldr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    122
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
45
227
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is an excellent bed and breakfast in a great location, at a great price. Our bed was very comfortable. The breakfast is lavish and well prepared, and the staff is very friendly. The location is great--just two blocks from where the bus to the airport drops off and picks up, walking distance to museums and the center of downtown, about a 30-40 minute walk to Old Montreal. Only a few blocks from two streets with good, relatively inexpensive ethnic restaurants.

These are old buildings, and the walls are thin, the staircases steep (and maybe leaning a bit), and if noise and stairs are issues for you, then you definitely should keep that in mind. But the rooms, with exposed brick, are much more pleasant than the ordinary hotel or many of the B&Bs where we've stayed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRM_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of recommendations and were not disappointed. Ample space to park the car which we then did not need during our 48 visit to Montreal thanks to the proximity of the underground system [less than a minute's walk to the station]which carried us efficiently and cheaply to all parts of the city. Friendly and helpful staff on reception sorted out our queries. A small room was nevertheless clean and accessible albeit stairs are inescapable. Despite the railway passing actross the street, sleep was uninterrupted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins, and very much enjoyed the stay.

However, it is worth noting some points that might bear upon your choice.

Firstly - our room was on the second floor (that is up twp flights of stairs) of the house next to the reception/breakfast room. There is no lift, and no-one to help with your bags (at least no-one offered, although we did not ask for help). The second flight of stairs to room 805 was a spiral staircase. If you have problems carrying your own luggage, beware!

Our room, 805, was fine and had a large bathroom - but there was a permanent noise, louder in the toilet than elsewhere, that sounded as if the next room had some sort of pump permanently running! Not enough to keep us awake, but an annoyance if, like us, you live in a quiet, rural environment.

That said, we would certainly use the place again. Breakfast was excellent, and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. Just be aware that this is not a normal hotel - in our view all the better for that.

Room Tip: Room 805 has a noise that seems to come from next door and is louder in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed one night at le Petite Auberge du Bon Matins en route from Vancouver to Quebec City (took the train the next day). The hotel was great, the bed was very comfortable, paying a little more to get a room with a big tub was SOOO worth it, the decor was light and airy, the staff were friendly and helpful and I was really pleased with my stay here! The only drawbacks were the very squeaky bed any time you moved in the night and the caterwauling toddler staying in the room next to mine that made for a very noisy morning. For such an historic house, it is to be expected that you would hear noise from other rooms, and someone's obnoxious kid staying nextdoor is not something I can hold against the management. Just know that it's not the most quiet environ if you get noisy neighbours.

The location is also very odd, tucked into a weird part of town, BUT the metro is less than a block away, putting all of Montreal at your fingertips.

Room Tip: Get a room with a big tub! It was AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Dear All,
We booked this Petite Auberge through Booking.com nearly 1 month ago and we also pre-paid the room for 2 nights. Everything was perfect, but when we arrived at this place, they told us there was no booking by our name as its fax was not working properly, so all hotel was fully booked and they were not able to give us accomodation there for 2 nighs which was already paid. You can imagine how we felt there at that moment as it was Friday night and all hotels around there were nearly fully booked. At first time, the guy on the desk told us he has an offer to pay a room in a hotel next door (but we saw the hotel and it was not nice at all), so he refunded the money to us and he kindly helped us to booked a new hotel at Old town (which was much better).
I would recommend to all of you to send an e-mail to this Auberge for a final confirmation when you book it from another website.
Thanks,
Carles & Cristina

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlescristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

On recommendation from friends and the great reviews on Tripadvisor we booked Bons Matins for two nights. Breakfast, general help from staff and access to public transport were great. The noise from 0600 when the kitchen staff came in was ridiculous.

We would happily stay here again but never again in the rooms directly beneath the kitchen/breakfast room.

Room Tip: Anywhere but beneath the kitchen/breakfast room (& I am a heavy sleeper!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#42 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins

Property: Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Address: 1401 Argyle, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming inn is located in a magnificent early 20th century residence and offers guests the utmost comfort and service. Attention to the tiniest of details and unparalleled comfort bear witness to the perfect union of know-how and quality, providing guests with an unforgettable stay in a unique and charming establishment. Guests can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the inn, while making the most of its excellent location at the heart of downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing